Biggest Roo I've seen in a while
Submitted: Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 22:50
Willem
I was walking down past the old woolshed this morning to turn on the water for the wildlife trough. The old woolshed had been hit by a strong wind a while back and some sheets of iron lie scattered about the place(no manpower to clean up). Anyways......as I picked my way through the
debris I passed one of the pens in the shed and I saw this apparition. At first I thought it was a poddy it was that big, but there are no cattle here. On second glance this magnificent Euro sat up to take a look at me. Just sitting he was as tall as me and I'm 190cm tall. I think that he would measure taller than 210cm if he stood up on his tail.
I opened the tap and gave the big fella some space and he hopped out of the pen gracefully only a couple of metres away from me. Bloody hell, he was big. I reckon he could've weighed at least 100kilos. He hopped over to the trough some 50 metres away and proceeded to have a quiet drink. My mates Red Heeler was keen to give chase but on advice thought better of it ....lol
Today I saw 7 roos, 10 emus, 30 feral sheep and about 60 feral goats.
Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:35
Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 23:35
You think mentioning "goats" on this site is a good idea Willem ? lol.
Pezza
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:36
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:36
Yeah mate..Think I am skating on thin ice...lol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:23
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:23
Any photo's of the goats?
Reply By: skippie - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 02:48
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 02:48
G'day Willem,
how much for a weeks camping in the paddock
skippie
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:05
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:05
Ummm Dunno mate
I am only the Caretaker here and the park is closed for business. The daily rate methinks is $15 with some concessions to track use. Go to Members Gatherings on this page under Members icon and then click on National Gathering. Those prices are specials for the event but it gives you some idea. There are good
camp sites with Long Drops, and rainwater, Hot showers at the
Homestead. Five 4x4 tracks meander through the ranges. Three are medium bush tracks and two are more extreme.
The Managers will be
home again on 22nd January so if you email them through their website www.
warraweena.com or phone on 08 86752770 after that date you should get all the details.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 04:30
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 04:30
Nice one Willem.
We have the odd
Grey and some damn fast wobblies here; nothing big and majestic like that. Half way to town, at a certain zone, there is often a road kill that would probably "sit" 160cm. Nice animal. Wouldn't even try to guess the weight - that was too long ago. (And too brief.)
Care to tell the story behind the 'she cat' shot? Jeff.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:18
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:18
Jeff
The
pic was taken in 1984 through the passenger window(closed very tightly...lol) of our Suzuki in Namibia's Etosha Game Reserve. We came upon a pride of lions near a
water hole and this
young male decided to take a closer look at our little vehicle. He would have been about 2 metres away from us when the shot was taken. The missus got a bit nervous and I was pretty cautious so started the engine and then the cat shied away and went and lay down behind us for a while. To get out of the
carpark it would have been necessary to either drive over the lion or over some rocks in front of the Zook. Luckily it got bored after about 5 minutes and sauntered off.
Earlier in the day we had a scarier moment when an elephant bull took a dislike to us and charged. I had to do some fancy reversing and a handbrake turn to get out of trouble. Lucky too that the big fella ran out of puff quickly and ambled off into the bush.
I always seem to find a bit of adventure around..............lol
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:33
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:33
Hi Willem,
Hope that Zuk you were in when you took the
pic of the lion wasn't a soft top !
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:46
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:46
Hi Kiwi Kia
No definetely not.
You obviously have no idea of African Game
Reserves. You would not be allowed in driving a soft top vehicle.
All tour vehicles with open tops have to have an armed
ranger with them just in case wildlife become a little too friendly..lol
Reply By: rolande- Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:36
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:36
G'Day Willem,
Passed a new Hilux with toyota bullbar, crushed in on passenger side the other morning on the way to work.
Sure enough a few K's down the road was a large
grey, deceased.
Believe the driver was thinking he should have bought that ARB bullbar instead!
:))
Rolande
Reply By: Diver1 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:01
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:01
a few people will be wondering, apart from the cost of camping per night, but do you charge per head shot???LOL!!!
nothing like seeing a biggy every now and then to keep you on ya toes!!bet ya mates cattles dog wash wishing he coulda had a run for his money...spose he woulda got a good kick if he got close enough!!
Laura
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:28
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:28
LauraWarraweena is a multi faceted Conservation Park catering for Scientific Research, Bio Diversity research, Operation Flinders(looking after troubled
young people), campers, 4wd-ers, bushwalkers as
well as hunters.
The Station was destocked in 1998 but getting rid of the 5000 goats is another dimension. 2000 goats are removed every year but the numbers seem to stay the same. They also trap goats to boost their income.
So with the proper arrangements in place you could come out here and get a headshot of a goat(camera or peashooter). All other wildlife are protected under the National Parks and Wildlife Act
Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:46
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:46
Willem,
I was unfortunate enough to have got into an actual fight with a Roo some years back, (we were collecting Roos professionally if you know what I mean), anyway luckily for me this one was only a little one and I now have a very healthy respect for the strength of these things. The little bugger gave me quite a flogging before I managed to overpower it.
I would hate to think what a BIG one like the one you described would do to a person, I rekon it would rip you to bits in a matter of seconds.
Toytruck
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:35
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:35
Yes Toytruck
I would steer clear of any confrontation with a roo.
As it is I received a scratch on my arm this morning after cornering a goat that had escaped the pen. The dog and I got it into a corner and when it rushed past I fell on it. A struggle ensued. I was able get get hold of its horns and back legs and hoisted it, with some effort, over the yard railings. It was a Nanny Goat. Don't think I would have the strength to hoist one of the big Billy's over though...lol
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:38
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:38
You and Footloose Willem. I dunno mate, I thought you two would be past playing rough and tumble with the animals by now.
Thanks for the photo background. What a privilage.