Prebooking at caravan parks

Submitted: Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:08
ThreadID: 41010 Views:3591 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Hello all, I am a newby to caravanning and about to pick up a van not in my home state. After "commissioning" the van we will go and stay at van parks on the way home and do some touring as well away from the van. This is happening in late March, April and May this year. Do you think I need to book or is it possible to take pot luck. The van is capable of being independent and we have the info on camps so is it possible if we cant get into a park to free camp if we start looking early in the day. We have no intention of travelling every day but stopping only at a few places for a while and then having a long day getting to the next place. Does this sound feasible. I would appreciate thoughts from experienced campers. The van is quite large as well so presumably this will influence things.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:29

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:29
My preference is free camping and CP only when necessary. Money isn't even the main issue (though it is important). I just hate being squeesed onto a postage stamp and living in the neighbours pocket. Also we often don't like to nominate at the start how long we will stop. Much prefer the bush, open space and a camp fire.

Anyway, to answer your question, if you are picking up the van during the school holidays and wanting to stay in popular (tourist) areas, you might have to book for CPs. Otherwise it's normally not a problem. Most CPs are structured to cater for the peak and have heaps of room outside that time.

If you don't have Camps Australia 3, it is a worthwhile investment. In most areas you can find a good free camp.
AnswerID: 214124

Reply By: 1812 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:45

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:45
Are you gettng the van in tas or on the big island?????????

My experience says in busy tourist spots book the next park as you go so you are not stuck to a skedual other wise as we do spy and try, check them out when you get to the next spot as the info is not always as it looks in books or on the net

good luck take your enjoy the experiance

Scott
AnswerID: 214129

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:52
Marilyn, Norm C has said it all. The beauty of caravanning to me is having no deadlines, no real plans; just a general direction. Except for the need to book at Melbourne for an overnight before going to Tasmania, we never ever book. We try to bush camp for most of the week, and once or twice a week may stay at a CP to do the washing, hair washing, etc. Sometimes we use the pay showers at servos, and find public laundromats in the towns instead so we can still sleep in the peace of the bush. We did the same with our previous camper which didn't have an en suite; even back when we slept under canvass on the back of the Landcruiser Ute. If we found a camp site full, we would move on. This has only happened once, in peak period January, at Cape Le Grande NP east of Esperance WA. We couldn't get out rig in, so moved inland and found some nice bush.

We start looking early, and if it is a spot 'to die for', will stop at any time, otherwise, the later it gets, the less fussy we are. Camp Australia Wide 3 means more relaxed travelling, because we know if we don't find something we like, there is an option in Camps 3 (although it may not always be suitable, big enough, or may be too crowded, so still try and choose our own remote spots). We found it essential in Tasmania, where pulling off the road or finding old gravel pits was generally not an option, and where free camp sites were provided and you need Camps 3 to find them (unless you have enough local knowledge). You would know better, but i understand during summer school holidays in Tassie, the CPs get full. We got there in February.

When we bought our caravan in Qld, and raced back home to WA, we drove until dusk, then stopped, even if we didn't pull of the road very far, but that is not how we drive when on holidays. At any time, we do not drive after dark due to risk of hitting animals.

Unlike you, we generally leave the caravan hitched up and move on each day. Tassie was different, and we sometimes stayed at a site for a few days and did day trips. On the mainland, we tend to be heading in one direction, and leaving it is not an option. We do sometimes unhitch and leave it in a parking bay to explore a track which is unsuitable for towing anything.

AnswerID: 214131

Follow Up By: redmow - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 11:39

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 11:39
Thanks all, yes I have the Camps Aust 3 and much prefer to stay this way. Only staying at parks to get the hang of the intricacys of the new van - I have never done this before. As soon as I learn about batteries, power and appliances, water hoses etc I will be gone. Stayed in a tent recently - love this and the spot we were in (E. coast of Tassie was to die for and noone around) not even a mossie.
FollowupID: 474457

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 13:43
Last time I camped on the East coast of Tassie I also found that there were no mossies.... they were all blown away by the gale force winds... ;-p
FollowupID: 474477

Reply By: Lyds- Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 15:54

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 15:54
I think its only worth booking if your travelling in peak season to peak places. eg coast in summer, broome in winter.

The problem with booking ahead is that you tend to pick the dud place :-)
AnswerID: 214258

Reply By: redmow - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:40

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:40
Thanks guys (most of you do seem to be guys - are the girls too busy to be on the computer). We also struck the gale force winds on e coast of tassie, but there are so many places to camp you just move to where it is better and off the beach it is sheltered. Water is too cold to swim anyway.
AnswerID: 214671