Log Books
Submitted: Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:23
Member - Stephen M (NSW)
Am I the only person to be so fussy with service books or not. Looked at 2 rodeos today 1 fairly good the other I was a bit suss about klms compared to the condition of the vehicle. My old lux is now 18 years old and have every single receipt for what I have spent and every single oil change with filter I have done (every 4k). I still have original purchase receipt.I even have receipts for the last set of wiper blades.My main concern is proof of oil changes but the reply I got today was ah
well yeah I do it when I think of it or yeah bout every 10k, not good enough for me. Maybe I am being a bit fussy with them being an older vehicle eg over 10 years old but I want proof of oil changes or Im not buying that vehicle. Is it that hard to write down your oil changes in a book or some form of receipts for oil filters bought. One of them I pulled the dipstick and I think it might have been changed possibly 30,000k ago was like glue and low level. Dont understand people treating there hard earned cash that way. Is any body else as fussy or is it just me ???? Regards Steve M
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:30
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:30
Steve,
I'm not that fussy about keeping the receipts but I do make sure the Log Book is filled out and that they actually did what was listed in the log book and on their job sheet. I have taken it back after 1 service up to 4 times so that they would do it correctly. That was just for the greasing of all the nipples. They actually told me that they couldn't reach one so thats why they didn't do it. Funnily enough when you take the front bash plate off you can reach quite easily.
All the filters get the date written on them when put on.
Being pedantic about servicing is a must for a long term investment as it is money
well spent.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Diver1 - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:33
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:33
Not that fussy either but Nathan (usually) fills out the book amd eeps track of the big things done to it -receipts - like shocks, radiator etc.....
Laura
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:48
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:48
I am of the opinion that if you pay for something to be done then it should be done to the correct standard.
As a chippie by trade if I built you a 2 storey house and forgot to add the 2nd storey would you be fussy then??
I reckon that you would take me to the Dept of Fair Trade or similar. The same thing applies to mechanics that don't do the job correctly, take it back until they do it right especially if is a dealer service centre.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:04
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:04
Kev,
Totally agree. Nothing annoys me more than paying top prices for a second rate job. Some dealers are really poor when it comes to completing the whole service.
Mine tried to charge the full 1.5 hours to complete a service when it only took them 50 minutes. "We charge a standard fee" they said.
I did not pay the extra.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 23:06
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 23:06
,,,,"The same thing applies to mechanics that don't do the job correctly, take it back until they do it right especially if is a dealer service centre,,,,,,,,"
A contradiction in terms??
Bilbo
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:42
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:42
Fussin' like an old woman ;-)))
I just read another post about buying a Troopy and had the same thoughts. I remember being
young and stupid and buying second hand cars and driving them into the ground; cars are things you put petrol in, aren't they?
Stick with your high standards and find a decent car which YOU will be happy with.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:52
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:52
Hi Stephen,
I don't think it is too much to ask. I have made extra pages in my original log books to cater for the extra
services I have done. My log books have every service stamped right up to the 290000km one I have just had. Next person silly enough to buy
mine will at least be comfortable in the knowledge all oil changes have been maintained.
There are examples of others maintaining their vehicles similar to me, so keep walking if the car you are looking at is not up to your standards.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:52
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:52
Last couple of vehicles I've done my own servicing since new. I fill out the book, and list stuff like the valve clearances, tyre wear, and rotation, and what brands and specs of oils and grease have been used. I leave the pages in the service book with things ticked. My trade-in value has been exceptionally good.
I don't worry about warranty because Toyotas and the Nissans we've owned rarely need warranty.
Now anyone can fill out a service book. Anyone can lie. And dealer servicing may not be indicative of it all being done properly. So if buying a used vehicle, I pay more attention to the vehicle's condition than the service books.
phil
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:01
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:01
Your last paragraph is spot on, mate
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:11
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:11
Agree with you there Phil on the last comment but you do get a rough idea as to wether it has been done or not or just fudged. Thats why I actually keep all receipts for parts etc as
well as stamp the logs. I even tear the top of the carton the filter comes in and write on it the date and klms for my oil changes and stick them in with every thing else. I even keep the log books in my wardrobe so that if the lux was ever broken into they dont destroy or set fire to them (you know what kids a like) that way they will never be lost. All I can say is who ever buys
mine will have one excellent service history for an 89 model car. Ah
well Ill just keep looking. Got to admit not that many out there even in crap condition for sale,must say some thing about them. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:53
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:53
Yeah, I am a fussy ba$tard too! I even record every
tank of fuel I have ever bought and what the tread depth is on the tyres when i rotate them!!! But engineers just love data ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:13
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:13
Got to admit captain even I dont do that, but you bring back memorys of my nan and she use to do that with her old corolla she woulod write down evertime she fueled it up since she bought it new to the day she sold it, good idea though. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:27
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:27
Hi there Captain I was just telling my wife about you measuring tread depth and told her you are an engineer and she laughed. She remebers an old customer of hers she had at the old
shop and he asked her how many threads were on the screws holding his sunglasses together and her reply was wouldnt have a clue but they havnt come apart on you yet thats what locktite is good for. And he said the same thing he was an engineer and liked technical data LOL. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Robin - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:46
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:46
I just looked in my log book and noted that I paid 49.5 for fuel on 23/7/75.
Err! per gallon that is.
Bet you can't guess what profession I am in.
Robin MIller
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:55
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:55
So accountants DO get out?
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 06:54
Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 06:54
I thought maybe one of the old style servo owners that came out and filled the car for you, cleaned the windscreen and checked the oil.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:53
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 19:53
Just because there is a stamp in a book,don't assume the service has been done!There is ALWAYS a element of risk when buying 2ND hand
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:15
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:15
Hi there Shane that is very true but at least as said above it gives you a rough idea by the condition of the vehicle.Thats why I like receipts for things not just a stamp. I'l just keep looking. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:39
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:39
Hi Stephen,
While not as fussy as you in my record keeping, I bought a cressida once because of its "service history"......
well that was an expensive exercise! so While I like to see a history when purchasing a car...I pay lots of attention to how it sits now in front of me, crawl all over it ect, There are always signs of its true history hiding some where around the car.
Just my 2c worth
Stefan
Reply By: FZJ 80 - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:38
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:38
Stephen,
Mate i'm fussy as too. When my mrs and i met back in 2000 she owned a Honda Civic 94 model. She bought it new and at that time it had 90000ks on it and only a couple of stamps in book. Turns out her old mans mech had been servicing it but never stamped the book. Knowing the benifit to resale being a mech myself we posted it to her father to organise updating the book. He loses the book!! Now it's got no service history at all. I know it's all legit but can imagine the story of " We lost the service book" story to the potential buyer, meanwhile he thinks,
yea right,how many k's did you haircut off it!!
No real tragedy now due to it's age and value,will keep another 2 years or so then cross the no service history bridge.
Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:05
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:05
Hi Steve,
If they couldnt be bothered giving the vehicle a service to prepare it for sale , theirs not much chance it was ever serviced. I also look carefully at the condition of trhe coolant, belts, hoses gereral condition of engine bay and car. I have found out years ago that if you buy cheap nad nasty it will BITE you. I would rather pay bit more for a vehicle in good condition as I have found its cxheaper in long run. Keep looking One will pop up thats exactly what you are looking for.
Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:12
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 22:12
Steve,
Stick to your standards mate and then that makes me feel better. I always cop a ribbing from mates and family for being a fussy bas##rd when it comes to cars. However, when they are buying i'm the first one they ring for advice or help with an inspection. I tell them i feel like the car......used and abused.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 16:20
Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 16:20
Yep same here Dave family the first to ring me when they want to go and have a look at a vehicle I dont ind I like haggling with the sales person and getting things done on the vehicle that may need doing.Mind you I normally buy new but have just updated the wifes car to a newie so have to go second hand this time myself. Think I got conned a bit by the other half but as they say happy wife happy home has worked for the last 9 years so far must be doing some thing write. LOL Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 23:09
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 23:09
Stephen M, thanks for the post. I'm a bit of a simple lad: local mechanic does the 10000
services, while I poke around. 5k oil changes I do at home, and have absolutely no way to prove that they've been done.
Your post is a bit of a wake up call. Shall endeavour to keep/file all outgoings from here on in.
BTW, the post on 2.8s has turned up pretty clean. Can't be long now "til the saboutage begins. Stick in there Stephen. Jeff.