Jackaroo Wheel Management Solution

Submitted: Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:35
ThreadID: 41236 Views:2726 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
After having a hissy fit 'cause spare set of wheels & tyres for Jack wouldnt fit
C/t & then pondering what combination of old splits or assorted 15 by 8s might
give me the flexiblity of interchange I wanted from the accumulation in the shed,
I finally calmed down enough to seek the advice on EO. What a marvelous
invention you lot are !!!. Back came the obvious answer, the one that always escapes me, change the hubs..you beauty !!!. Off to the shop I go......cant be
done...says the helpful bloke at the caravan/trailer shop. Why dont you change
the axle? says he. Why dont I ? thinks I as I ask the important question...how
much ?. Around $250 says he. Bullsh*t ..think I. Great idea, shonky price.
Off home go I & google up 'Trailer Axle'. Up comes Allstates Trailer Parts. Ring up
to find out how to measure axle, & one of those blokes you only dream about
tells me exactly what axle I need & sells it to me for around half the forementioned
sum. Now I am having a better day !! Cant believe we are going past Tuggerah
this Sat morn to visit childbrides relo's at Swansea, so can collect as well.
Hope this may be of use to my fellow Jack owners, priviliged little band that
we are. Happy days are here again.....oldbaz.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:46

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 15:46
Forgive my ignorance but why can't you change the hubs??

When I upgrade to a 100Series I'll have to change hubs on my trailer so I'm interested as to why it couldn't be done.

AnswerID: 215448

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:03

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:03
Kev, I dont know. When I explained my problem the gent said he had never heard
of non standard hubs that would give the needed extra axle width. The Trailer spares place probably has 20 hubs listed but no variance from standard fitting
either. My problem was that the offset on Jack rims means the tyre hits the
trailer body on the inside. 40 ml extra on each side cures it. Standard hubs for
Cruiser 6 stud cost $40 ea (Chinese) from Supercrap so hard to see non standard
being cheaper than replacement axle. No doubt other wiser souls can offer more
info....oldbaz.
PS changeing stud pattern is not a problem, buy the hub you need.
FollowupID: 475733

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:15

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:15
No worries, I'll probably end up changing hubs to suit the 5 stud arrangement for the 100 Series.

FollowupID: 475737

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:13
Good to see you have your problem solved.
Feels like you are hitting your head against a wall sometimes.
Luckily I have a hard head and the wall gives.
Like working on the car, once I get a knick and the car has it's bit of blood, everything seems to go better after that. :o)
AnswerID: 215456

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:29

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 16:29
Aint that the truth. The backs of my hands have all the toughness of a rotten peach, consequently any mechanical duties leaves a trail of claret everywhere, not
helped by the daily aspirin to keep the stuff going around when I'm sedentry,
which is most of the time. Medicinal Bundy I feel is the answer....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 475739

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:57

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:57
Old Baz... Mate incelebration of your good day here are the words: Alltogether 1, 2, 3,

So long sad times
Go long bad times
We are rid of you at last

Howdy gay times
Cloudy gray times
You are now a thing of the past

Happy days are here again
The skies above are clear again
So let's sing a song of cheer again

Altogether shout it now
There's no one
Who can doubt it now
So let's tell the world about it now

Your cares and troubles are gone
There'll be no more from now on
From now on ...

The skies above are clear again
So, Let's sing a song of cheer again

Happy times
Happy nights
Happy days
Are here again!
AnswerID: 215494

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 23:15

Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 23:15
Oh no, another poet :)))
FollowupID: 475850

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 07:37

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 07:37
Sheer musical genius, I was a bit flat that time, lets do it again..."happy da..."
...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 475877

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 10:03

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 10:03
For a small financial consideration I have a CD available of yours trully at the Pamona Theatre Organ... This golden oldie is included....How about some Cole Porter, women of my generation throw their knickers at you for some Night & Day...

I've got you under my skin,
I've got you deep in the heart of me,
So deep in my heart . . . you're really a part of me,
I've got you under my skin!
I tried so . . . not to give in,
I said to myself . . . this affair, never will go so well!
But why should I try to resist,
When 'Darling' I know so well,
I've got you under my skin!
I'd sacrifice anything, come what might,
For the sake of having you near!
In spite of the warning voice, that comes in the night,
And repeats, and repeats, in my ear . . .
"Don't you know little fool . . . you never can win!
Use your mentality, wake up to reality!"
But each time I do . . . just the thought of you,
Makes me 'stop' before I begin,
'Cause I've got you . . . Hmm I got you,
I got you . . . under my skin!

Begin the Beguine
When they begin the beguine,
It brings back the sound of music so tender,
It brings back the night of tropical splendour,
It brings back a memory evergreen!
I'm with you once more under the stars,
And down by the shore an orchestra's playin'
Even the palms seems to be swayin'
When they begin the beguine!
To live it again is past all endeavour,
Except when that tune clutches my heart,
And there we are swearin' to love forever,
And promising never, never to part!
What moments divine, what raptures serene,
'Till clouds came along to disperse the joys we had tasted . . .
Now, when I hear people curse the chance that was wasted,
I know but too well what they mean!
So, don't let them begin the beguine,
Let the love that was once a fire remain an ember . . .
Let it sleep like the dead desire I only remember,
Oh yes, let them begin the beguine, make them play!
'Till the stars that were there before return above you,
'Till you whisper to me once more, "Darling, I love you!"
And we suddenly know, what heaven we're in,
When they begin . . . the beguine!

In the Still of the Night
( Do you love me? Do you love me? )
In the still of the night, as I gaze from my window,
At the moon in it's flight, my thoughts all stray to you . . .
In the still of the night, while the world is in slumber,
Oh the times without number, Darling when I say to you,
"Do you love me, as I love you?
Are you my life to be, my dreams come true? ( Will you be my dream come true? )
Or, will this dream of mine fade out of sight?"
Like the moon growing dim, on the rim of the hill,
In the chill, still of the night . . . ( Do you love me? )
( Do you love me? )
In the still of the night . .

You Do Something to Me
You do somethin' to me,
Somethin' that simply mystifies me,
Tell me, why should it be?
You have the power to hypnotize me . . .
Let me live 'neath your spell,
Do do that 'voodoo' that you do so well!
For you do somethin' to me,
That nobody else could do!
You . . . do . . . somethin' to me,
Somethin' that simply mystifies me,
Tell . . . me . . . why should it be?
You have the power to hypnotize me . . .
Let me live 'neath your spell,
Do do that 'voodoo' that you do so well!
For you do somethin' to me,
That nobody else could do!
That nobody else could do . . .

Like the beat beat beat of the tom-tom
When the jungle shadows fall Like the tick tick tock of the stately clock
As it stands against the wall
Like the drip drip drip of the raindrops
When the summer shower is through
So a voice within me keeps repeating you, you, you
Night and day, you are the one
Only you beneath the moon or under the sun
Whether near to me, or far It's no matter darling where you are
I think of you Day and night, night and day, why is it so
That this longing for you follows wherever I go
In the roaring traffic's boom
In the silence of my lonely room I think of you Day and night, night and day
Under the hide of me
There's an oh such a hungry yearning burning inside of me
And this torment won't be through
Until you let me spend my life making love to you Day and night, night and day

No not working my end, knickers firmly secure....How about your end Baz?
FollowupID: 475896

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:41

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:41
Got through all that ,but throat is Knackered & I remain Knickerless...oldbaz
FollowupID: 475926

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:46

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:46
Oi, cut it out you blokes. I even remember the words to that song ! That makes me feel soooo ancient.
FollowupID: 475927