Patrol 5th Gear : change in ratio

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:21
ThreadID: 41123 Views:2852 Replies:4 FollowUps:27
Has anybody fitted this new gear from Marks Adaptors yet? Sounds like a brilliant idea to me to get the revs down a little bit, especially with my new beasty!!!

Site Link

Reply By: acdc - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:40

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 20:40
So when are you going to buy a set??
AnswerID: 214787

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:17
G'day mate,
I'd better do it sooner rather than later, cos I'm gunna soon be putting the trucks (the old 4.2TD and the Chev) into the workshop to get the gearbox, transfer case and front diff changed over. Why? The gearbox in the old 4.2 DEFINITELY has had the new shaft and 5th gear installed; but I don't know the history of the Chev's box. The 4.2's Transfer Case contains a set of Marks Adaptors 2.8:1 ratio gears, whereas the Chev still has the standard 2.02:1 ratios. The front diff of the 4.2 has a ARB Air Locker, the Chev doesn't.
So, while they're doing all that, it would be the ideal time to do the 5th gear job too.

BTW, do you know what the symptoms of a buggared thrust bearing are and what's involved with changing it? The Chev is sometimes prone to mild "surging" at around 60k/h in 4th or 5th gear.

FollowupID: 475062

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:54

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:54
G'Day Roachie,

Thrust or spiggot bearing problems usually show themselves by a noise when the clutch is fully depressed, noise goes away when clutch released.

Either way have to pull the box out to fix.

If you have nay doubt, do it at the same time as gearbox change as mechanics can see $$$$ when they have to remove a Patrol box.

If need a new clutch then heavy duty Exeddy, depending on what they have fitted to the chev, you can also ask if it has the original flywheel or an adapted one.

Rolande
FollowupID: 475070

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:56

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:56
Thanks Rolande.....it has the HD Chev clutch etc, so I'm hoping that will last a while longer yet.

FollowupID: 475073

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:24

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:24
Roachie,

If it's the clutch thrust bearing, the noise will appear when you've got yer foot on the clutch and disappear when you've not got yer foot on the clutch.

If it's the first motion (primary shaft) bearing, the noise will be there when yer foot is off the clutch and will disappear when yer foot is on the clutch. i.e vice-versa to the thrust bearing.

The surging would have nothing to do with either of the above. I would guess it's the LPG injection that's causing it. Mine is as steady as rock (- got no LPG injection - I wish!!). But it's far easier to maintain a 60 kmh (or any other) speed limit than the TD Cruiser - which wandered all over the place by plus or minus 5kmh at 60 to 90 kmh! The only place that "Cruiser was really happy was on cruise control at 110kmh! It was after all a thoroughbred stallion of a car!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475100

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:34

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:34
Roachie,

Why would ya want to change the transfer ratios? You can go up the side of a tall house with it now!,,,,,,,,

In 3rd high,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475102

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:45

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:45
G'Day Bilbo,

Its about low speed control rather than power.

I have a 2.8, the antithesis of the chev - I should know!

:))

Rolande
FollowupID: 475112

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:59

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:59
Must be nice to have money.
FollowupID: 475164

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:59

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:59
PC = Bilbo - The Eagle has landed.. will repay somehow sometime.
FollowupID: 475165

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:39

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 12:39
Truckster,

Sheesh, that WAS quick!! It only left my place yesterday afternoon!!

Hope it works for ya!

I hate throwing stuff out if someone can use it.

Have a good 'un,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475187

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:37

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:37
g'day Bilbo,

Rolande hit the nail on the head......it's all about slow speed control, especially steep downhill decents etc.

Trucky, Yes it WOULD be nice to have money; I meet a lot of people that fit that category in my job. Unfortunately, I am but a simple salary-earner (one income family) with a wife, 4 kids, 2 Patrols, One Feroza, one camper trailer and a box trailer to support. One of these days I hope to get the deposit together so I can buy/build a house....But what the hell, I'm only 52; too young to be burdening myself with such frivolous non-essentials!!!!! ;-))
FollowupID: 475193

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:55

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:55
I suppose it's OK if you've bought the gears already and the box is being stripped anyway. But personally, I wouldn't go to the trouble. I've never had a problem with the Chev or any of the Nissan Diesels with going downhill and engine braking.

I do know that when I was in my mates 2.8 Nissan out the back of Meekatharra, I was amazed at how often he changed up and down that box!!! He was in low range a lot where I would have not even bothered switching to low range. But it was still a good little truck, just not my style.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475227

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 16:56
On the Mark's website, it says that the new cog can be installed without the need to strip the gearbox, but that transfer case would obviously need to come off the back.

Bilbo, I 1st realised I needed the lowrange reduction gearing when I tried to do a stall recovery during a Club training assessment a year or so ago. I was pointing uphill and had to stop the truck (too hard to stall the old 4.2, let alone the 6.5!!!) by switching the key off. Then had to select reverse and let the truck (all 3.2 tonne of it) hang of the gearbox alone. Too my surprise (astonishment really) the LowRange reverse wouldn't hold it.....mind you, this was a BLOODY steep hill too.

That was when I decided to get the low range gears from Marks; they'd just released the 2.8 ratio.....I always thought the 3.? were just TOO low for my driving style. But I think that is what Trevor R settled on in the end......howya finding them Trevor?

FollowupID: 475243

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:09

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:09
Lookin at it today, spittin twin of the 4.2 in everyway.

You dont have the mounting brackers from front ot back do u? :) Need to hack them for the core we are going to use, rather keep mine in good cond... :(
FollowupID: 475265

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:00

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:00
Truckster,

If you mean the bracket that goes from the front of the radiator panel to the firewall,,,,,,,,,,,,,,and supports the whole assembly,,,,,,,,,shaped like a letter "H",,,,,,,,,,YES, I do have it.

It looked such a "handy" piece of steel, I thought,"Hmmmmm,,,,,that'll be handy if I want one 'n I haven't got one". It looked so handy that I thought to meself," That would be handy even if I NEVER used it!"

Do you want that as well?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475290

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 22:30

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 22:30
Would love it :) make life easier
FollowupID: 475313

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 23:48

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 23:48
Monday OK?

With the same freight arrangements?

This one's gonna be a real bitch to wrap!!

What about I cut it into 4 inch pieces and put all the bits in a little square box?

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475327

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:31

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:31
Hi Roachie

Just for interest sake !, Do you think the standard nissan box will stand up to the chevs extra grunt & torque? , When the going gets Tuff & ya pulling that six ton behind you?

AnswerID: 214800

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:55

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:55
Isn't the toughest gearbox around out of the GQ. I thought that was what they put in all the Chev conversions???
FollowupID: 475071

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:55

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:55
Yeh, should do mate. The bloke from Brunswicks has got a GU that he repowered with turbo etc and it can light the tyres up, no worries.

Mine is n/a with LPG injection, so doesn't have anywhere near the grunt of the turbo'd jobbie. It's just a more usable torque band right from idle. So I don't think the gearbox or transfer case will have any issues coping with the engine's output.
FollowupID: 475072

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:58

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 21:58
G'day Brew, (BTW, I love the new one wheel drive tow vehicle you've got the trailer hooked up to, mate!!!!)
The GQ box apparently does not fit straight in where the GU box sits (otherwise lots of blokes would be using a GQ auto box in their GU's), so, no, they don't use the GQ boxes in the V8 conversions to GUs.
FollowupID: 475077

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:02

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:02
She struggles on the hills mate.
FollowupID: 475078

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:09

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:09
Bilbo has one (the manual) link text
FollowupID: 475082

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:14

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 00:14
Roachie,

Mine's a GU and it's definitely got a GQ box in it. It's tight squeeze though - had to bash the firewall and transmission tunnel around a bit,,,,,,,,,,

I just don't wanna be the one that has to take it out!

But when you figure that I only use 3 gearchanges to get to 5th then that should increase the clutch plate life by about 30% ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475099

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:40

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:40
Hey Bilbo, you still haven't told me what size tyres you're using? Mine will take off in 2nd okay and could go from 2nd to 4th and 5th, but I always choose to use all the gears (most of the time); it's just that once it's in 5th I tend to drive it like a slush box.....lazy b@stard, aren't I????
FollowupID: 475195

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:13

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:13
Roachie,

I sent all the tyre details in a PM to you on 7/1/07. I have a copy of it, I'll PM it to you again.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 475215

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:29

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:29
Absolutely the most fascinating line of diatribe that I have ever read.

Why don't you dudes just buy a Hummer and be done with it, instead of stressing what passes for grey matter ( maybe dead matter) between your collective nissan ears.

Happy new year anyway to you all.

PS

A JEEP is half the price of a Hummer and 100times better than what you have got.
AnswerID: 214825

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:41

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:41
Yeh, but is doesn't growl at ya every morning!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 475196

Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:38

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:38
Why not install the GM TH700-R4 auto in and be done with it - no more worries about 5th gear stripping or clutches to change.

Everybody was raving yesterday about how good autos are offroad.

AnswerID: 214889

Follow Up By: Chaz - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:54

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 13:54
Bravo!
My sentiments exactly.
FollowupID: 475199

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 11:07

Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 11:07
Yup, auto is the way to go, just finished swapping the T400 for a 4L80E (basically a T400 with 4th gear and lock up torque converter) in the Humvee, made a huge difference to engine rpm on the road, now it is sitting at 2,000 rpm at 95kph, right on max torque.
The T700 won't handle the torque 'backload' from the truck when in low range, they go boom in a Humvee, might be ok in a higher geared vehicle like a cruiser or patrol though.
FollowupID: 475503