Cooloola beach camping, hoons & another snake story!

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:11
ThreadID: 41288 Views:6096 Replies:4 FollowUps:10

Beach camping:

Well we got back from four days camping up the beach yesterday and had a wonderful time!!! The place is just magic and wasn't too crowded as most had suggested it was going to be considering it's January and still school hols!

Hoons:

We arrived early Friday morn and had a great section to ourselves until late Friday night when two other groups set-up either side of our camp. This didn't worry us until late Sat. arvo when we realised the mob to our south were a bunch of absolute d'heads who would do a 10 min session of donuts on the beach every 15 mins or so and then drive straight back over the dunes and rip them to shreds in the process! The serenity was somewhat lost until they departed on Sunday, but we still had a good night and were up late ourselves Saturday night anyway (though we were somewhat quieter than our rowdy neighbors!).

What was most shocking about this mob of d'heads was that they simply packed up and drove off and left a pile of rubbish on the dunes where they had just cooked breakie! There were softdrink cans and broken glass bottles, Corona bottles, chip packets, oil from their bbq and a melted old chair or tent frame just left there! Their fire, over by their campsite, was equally shocking! Disgusting! We cleaned it up ... good karma our way, and bad theirs is the way I see it! I hope they each blew four tyres on the way home!

Can anything be done about these idiots?

I asked one of the ice-vendor guys and he reckoned the Rangers were all just toothless-tigers and there was not much we could do about these fools!

Snake:

I also had a close call with a snake (not sure of the type ... maybe taipan, maybe eastern brown?).

What shocked me the most when I first noticed it about 1m away from me (and in the middle of the area where we were errecting the tarp) was that my gf and I had been talking and moving around the site for an hour or so (our tent was already up) and we had our 5m x 5m tarp with two of the four corner poles up and I was just putting up the third corner pole and the fourth corner was flapping around in a light breeze, and ... well, I was just somewhat surprised and concerned I suppose that with all this activity a 1.5m snake came right through the middle of our camp between where my gf and I were standing (some 4m apart).

Needless to say, we were somewhat cautious for the next four days around our camp site and didn't venture into the long grass or bush behind our site! I half expected to have another surprise encounter with the snake again before we left but, after I chased it off with our long-handled shovel, he at least stayed out of sight.

I later asked the Ranger and described the snake and he reckoned it may have been a taipan (after I first thought it was a brown simply because of its colour).

I am intrigued by snakes and admire them as part of our natural world, but this was a little too close for my liking!

We had an absolutely amazing time up the beach anyway!

Mick

P.S: The fishing was great! Tailor, whiting and some big dart!

Reply By: medson - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:33

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:33
Mate, we were also up the weekend just gone. Not too far from you as we saw them all line up on Saturday during the day and one by one do donuts. Orange ute was the car doing it most.

Was absolutely disgusting and saw one person had to jump out the way as the back of the ute come swinging around.

There must be a way to get rid of these tools. They need a simple method of people reporting these hoons to the cops. I recall on Saturday a QLD government ute (not the ranger) drive straight past as they were lined up. he had to drive straight through the chopped up beach....disgusting!!!

Disgraceful, they should have there cars taken away under the hooning laws!

Anyway the waters were fantastic. Did not take the rod this time unfortunately because there was some great fishing spots.
AnswerID: 215776

Follow Up By: Dizne - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:44
Cheers for the reply mate!

On Sunday, before they all left, that idiot in the orange ute was doing donuts while standing outside the open car door with one hand in the air and only one on the steering wheel!

We were all hoping he would slip-up and fall off and his car would go cruising into the ocean! Geez that would've been sweet!

Mick
FollowupID: 476073

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 00:07

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 00:07
I saw a video clip recently of some d!ckhead doing similar in a carpark, and suddenly he fell under the vehicle. The clip didn't show what happened after that apart from lots of people running up to help. Wouldn't have been in too good shape!
FollowupID: 476114

Reply By: porl - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:33

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:33
the d#hds suck big time, I heard last year it was supposed to be listed national park, surely that must give the rangers some powers. I hate that sh#t. I have a 2yhr old and i want to so want to take her up there and play in sand and fish and not have to get cut up by broken glass and kept up at night by w#nkers.

A 1.5m brownie (taipa or not?) well that's a story. Must have made you wonder what time did it come back and where were you and did you notice !!!
AnswerID: 215777

Follow Up By: Chris & Debbie - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:46

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:46
AFAIK the national park is only above the high tide mark but below that is actually a gazetted road, so the police can book these ppl under the anti-hooning law. Just give the police at rainbow a ring and they may make the effort to turn up.
FollowupID: 476077

Follow Up By: Dizne - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:46

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:46
Hey porl,

Luckily the snake didn't return!

I love 'em from a distance ... but hate 'em that close!

Mick
FollowupID: 476078

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 12:58
With all the noise the tools were making, they possibly kept the snake away. LOL
If we see someone doing the wrong thing, my missus casually walks over and takes a photo making sure she includes the numberplates. They generally get the message. If I were to do it, they would want a punch up but a little old lady will get away with it.

des
FollowupID: 476178

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:42
G'day Dizne, Yeah man glad you had a great time!
'Can anything be dine about these idiots?'
Yes, Yes did you take there number?, did you report it and their descriptions of cars?, number of people in the group?
Take a stand do something, report it and all the details to police, newspapers both national, state and local. Just do it ok!!!

andy

oh yeah! the snake, yeah! you'd probably camped on it's territory
AnswerID: 215781

Follow Up By: Dizne - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:56

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:56
Cheers for the reply Andy,

Mate, I didn't get their rego numbers unfortunately!

They were all out there with their video and still cameras and I thought at one stage that I should do the same and then use the tape to show the Rangers and/or Police, but honestly, we were all just trying as hard as we could to ignore the drop-kicks!

I was wondering if the Rangers, while doing their rounds checking if everyone had paid their camp fees on Saturday, may have taken their rego numbers and I could just describe the vehicles? (A couple were fairly noticeable ... clean metallic orange dual-cab ute (don't think it was a Hilux, maybe a Triton - not sure); white Landcruiser with yellow writing diagonally down the side (high at back/low at front).

And the snake ... do they have territories? And, if so, does that mean he was possibly still hanging around all weekend? *shivers*

Cheers mate,
Mick
FollowupID: 476083

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 23:32

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 23:32
Sorry to bag you but reeeeel close call on the snake?? so it slihered past you, big deal. It is this sort of comment that leads to anti snake paranoia as you tell your mates about your "brush with death"
I was walking around the ute when I heard a hiss and looked down and where my next step would have been was a King Brown. Thats not a close call it was. just telling me not to step on him. so I watched him do what they do best SLITHER AWAY
AnswerID: 215797

Follow Up By: Dizne - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 23:47

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 23:47
um ... ok, bit hot up in the Nor-west is it?
FollowupID: 476109

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 00:12

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 00:12
In perth at present and no it has been cold as all summer. But I have seen more than enough snake paranoia that has been used to justify chasing snakes 20 m off the road to kill them and splattering pythons etc etc - its just unjustified
FollowupID: 476116

Follow Up By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 11:23

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 11:23
Hi Davoe , i didnt think he had made that much of a big deal about the snake , he was just stating what had happened ...just my opinion ....cheers ....Dave
FollowupID: 476156

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:13

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:13
Well if the long handled shovel worked with the snake, maybe it coulda worked with the hoons... 0_o Personally, if ide been that close to a snake (and it wasnt in an enclosure), ida probably told it the same way too. Then again i dont see too many snakes.

Anand.
FollowupID: 476356