Van Parks - coin showers

Submitted: Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:33
ThreadID: 41004 Views:3599 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
Just a quick question - what percentage of van parks also charge for showers?
The Noosa North Shore (at Tewantin Qld) charge $21.50 a night for a powered site, and if you want a shower, it is coin operated.

Is this becoming a common feature of van parks, or is this park the exception?

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:39

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:39
No, its not the exception, but fortunately in my experience, it is in the minority.
AnswerID: 214070

Reply By: Sparkie C - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:06
Hi Keith you will find that the North Shore park charges because they are on tank water or bore water for showers and have a limited supply.
We found it was not a common feature on out last big trip around the block.

Sparkie
AnswerID: 214079

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:10

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:10
I would say very rare, the only I can think off is the Temple Bar Caravan Pk at Alice Springs about 8klm down Ilparpa Rd.

Doug

AnswerID: 214081

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:19

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:19
The mob at Eucla Tourist Park used to charge. I got smart, had money in hand, naked and lathered before slipping money in. As I did so, I got an electric shock and the money went flying. I went dirty that day. (note..happened years ago). Haven't struck too many since then but I still view the money boxes with a great deal of suspicion.
AnswerID: 214083

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:41

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:41
Footy,

In Eucla a couple of weeks ago and they are still coin operated, but thankfully better insulated than when you were there. I don't mind in places like that where water is very scarce as it encourages prople to keep the time down, although $1 will give you a fairly generous shower. At least the fee structure at Eucla means that you don't mind a dollar or two for a shower.

Now, coin operated barbeques in $35 per night van parks....don't start me on that topic!

FollowupID: 474345

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:10

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:10
Matt, I didn't begrudge them the money as water is short in that area. I did begrudge them their attitude (so what? use the other one!). I guess thats a few owners ago...I sure hope thats the case anyway.
Last time I was that way I had a motel room, and had a vewwwy long shower. :)))))
FollowupID: 474368

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:56

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:56
Also in places like Eucla it saves having to put locks on the doors to discourage freeloaders. Refunding key deposits in places that are predominately one night stands is a pain.

In crowded parks coin operated showers keeps the queues moving.

FollowupID: 474379

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:29

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 19:29
G'day Keith_A, yeah there's still a few around, for those of us 50yrs or over will remember when a lot of parks were council run. The majority then were all coin operated. Here in Warburton(Vic) there's still a council affiliated park with coin showers.

andy
AnswerID: 214087

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:04

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:04
Hi Kieth,

I thought it was a bit rude after the price they wanted also. The only consolation was when i was there, the mens shower block on the left as you walked up to them had a free shower in the first and third cubicle as you walked in. Hope it is still like this for future travellers. Won't help me as I think it is a bit overpriced for the facilities. Not that the facilities there are of poor standard just that the price indicates to me there should be more facilities IMO.
This is rare (charging for showers) at most van parks I stay at.

Regards, Trevor.
PS I don't mind paying if the facilities are there. (Payed $75/night recently for powered ensuite but facilities were excellent).
AnswerID: 214110

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:09

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:09
"(Payed $75/night recently for powered ensuite but facilities were excellent)."

OUCH !!

Don'y suppose you thought of parking the green meanie and van out the front of the Hilton down the road and staying there instead ? Would've been 10 bucks cheaper I reckon, LOL.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 474367

Reply By: 1812 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:05
Hi Keith,

We spent 8 weeks in NT & Qld and didn't find one so I think there arn't to many now

Scott
AnswerID: 214111

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:28
found them in coober pedy and white cliffs

where did you pay $75 a night it would have needed a young lady scrubbing my back as well for that ?????
AnswerID: 214123

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 08:27

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 08:27
Steve,

Yamba - Blue Dolphin, $75/night peak season rates and we were told it is going up to $80 next hols. Nowhere is worth that money IMO but it is all about keeping the peace and letting my family have a good time, the fishing was excellent and I enjoyed myself cause my family had a good time, all relative I suppose.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 474431

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 17:29

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 17:29
i once found blue dolphin a very hospitable park several years ago in its early days but since then it is like a lot of big4 parks they win a few awards then become a BIG 4 RESORT and up go the prices we have stayed a few times at what was the PALMS caravan park now it is a big 4 RESORT bleep e load of cabins and high priced van places
we still stay there but down in the cheap corner longer walk to the big pool and bar thats if we can still get in

we find family parks and top tourist seem the best although there are a couple of them getting a bit pricy

trev family or not its still a big rip off for a couple of good parks awards
they should have gold taps in the shower
FollowupID: 474512

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 17:31

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 17:31
Many parks in the "school Holidays" charge like wounded bulls, it seems endemic on the south coast of NSW, Merimbula, Eden and Pambula all charge those rates... NONE supply anyone to scrub your back at those prices either, that is an extra!
Whilst on that topic, I found at the "Resort" at Cape Hillsborough that they had a resident massage lady who only charged $60 for a very nice (while my wife was in Mackay type) massage....Another post sheduled for expungement I spose....
FollowupID: 474513

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:58
We met a few in Tasmania, generally these parks were priced accordingly. The only trouble was they run on a timer, not on water used, so when i turn off the water to shampoo my hair, the timer keeps ticking over. I expect shower in the price if paying $20 upwards.

AnswerID: 214133

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 00:27

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 00:27
I've encountered very few in Qld. However the majority of the places in Tassie we stayed at had coin operated showers.
Sometimes cold is free and you pay for hot but others are pay for both.
AnswerID: 214163

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 23:35
Rabbit Flat on the Tanami - $3 for an unpowered campsite - $3 for the shower. I didn't begrudge as I was filthy after camping at Wolfe Crater.

$3 well spent.
AnswerID: 214340

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:48

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:48
Sorry for the late post just returned from darwin :) Somerset Dam Caravan park $3.00 showers 3 mins.

AnswerID: 214541