new model patrol

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 15:03
ThreadID: 41112 Views:2659 Replies:5 FollowUps:19
A friend is looking at buying the latest Nissan Patrol (top of the range) 3 litre turbo diesel (automatic).
Having test driven the vehicle it seems very underpowered (versus the 3.2litre diesel turbo pajero that I drive).
I believe you can purchase a chip which increases power significantly (I would have thought warranty could be an issue...if you have a warranty claim can you remove the chip or would the manufacturer still be able to tell that it had a chip.
Secondly, is there a new shape Patrol soon to be released? The car salesman says he thinks a new model could be released in a few months. If so is there a significant change in the model?
HUGGY

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:01

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:01
Huggy

The Safari dtronic chip works wonders for the 3l patrol - probably will for your Pajero too. I've had one in my 2002 patrol from new and wouldn't do without it.

The new patrol is probably still a long way off from what I hear. They will be left with the 3l motor for quite a while. It will be fitted to the patrol utes this year.

AnswerID: 214718

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:08

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:08
They are slow (16 secs to 100kmh) Huggy , partly due to the old style
4 speed transmission.

If performance is your issue I can't see why you would buy a new car and put a chip in it when the petrol model is so much more powerful and faster than any other mainline wagon and has updated 5 speed auto-box and bigger brakes.

You are not going to save any significant money , so why not do it right first time !

The chip works and warranty would be refused as you surmize for an engine
related fault, you can't tell it had a chip in it.

Patrol are due for a new model which is likely to be a substantialy different
car, as Peter said.

I'm still holding out hope of a last upgrade before they change though
as my 4800 GU has seen a lot of tracks.

There always lots of rumors and no one will know really whats happening
till last minute , so I'd suggest your mate buy a car he will be happy
with and then it won't matter much.

AnswerID: 214719

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:13
>> You are not going to save any significant money , so why not do it right first time

he is Robin, he doesnt want a thristy heap... Still havent seen anything beat that 54/100 that 4wd mthly got...
FollowupID: 474982

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:31

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:31
1 vote for the 3.0l I see.

Leroy
FollowupID: 474984

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:43

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:43
Diesel... diesel..
See even ebay has rebuild kits now for the grenade! LMAO.. thats low.
FollowupID: 474988

Follow Up By: HUGGY (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:57

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 16:57
I see the advantages of diesel in three ways:
1) your motor will generally last longer before attention is required
2) better economy (even though the cost is a little higher). I carried two rather than 4 gerry cans (rather than 2 carried by my fellow forby petrol driver)
3) it makes your forby sound like it should be offroad ....just love the noise (yeah I know this is a fickle point that can be argued either way)
How much more powerful is the forby with the chip? Better acceleration?
Is it worth the $1000-1500?
Huggy
FollowupID: 474993

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 17:06

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 17:06
Huggy - I think even Bruce would agree with me that 3lt diesel is not going to last as long as petrol Patrols.

Economy doesn't translate into real economy with a new car in first few years of its life because fuel cost is under 20% of total ownership cost. And if really want economy, gas is almost always cheaper anyway.

As for noise - I prefer to hear the wildlife not the "Ticky Ticky" sound of the diesel as my wife calls it.

The chips are significantly better and can take 1 sec off the 0-100kmh time such that the auto can keep up with the much more torquey manual version of the 3lt diesel.

FollowupID: 474999

Follow Up By: HUGGY (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 18:20

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 18:20
Robin - now I am confused. I was under the impression that as a general rule of thumb a diesel motor will last twice as long as a petrol motor. Have I got this around the wrong way? Is it possible to generalise with such a broad topic....or perhaps was it the salesman who told me that diesel was better than petrol. Would be interested in your comments.
Huggy
FollowupID: 475011

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 19:48

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 19:48
Hi Huggy

Have to be brief as gearing up for another dash into the bush.

There are lots of misconceptions in 4wd field and many are feed by
general dumbing down of specs and more interest by buyers in multiple seat
memories than performance.

Typical case is that "diesels have more torque" when all the customer has to
do is turn over the brochure to see the figures.

It is a big field but following generalization is worth while.

The main game in engine life is determined by how much it does
over how big it is. This makes it hard for a 3lt to last as long as a
4800 pulling the same weight.

Indicators of engine wear are the Engine Life Factor (ELF) and the
Brake Mean Effective Pressure (BMEP)

ELF = RPM X Compression ratio
BMEP = Power / (size X RPM)

BMEP is more appropriate for lower reving/output engines like Patrols.

Relative figures for 4800 ,4.2TDI and 3LT GU's are

4800 = 8 4.2TDI = 7.7 3LT= 10.7

I.E. The 3lt has much higher internal pressures than the others.

This makes it a lot harder to keep temperatures in the cylinder
walls and bearings under control.

The engine pressures resulting from combustion, transfer the
power thru the crankshaft via the main bearings, and heat is
dissipated into cylinder walls and oil etc.

Don't take the above to mean I wouldn't have a 3lt , in fact I think they are great cars , the fact that engine life is shorter than other patrols doesn't mean they cannot give great service for several years.
You just need to work towards an honest apprasil of the products offered and get what most fits your requirement.

FollowupID: 475033

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:08

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:08
Huggy ,
The theory that diesels last twice as long applied thirty years age when the diesels where truck motors(4.2td still is) But with modern high output diesels they tend to go bang before wearing out.Modern petrols by contrast often do 300,000 to 500,000 before overhaul. Fuel injection has helped a lot, no more raw fuel runing down the cylinder walls and less dilutionof the sump. Hope this helps
FollowupID: 475080

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:39

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:39
"I.E. The 3lt has much higher internal pressures than the others.

This makes it a lot harder to keep temperatures in the cylinder
walls and bearings under control. "

Never seen a 3.0l overheat. It's always the 3.0l waiting for the 4.2's to cool down. Mine and others temp guages don't move and we all have the aircon etc.

Leroy
FollowupID: 475143

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:20

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:20
Id have to agree with Robin here, just bought a new 4.8 GU, cant beat the power it produces and the sacrifice in petrol is worth it IMO.....My 2cents worth

FollowupID: 475184

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:57

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:57
Hey Truckster, I took a Freightliner Argosy B-Double (500hp Detroit) from Hobart to Burnie and back the other week, 66 tonnes going up and 59 coming back, averaged 54.4 l/100 k's for the trip :-o Who needs a petrol Patrol ??? ;-)
FollowupID: 475189

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:28

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:28
Thats great mate!!!!!! how do you reckon that would go on the Madigans line??????
FollowupID: 475191

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:04

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:04
>> I was under the impression that as a general rule of thumb a diesel motor will last twice as long as a petrol motor. Have I got this around the wrong way?

Noipe you dont, your correct.

Madigan line - I think thats where Stan went last yr with 19 petrol jerry cans in the Playdo.... Not sure.

PG... I'll come for the run next time :)
FollowupID: 475264

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:10

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:10
180 litres main/sub and an extra 380 litres????? Where would you fit 19 jerries anyway?
FollowupID: 475674

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:50

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:50
ooops.... just saw his rig profile....19 jerries!
FollowupID: 475690

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:18

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:18
lol... its a real eye opener aint it!

6 of the jerrys were to combat the weight of the others.
FollowupID: 475809

Reply By: PajeroTD - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:02

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:02
I have seen nothing on the Patrol replacement, but I wouldn't be surprised if it's a version of the Nissan Armada (US Model) which has a better interior lay out, less-off road ability which is kinda sad but inevitable for the larger market which uses them as people movers and towing vehicles, and features a 5.6L V8 petrol engine, and will also soon have a Navistar International 4.5L V6 diesel. The Titan ute with those engines would be great here too.
AnswerID: 214778

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:32

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:32

Nissan have entered "prototype" 4wdies in the latest Dakar rally. I wonder if the "prototype" is a new Patrol? They aren't giving any technical details about the Nissan. The rally is shown at 6PM (Eastern Summer time) on SPS.

Currently the VWs are leading the pack and giving Mitsubishi are real challenge. Mitsubishi won't like it if they don't win as they have thrown mega bucks into the rally for many years now to win as a marketing tool.

AnswerID: 214783

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:35

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:35
Hi Phil,
What is "eastern summer time" ?

Pezza
FollowupID: 475103

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 01:09

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 01:09
Daylight savings time on the east coast of australia except for Qld.

Do you know why Qld never had Daylight savings while old Jo was the premier ?

Becaus he thought the sun shined out of his arse and he wasn't getting up an hour earlier for anyone....lol.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475107

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:46

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:46
OOOOhhhhh, right, well why didn't you say you meant 'daylight silly time' .

Who in their right mind changes their clock half way through the year and then changes them back again for no other reason than not being able to get themselves out of bed an hour earlier without doing so. CUUUUCKOOOO !! :-)))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 475161

Reply By: Member - Alan (WA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:51

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:51
I have dtronic in my 2004 3l - and very happy. Was told at the time by arb that dtronic did not work in current patrol - so would be worth checking as this may have been only a tmporary thing. I wouldn't be without it.

AnswerID: 214833