What to do when......................................

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 23:48
ThreadID: 40975 Views:3649 Replies:22 FollowUps:13
yep, another one of those questions.....................................

k here we go.
picture this : Day 1,,,,remote coastal area, hot(high 30's), lots of really soft sand and you come across a 4by stuck. Well and truly bogged to the chassis in bloody hot red sand, his missus and kids not too impressed. He has no recovery gear, the tires are still at 40psi, and he was in 2wd till he got stuck-then hit4x4 and promply buried the front axle as well. You help him out of the situation, and your parting words are,,,,get a pressure guage, an air compressor, and learn how to 4by before you try this again. All said very nicely by the way.

Day 2....same area, abit further up the coast in worse sand conditions, lo and behold,,,,there he is again. Same bloke, same situation. Youask thedumb question--"What are you doing all the way up here?. Did you let the tires down, are you actually in 4 wheel drive this time?---the list goes on and on. You do the "right thing" again and get him out of the bog, and make sure he gets out of the soft stuff,,,,,about 20 back down the track to where you pump his tires back up,,,,,,,and leave him with the words....." Do not come up here again,,,you are asking for Murphy to bite you on the arse".

Day 3... same area, further up the coast,,,he went in on the main track then turned onto a beach access track,,,you see the chewed up track as you enter. Ten k's in from the main track, there he is,,,bogged again..........

What do you do?
Bear in mind that you are 10k's off the main track, which is really cut up cause he ran flat out at road pressures to get up there to start with, and it would mean a trip of some 30km before he was at a point where his tires could be re-inflated. With a further 70km till the nearest servo aircompressor if you dont pump them up .

meow.

rick.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 23:58

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 23:58
Find out where he is headed and plan an alternative route :))))))))))))))))
AnswerID: 213922

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:00

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:00
haha I like that

FollowupID: 474233

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:03

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:03
Yep, some people can't be told, can't be shown :)))
FollowupID: 474234

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:07

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:07
i like that too....:)

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 474236

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:04

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:04
Drive up, slow down, keep driving past him drive out of sight for about half an hour, then come back and "rescue" him.

Remind him that snatch straps only last a few pulls in sand due to abrasion within the fabric, and that he should come prepared. Emphasise that he should NOT be placing his family in danger by coming unprepared and with no training, and that you are leaving the area and will not rescue him again. Tell him that you will be reporting his number plate to the police as an "irresponsible driver" on the way out, and that he may be contacted by the police for an explanation of why he persisted in driving dangerously (lack of vehicle preparation and driver awareness).
AnswerID: 213923

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:11

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:11
I told him most of that on the first day,,,,,just didnt think of the copper thing.
The other thing to bear in mind that this is the third time i came across him in three days, and each time it took time away from my holiday, and my fishing, and my missus was real bleep off after the second day, cause we lost near on two and a half hours getting him out. Gotta say that i was bleep off with him as well.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 474238

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:08

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:08
I would be inclined to suggest to him that he has 3 choices
1) Wait for another Good Samaritan to help him
2) Start walking to get help
3) Pay me $100 for my time and wear & tear on my gear
AnswerID: 213924

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:15

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:15
Gday Treckie.
1) not to many good samatitans out there at this time of year and it was bloody hot.
2) he was looking at a 100km walk back to town
3) my time is worth $130 per hour, a decent snatch strap(ARB)about $80, the fact that i own a Nissan and he is in a 100 series,,,,,,,,,sheesh-i dunno,,,i mean having to tow a cruiser three says in a row.........lol:)

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 474239

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:53

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:53
"the fact that i own a Nissan and he is in a 100 series,,,,,,,,,sheesh-i dunno,,,i mean having to tow a cruiser three says in a row.........

ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 474253

Follow Up By: Chucky - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 14:45

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 14:45
Damn cruisers!!!.
Doing everything that you could possibly do worng adn he made it 10km into the track.

Pity he wasn't driving a Datsun, then you would have only had to tow him 100m back to the road.
FollowupID: 474289

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:55

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 00:55
You did the right thing the first time,,,,,,,,,,2nd time, that tell him you'll notify a tow truck to come and get him out when you get back to town when you're on your way home at the end of this 2 week camping holiday.

Basically - puck him.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 213928

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:01

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:01
Doggy tease, we've all stuffed up. And learnt.
I've been forgiven for making the same stupid mistake down the track (so to speak)
But 3 times in quick succession ?? Dunno mate;
Hard one. Would have been much easier if female and kids weren't there.
You have my respect.
Btw, where did you enjoy this debacle?
(Just a quickie: the first time you encountered this charming fw, you didn't insist that he drop pressure because 'my vehicle is crook, an you'll have to help me help you' scenario. ( Hind sight is great. ) Then you'd probably hear on the radio that "a hire vehicle had rolled on a nearby beach, killing a woman and putting two kids in IC. Apparently an underinflated tyre " etc etc.

We towed a busted backpacker Pajero from Windjana Gorge to Derby a few years back. I NOW realize that The Bride should have driven our ute, and I should have piloted their disabled unit.

Ahh yes, hindsight woz it? hmm! Pour me another rum, Laddie.
Proud of your patience, which begs the question:
"Doggy Tease?"
Jeff.H.
AnswerID: 213929

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:04

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:04
G'day Doggy tease, yeah! man that's a hard one, just let me say you did well, there's not many of us that would put up with that situation. 'Well Done'

andy
AnswerID: 213930

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:09

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:09
Haha I vow never to be like that...
AnswerID: 213932

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:44

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 01:44
Ok. I dont know were you are and how remote is remote BUT..
Were they having fun?...Was it dangerous?....And were they polite when you helped them?
AnswerID: 213933

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 06:45

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 06:45
Best one yet, I reckon the blokes lucky to still have a wife and kids that want to go in the 4x4.

AnswerID: 213937

Reply By: CLC50 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 07:45

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 07:45
Some mother do have Them.
AnswerID: 213943

Reply By: John R (SA) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 07:53

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 07:53
I guess we're all morally obliged to assist someone in the crap, even if they are a dropkick. No question that you did the right thing helping him every time.

If he's not taking any notice of your advice, I'd have no compunction in charging him $500 (pick a figure!) to extricate his family from grief. How you get cash out of someone in a remote area is another matter though!

Out of interest, in what part of the world was this?

AnswerID: 213944

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:27

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:27
On occasion No. 3:

Offer to take the wife and kids home/to a taxi.
Loan him a shovel.
Carry on with your day.
At sunset drop in to ensure he has enough drinking water.
Go home.

AnswerID: 213946

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:56

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 08:56
You did well Doggy Tease!!!!! Patience is a virtue!
AnswerID: 213949

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 11:25

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 11:25
I've always worked by the theory that the first recovery is free, the second is $100(if same mistake is made), never seen a third but I reckon it's an easy $200 for the same mistake...

Would happily take his missus and kids to the nearest hotel, buy him a shovel and me a slab of Jimmy's, sit 10' away and watch him dig while I drank and cooked a roast in the camp oven...

A few comments like "if you can still talk, you're clearly not digging hard enough"...
AnswerID: 213967

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 17:40

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 17:40
"if you can still talk, you're clearly not digging hard enough"...

How true.

Like you style

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 474320

Reply By: Batman69 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 12:50

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 12:50
Doggy Tease,

So what did you do, did you pull him out?

If I was you I probably would have reluctantly pulled him out the third time too, if I didn't I would have spent the rest of my holiday worrying about the fool.

AnswerID: 213980

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:11

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:11
Good on you.

I couldn't think of anything worse then NOT helping , only to find something drastic had happened.

I guess this blokes only REAL danger was from his wife.
AnswerID: 213986

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 15:56

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 15:56
Agreed. We might make our own judgements however in that heat they could easily become a statistic.

If they don't carry recovery gear they probably have not thought of carrying enough water or cover either.

The softroader advertisements on TV make it all look easy.

EV700
FollowupID: 474305

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:59

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:59
Quite right, though it would be damn annoying to have pointed the dopey bugger in the right direction, given a fair bit of friendly advice as the OP did, then find old mate just didn't listen.

Understandable that judgement might have been absent first or second time round, but he sounds like he's pushing it . . . .!
FollowupID: 474338

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:18

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:18
Well you can't knock the fella's enthusiasim for sand driving, he's certainly a goer, just a pity he has absolutely NFI :-))
I'd let his tyres down to 12psi, tow him out of the immediate bog, point him in the right direction & tell him to drive home. I certainly wouldn't let him inconvience my plans any further due to his stupidity so let him worry about the 100KM trip back to the servo. Possibly a long slow drive on flat tyres would give him some time to learn from the experience. Obviously holding his hand once again and taking him right out wont achieve anything new, in fact he'll probably expect this service off other travellers from now on ;-)
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 213988

Reply By: 666toy - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 14:13

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 14:13
I was always told every man can make a mistake ONCE but if he makes that same mistake a second time he is a DI@K HEAD....... BUT A 3RD TIME ??????? what a total IGNORANT FOOL.
Personally i would have charged him for recovery or organised a towtruck for the FOOL.
AnswerID: 214006

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 15:51
The third time, you offer to take the Missus and Kids back with you and leave the
d!ckhead and his vehicle to his own devices.

He is merely diluting the gene pool.

AnswerID: 214033

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 16:13
My Mrs would have been spewing at the second one, and put her foot down at doing a third rescue! And I have to say I'd agree.

I'm p$%%#d off getting MY gear worn out rescuing idiots, now when I'm approached n asked if I have a snatch strap, unless its life threatening I say no sorry mate.

Dont get me wrong I'd not see anyones life endangered but I've spent way too much time pulling idiots out for no thanks and in my recreation time which is limited as it is, which spoils our day.

Some people are just too stupid to be allowed to own a fourbie!

Ron

AnswerID: 214039

Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:15

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:15
Consensus seems to be as follows:

Anyone can make a mistake - help 'em out first time round, but for me that means lend 'em a shovel and give some free advice on where best to dig!

I don't mind helping them lower their tyre pressure, but won't use my compressor to pump them up again - servos have free ones because people buy stuff off them and it's a business decision. I will advise against high speed driving with 12psi though!

If none of this works, and nobody else is prepared to have their recovery gear ruined/damaged/dirtied, and the bloke is a decent sort of fella, then I'll lend mine - If he isn't I'd only lend it in a life threatening situation.

I've never seen anybody stuck in a life threatening situation yet, and I've never left anyone stuck either!
AnswerID: 214118

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:24

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:24
Well yep. i did pull him out, and followed him all the way back down the track to a point where i could re-inflate his tires and send him on his way. I couldnt take his missus and kids out and leave him there,my missus and kids were allready with me,,,so no room for them as well....:).
What bleep me off the4 most is that this is my holiday and to wreck three days of relaxing and fishing because of someone else's stupidity did not go down very well at all.........thank god for the glass of port when we got back to camp every night.
We were up Denham way, but this incident occured out on the track toward Steep Point, and there aint to many people out that way at this time of year. We haddone the right thing and told our neighbor in the "van" park our plans each day, and our approx E.T.A. to be back, but this bloke had no idea whatsoever.
His missus,,,all of seven months pregnant, was not impressed with him for some reason,,,tho it alludes me as to why :):)lol. By the third day, i think she had figured out that what he was doing was not real smart and vowed neverr to go away again.
The last time i pulled him out, killed the snatch strap, that i had bought especially for this trip,,,,just like to have new gear on hand, whilst the old one had a rest in the recovery box.
It is a hard place to be put in,,,,especially with that bloody rock around, but i did not think i could leave them there, not with the heat. His water supply was limited, tho he did have heaps of soft drink on hand.
So at the end of the day i think it comes down to the fact that we need to ensure other people are capable of operating a 4by as well as us.

meow
rick.
AnswerID: 214122

Follow Up By: slave - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 10:12

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 10:12
Just out of curiousity what sort of thanks did he offer, a simple thanks, money, beer, replacement of recovery gear?

Continually pulling people out isn't much fun, been there done that.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 474441

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:38
No thanks at all from him,,,it was if he just expected me to help him out. His wife dropped in at our van park the next day with a box of chockies,,,,,,,,shewas on her way to the airport with the kids.....lol

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 474799

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:34

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:34
Well at leat his wife appreciated your help lol.

I would have been tempted to leave them there but like you don't think I would have been able to.

We did a beach run 12 months ago with a hilux and had to pull it out so many times that we ended up taking 'chicken tracks' that he could manage. Yes we drive a Nissan and have never had to to be rescued (yet)

Mrs S
FollowupID: 474856