4WD Monthly Editor?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 14:57
ThreadID: 41234 Views:9514 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
I don't buy every issue of 4WD Monthly, but having bought the latest one, out of passing curiosity does anyone know what happened to Mr Patrick Callinan?

Snowy

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:01

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:01
He is now taking it easy travelling with his kids etc.
He couldn't handle the high tempo job and cut back on his commitments.

He still has some input into the running of the Mag as to how much I don't know

Kev

AnswerID: 215443

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:48
Does that mean they retired him? They could retire a few others.......
FollowupID: 475729

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:01

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:01
He still seems to have his head in all the Mags since he handed over the reigns.

So who knows

Kev

FollowupID: 475732

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:10

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:10
its going to get worse with the stack of buggy/comp people they now have on the books. it will go away from biased testing to comp stuff
FollowupID: 475804

Reply By: banjodog - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:27

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:27
I had the misfortune to view (well, borrow) the latest dvd that come with this months mag – what a bunch of knuckle draggers – to openly admit and display road worthy faults of the two vehicles that they tear around in a 4,000 km test.

Both vehicles were in such a mechanically unsafe condition, which both went to length showing, that they just snub their noses at not fixing and drive off. I’m sure the RTA would love to find out who the inspector was that gave the OK on that one for a re-register.

The star of the dvd is Patrick Callinan and his side-kick Roothy. The antics they get up to does not inspire a lot of confidence in their 4wd ability that they make out they have. Just nothing more than hooning around trying to out-wit and out-drive each other in vehicles that would be a dream car for someone that can’t afford a late model one. At the end of their so called road test / challenge, both vehicles are nothing more than wrecks.

Admittedly, they claimed to have only paid $2,000 for the 4wd to do the Super Cheap Auto challenge – big deal. So working for a motoring magazine must give you the right to be above the law and register such unroadworthy vehicles. I think not.

Surely they could spin it around and show that a vehicle of this type is still capable of and the repairs that are required first to make it safe and reliable before heading off.

I know their angle is they’ll deal with the breakdown issue as and when it happens which could be hundreds of kms from the nearest town and do the (staged) bush mechanic repairs. What do they think is the mental integrity of the viewer is?

Good thing the dvd was a loaner and didn’t spend the money on it.

AnswerID: 215459

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:38

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:38
I must admit the first one of this series wasn't too bad, it did actually demonstrate that if you had a bit of mechanical knowledge you could go 4WDing on a relatively small budget. But after watching the last one, I can not agree with anyone who goes out purposely just to trash a vehicle, the media go on about hoon drivers in their high powered street machines in the suburbs, well we now have the off-road equivalent on DVD.
FollowupID: 475740

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:58

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:58
I never got to see the dvd, which i will try to source, but if it was anything like their 2006 4wd of the year challenge, they had a recovery vehicle as well as a cook come along. So if that were the case, breakdowns would never leave them stranded. Ide worry about the suspension giving out at the wrong time or something like that tho...
FollowupID: 475746

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:22

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:22
Hi there 4wdNewbie, where you located, you can send me your address via email if you like and I will send you a copy of mine, oops I mean the one I got, cant do things like that can I thats copyright. Email is stephenkelly@optusnet.com.au Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 475748

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:25

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:25
Bit sad to see them trashing the 4x4's I admit, but it was hardly the end of the world.

They were in a 4x4 competition area for the 'stages' and I don't see what made either of the vehicles unroadworthy when they took off. A bit of slack in the rubber bushes is hardly going to turn a vehicle into an uncontrollable weapon that'll send it careening off into the closest kindergarten's playground.

Perhaps you could bring me up to speed on what made their 4x4's so "mechaincally unsafe"?

Also, if the repairs weren't "staged" how would you suggest they film it? Using the old 'omnipotent observer hyper god-cam' perhaps? Of course they are staged. (by the way, movies and cartoons aren't real either) Got to get a camera, lighting and sound in there to flim it somehow.

Don't want to give you too much stick mate but I think you're being a bit harsh.
FollowupID: 475749

Follow Up By: banjodog - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:54

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:54
V8Diesel,
No. no stick taken. It’s just a shame a bit more professionalism isn’t on display that’s all.

As for the vehicle’s condition – apart for worn suspension components, really bad oil leaks on both. But not getting into technical hair-splitting discussion, all Govt bodies give guideline on what’s not acceptable for a vehicle to be on the road and clearly these vehicles were outside those at the time of filming. If you get caught by the RTA passing vehicles in such condition your busted.

So you may think that oil leaks and a worn suspension is OK for a vehicle to be on the road – now if that type of vehicle hit yours how would your insurance company view it? Would they pay out on something that’s unroadworthy or use it as a loop hole not to – no different than being hit by a DUI.

I’m sure most mechanics like me on this site and those who also conduct and issue safety certificates would have to agree that the vehicles were at the time of driving on the road “unroadworthy”. But I’ll stand corrected if they were fixed but I doubt it as Roothy made comments later about the worn suspension.

I know is was all in the name of fun and let’s get out there approach and was on private property where most of it was filmed but public roads were used to get to and from.

I didn’t take the dvd seriously but they can lift their game and still present it well.

FollowupID: 475755

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:04

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:04
I havent see the second one yet but I got a good laugh out of the first.
If they go to professional, youll have to start paying for them.
FollowupID: 475756

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:14

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:14
Banjodog:

Whilst I have, somewhat less than, zero time for this rag (bought one edition, I think) I doubt there is a traffic policeman or RTA/Vic Roads etc tester who could not find a sufficient fault to render 95% of the vehicles which drive on our roads daily un-roadworthy.

FollowupID: 475759

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:18
Yeah I watched it and had no problems with it got a good laugh out of it.
Some of you are a bit goodie too shoes about things.

What exactly did they do that was so wrong?

Dream car I think not, it would cost more to bring those cars up to RTA standard than they are worth.

Most of it was filmed on privet property, and the stuff my mated and me did on privet property when we were a bit younger way worse than that.

Both the cars were licensed before they brought them as well, I see car’s in way worse condition that that driving around every day.

I take it you have never seen the show Bush mechanics on ABC?
FollowupID: 475761

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:48
Not worried one way or the other but to give them credit they did mention the Pajero's oil leak was fixed with the use of 50W oil and the Jackaroo was found to have a loose or improperly fitted oil filter which sorted most of the problems. They were filmed up on the hoist after all. Even after the busted headlight glass incident the light still worked fine and the Jackaroo travelled in the middle of a close knit 5 car convoy.

I got the DVD free and watched it over the weekend. Made me want to go bush a.s.a.p. rather than get angry.

FollowupID: 475768

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:49

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:49
Exploder,
You did worse than that and admit to it, you should be ashamed!
As for the real bush mechanic (ABC), what do you mean worse condition, 80% of the cars in Alice arent that good. They picked out a couple of road worthy ones especialy for the movie.LOL
Ps. sorry about putting abc in capitals, I wasnt yelling.
FollowupID: 475769

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:47

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:47
Hmmmmmmmmmm! take our 'serious/social engineering' pills today did we.

And

lots of them by the looks of it.
AnswerID: 215461

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:50

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:50
I must be a bit slow today, but social engineering????
FollowupID: 475744

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:26

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 17:26
"medication time.......medication time"
FollowupID: 475751

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:06

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:06
do you people find anything out there that you can't bag. i am a little sick of reading this forum as you only bag everyone else that isn't up to your level.
we can't all go out and buy top of the line gear. and t least i don't mind a bit of a scratch on my fwd...you blokes need to get a life. stop bad mouthing everything for a change. and yes i am having a bad day. ..... year so far. anyway that's my input whither you want it or not.
pete
FollowupID: 475757

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:40
Huh????
FollowupID: 475766

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:52

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:52
Couldn't give a rats a**e what Roothy and the 4WD Monthly boys do as long as it doesn't impinge physically or on the legal (not perceived) rights of others.

In view of some of the aforementioned comments, I would love to see the first coota to follow Roothy in a finger 'shortening' contest if he decided it was a 'fun' thing to do.

Its like 'big brother uncut' on television - if you don't like it, don't watch it.

Also if you decide to watch these things and find it not to your taste, but continue to watch it to the end so you can tell us all how 'bad and detrimental' it will be if we watch it, then you really do need to take your pills.

FollowupID: 475782

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 22:34
Spot on there ol' bloke!! I watched the 2 DVDs and I'm not ahamed to say I had a chuckle at their antics. I whinced when I saw them crunching the ol' bangers over tracks that would do a comp truck some justice.
BTW, Lucy, thanks for that new alphabet you sent me!!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 475836

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:27
Snowy,
As others have said, Pat has taken on a less demanding role in the mag, winding down, time with family that sort of thing.

The bloke thats moaning about the DVD-It was FREE and just a bit of FUN.

Like to see every 4B with worn bushes taken off the road!

Surely you're just stirring the pot??

Matt
AnswerID: 215482

Follow Up By: banjodog - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:35

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:35
Too true. I'm trying to beat the Shoelace record.
FollowupID: 475765

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:32

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:32
Isn't Pat an executive editor or something? I think I saw his name on the masthead of the Caravan magazine a while back.

Max
AnswerID: 215485

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 19:06
How bizzare, I don't normally buy or read that mag because I think they really are a bunch of knobs, but out of a having no cash to buy the paper and a $10 minimum eftpos limit at the local newsagent I bought it and watched the DVD. Some of it was questionable, however I think they pulled it off legally speaking. As said before, everything "dodgy" was done on private property so even though it might no be everyone's cup of tea, I did have a little laugh, especially with some of the panel damage.

To be honest I've seen knob ends do that kind of stuff in reserves and national parks, so really in comparison to that, it was ok.

The old Jack was a pearler I reckon, I know someone who's got almost an identical one to that with similar k's as his tourer. I didn't cry seeing the old pajero get hammered though, I think that model was a peice of poo myself, that 3.0LV6 was garbage IMHO and I quite enjoyed watching it cop a bit! LOL

In all serious though, for people who would not know how to patch a tank, it could be usful and spraying the fuel pump with a bit of "start you bastard" was a neat trick that actually apeared to work. Mind you they didn't go into any detail about how much of a total PITA it must have been to take it in and out of the tank! ;-)
AnswerID: 215498

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 20:01

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 20:01
No one ever says this about the AGE newspaper - which I might add is the greatest Bolshevik, Broad Sheet piece of diatribe that pretends to be the 'truth' we want to haer, when in fact it is only fit for wrapping Fish & Chips.

I suppose I will be a Tabloid W h o r e for ever.

Funny how a publication which you have to voluntarily purchase brings out the 'beasty' in some.

ROFLMAO

I'll stop now as I have very important things to like cleaning some windows for SWMBO.
AnswerID: 215507

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:36

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:36
Old Goat,

The only reason you buy The Sun is because you can't read the print anymore and can only look at the pictures LOL.

Cheers my old mate,

FollowupID: 475816

Reply By: On Patrol - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:14

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:14
If I were perfectly honest, I am jealous of the FUN these guys had, off road, ON PRIVATE PROPERTY, with little or no regard of the damage done to two old clunkers, that would have to be sent to the wreckers after they were done with them.

Bold Jack, GQ_Tuff & I found the video amusing.

Note: they did not re register those vehicles themselves, they bought them with remaining rego on them. Therefore they did nothing illegal, on road in NSW.

See it for what it was, "A bit of fun"

AnswerID: 215542

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 23:26

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 23:26
Couldn't agree more, even if it is with a Nissan galoot. (It hurt to have to say that)

FollowupID: 475852

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 07:14

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 07:14
Sorry if that caused you pain Lucy;) that was never my intention mate.
FollowupID: 475875

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 17:47

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 17:47
I am not 100% sure how this simple question turned in to a large and sometimes narky debate, "rail-roaded" I think is an appropriate term?

Snowy
AnswerID: 215706

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 18:12
Hey Snowy
Shyte sometimes happens that way mate. I find it amazing too.

But thats life, sometimes it goes up and some times down, it's a roller coaster, hold on & enjoy the ride, its much more fun than a roundabout that just goes round & round.

Enjoy the ride Snowy.
FollowupID: 475989

Reply By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 18:14

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 18:14
PS What did happen to Pat? LOL.
AnswerID: 215708