When is a fire ban not a fire ban?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 07:33
ThreadID: 41224 Views:3756 Replies:6 FollowUps:6

Went camping at Deua NP for a few days between Xmas and New Year, as I entered the park, I noticed that there were signs saying "Park Fire Ban" added to the usual Park Sign.

Am I correct to assume that this means no fires other than from gas stoves? I ask because when I got to the Bendethera Valley, lo and behold, there were all these campsites with rather large campfires blazing away and I even saw a few campers collecting large piles of firewood presumably to keep the fire going during the night.

In their defence, the weather had cooled and there was also a small amount of rain to wet things down but I thought a fire ban meant no open fires other than from gas stoves.

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 08:35

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 08:35

As far as I am aware a Total Fire Ban means just that with the exception that you can use a gas stove.

In extreme conditions the authorities will add a statement that gas stoves and BBQs cannot be used.

Regarding Bendethera, it is a pity that a small number of campers choose to ignore the regulations of the National Park rangers. Their bad behaviour spoils it for everyone and only encourages the extreme greenies to continue to lobby to close access to National Parks.

The NP Rangers try to do the right thing and keep parks accessible for all interest groups but a very small number of 4wders and trail bikers seem to want to spoil it for everyone.

Bendethera is a glorious place but unfortunately a few idiots caused heaps of damage there a few summers ago. The NP authorities understandably got very upset. Continuing access was touch and go for a while, however the South East NSW and ACT 4wd clubs, and others, did a great deal of hard work and negotiated with the National Parks to keep the park open for our enjoyment.

Glad you liked Bendethera

AnswerID: 215366

Follow Up By: Patrol_Driver - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 08:45

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 08:45
Hi Phil,

I loved Bendethera and Deua, great 4WDriving and the camping is unbelievable. We will definitely be going back there very soon to spend more time exploring the area and also taking a gander at the Caves. Hopefully the park doesn't get closed off in the meantime!
FollowupID: 475646

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:16

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:16
In Victoria (and I'm almost certain NSW is the same) you are NOT permitted to use a gas stove on a TFB day unless you are close to a _permanent_ building and have water on hand etc - essentially, this allows use of a back yard BBQ but bans all gas stoves from the bush.

FollowupID: 475654

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:07

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:07
not relevent but from a WA calm publication
"on days of very high or extreme fire danger, you can cook with gas appliances at designaed sites if all combustable material as been cleared from 5m of the site"
FollowupID: 475673

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:22

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:22
"but a very small number of 4wders and trail bikers seem to want to spoil it for everyone."

Lets not leave out some of the worst offenders I have come across, walkers and horse riders, both of whom quite happily stated they didn't have the room to store their waste in order to take it out with them.

Watched as a group of horse people wandered into Mitchel Flat and started a fire for lunch on a TFB day with strong gusty winds, ate lunch and left without extinguishing the fire. Nearly had a punch on with some walkers who came into Granny's Flat and started a fire on a TFB day, ended up dousing their fire with water after they ignored our attempts(civil at first) to educate them...

These 2 groups seem to be coated with teflon™, they too do the wrong thing but only 4wders and trailbikers get crap dealt out to them...

Sorry for the rant, pet hate on mine.
FollowupID: 475679

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:05

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:05
Technically in the ACT you are not allowed to light a match during a total fire ban, this includes smoking, & now you would not be allowed to even smoke outdoors in the designated smoking areas due to the new legislation that seems somewhat draconian but may be just kneejerk to the fires of a few years ago...
FollowupID: 475775

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:01

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:01
G'day mate,

spent the weekend at McIntyre Hut. I think the "Park Fire Ban" sign on Two Sticks Rd said "no solid fuel fires" so I just put the dutchie on the duel fuel stove instead, I don't carry gas. The wind really picked up as soon as I started cooking (around 1630) and I was explaining to the kids about the topography and the wind, and that one of the fires from that terrible time a few years ago actually started down there (albeit from a lightning strike.)

Despite any moderating conditions, the fire ban sign means just that. Anyone knowingly making a fire esp a big one, inside a "Park Fire Ban" needs to be brought back down to earth. There is nothing in their defence. Fuel moisture content does not disappear with cooler conditions and a small amount of rain.

onya, assume you observed the ban?

AnswerID: 215371

Follow Up By: Patrol_Driver - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:07

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:07
G'day,

Yep, I observed the fire ban and camped well away from the others who didn't (they were up the northern end where the track finishes).

I would've "reminded" them about the fire ban but they were a surly looking lot and even glared at us as we drove past to explore the area. I think they felt they owned the area because they looked set-up for a long stay.
FollowupID: 475651

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:33

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 09:33
Site Link

Yep - no fire except Gas or fuel stoves. I know it can be confusing given that there is often parks provide campfire places and even timber, but these are for non-fire ban days.

Site Link

If there's a total fire ban, that means total - except if they provide an electric or gas BBQ.

They wouldn't want to get found out, and they certainly wouldn't want to start a wildfire - for their own safety and everyone else's.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 215376

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 10:41

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 10:41
If the Fire Ban had been decreed in accordance with the relevant 'statutes' (NP & Country Fire etc) then that's THE LAW. Even though you state ' in their defence, the weather had cooled and there was also a small amount of rain to wet things down'. That sounds to me that you have almost excused them and their behaviour - despite your concerns !

It would seem that despite the sign(s) many campers chose to ignore them. Bit like motorists who ignore the speed limits, drive whilst exceeding 0.05% or hammer around the roads in unroadworthy and illegally modified vehicles. Why do they do it? There are some (on this forum) who reckon that it's no offence - unless you get caught. Beats me. Seems to be the way much of society is heading these days. Just don't give a *^$#@^%
AnswerID: 215390

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 10:57

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 10:57
I was camped at Lake Jasper (WA) and I was under the impression there was a total fire ban. Yet the Park Rangers were topping up the supplied fire wood for use in the provided fire places!

While I didn't have a fire it certainly seemed acceptable practice to have one and given the rangers were supplying the wood, other campers were doing just that. Certainly seems the rules are far from clear.

AnswerID: 215394

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 14:18

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 14:18
As most of us carry Digital cameras just take a pic showing the fire and hopefully some people and a no plate then when one gets home E mail it to the parks Office.
The least they will do is to send a nasty note to the culprits.
Make sure the date is embeded into the pic.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 215432