Deep Cycle no good says Autolec

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 12:47
ThreadID: 41299 Views:4723 Replies:21 FollowUps:25
All,
yes I have searched the forum without luck. I am about to replace both batteries in my LC100 and am after a good Aux battery to run all my electrical paraphernalia. This includes an 80lt Engel, 8lt waeco, laptop, camera chargers etc, 12v camp lighting and a few other bits and pieces which include a hair dryer to keep the missus happy on the long hauls :-)

My autolec has just told me I am wasting my time with deep cycle batteries as they do not like to be recharched.....and am wasting my time with any of the other variances of batteries.

He has suggested that I stick with the standard 70ah battery...........admittedly they are only 110 bucks but.....

Have I missed something here???

Toytruck

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:00

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:00
Hi there Toytruck, totally different to what my sparkie told me. Keep discharging and charging a normal battery and it will die in months. How true this is I have no idea, like you am only going what sparkie told me just before xmas when my dual battery controller bleep itself. I took the chance and ran everything off my normal battery for the week, same as you laptop, fridge, etc and didnt have any trouble starting the next day admittedly my waeo is only a 50L so wouldnt pull as much power as yours. Maybe speak to some one else from 4wd shop , but I am sure you will be informed on here on your requirements but sounds like crap to me ??? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 215875

Reply By: richopesto - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:02

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:02
heya,

"deep cycle batteries as they do not like to be recharched" (sic)

get a new car sparky?

thats just complete nonsense.

Im no electrical techy, but what he MAY have been inferring is the long charge required to restore deep cycle batteries to full capacity. Many normal car charging units go into 'float' before a deepcycle is truly recharged. If you have proper circuitry, this is not an issue. (Anything from a solar shop will suit, but not all parts designed to charge car batteries will.)

I had a (australian) link explaining all this, but I cant find it. you'll have to Google it yourself.

meanwhile, go see someone else who knows what their talking about. I got all my storage and charging from a solar shop, not autolec.

richo.
AnswerID: 215877

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:19

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:19
For what it is worth and for the items you intend to run of your second battery I would go a Deep Cycle, long slow draw is what a Deep Cycle loves. On the other hand if you intend on having a winch run from it, you will destroy it fairly quickly as a Deep Cycle cannot handle High current draw that is required for winching. If your running a winch and still want Deep Cycle characteristics then you should possibly look at a Hybrid, Deep cycle qualities with high CCA to handle winching........AGM batteries have a reputation of being good for this purpose.....Batteries is a bit of a black art....
AnswerID: 215879

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:20
I've only ever used cranking batterys as auxilliary. I guess it depends on how much you're gonna flatten the battery, and how often.
Most of our camps are overnite or 3 days max.- and a large capacity cranker is more than enough to run fridge and camp flouro, before a recharge with the engine.
The auxilliary is the same size & capacity as the cranker, so I switch them around about every 6 months, just to make em both work
Also, having the auxilliary as a cranker- it's there as a back up if the main one dies (to crank the engine or excessive winching etc). I understand DeepCycle don't like high discharge??
Mine are rated at 710 CCA (wot's that in AmpHours I dunno)
AnswerID: 215880

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:28

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:28
710 CCA is Cold Cranking Amps, its the rating of highest draw from the battery when it is "cold" and heat affects its capacity to deliver current.

CCA has nothing to do with amp-hours.

FollowupID: 476234

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:39

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:39
Very good Mr. "B", must have eaten ALL your weeties this morning hahaha

Normal as far as I know a good cranking battery has about 48 a/h, I stand here and wait to be corrected, with EO rifle fire, but they probably vary anyway.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 476239

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:42

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:42
hahahahahah Pesto I do know stuff about electricity, yer right as a rule of thumb but the a-h rating varies with all batts

FollowupID: 476241

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:18

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:18
"just to make em both work" is a complete misnomer.

The worst thing you can do for battery life is to work them. They are not racehorses. The less the discharge, the longer they last.
FollowupID: 476291

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:12

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:12
G'day Jimbo
The reason I rotate the battery is that as the auxilliary is not utilised for about 6 months of the year, my theory is that by regular cycling does condition the battery.
The system has worked for me for about 20 years with no dire effects.

Bonz,
I appreciate there is no direct realationship between CCA and AH. However, even cranking battering do have an AH capacity.
FollowupID: 476403

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:09

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:09
yes it certainly does Signman, I wasnt casting aspertions on your ah mention just elucidating on CCA

FollowupID: 476521

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:30

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:30
Deep Cycle is the way to go for the purpose you describe. Within deep cycles, I prefer AGM batteries. A bit more expensive, but there a many benefits. Som good easy to understnad reading on them here.

www.fridge-and-solar.net/agm.htm

Some other good info on this site as well. No relationship, just a very satisfied customer.
AnswerID: 215881

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:12

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:12
As I understand it, AGM is the way to go but

1. You have to change both the main and auxiliary to AGM at same time
2. They cost a heap

I've always used a Federal Deep Cycle battery as auxiliary with 2-3 years life, but on the basis of experience so far with the caravan battery I reckon I'll try a marine one next time.

Try this link for info on AGM Site Link

Max
FollowupID: 476251

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:21
Max, there is no need to change cranking battery to AGM. This was advise widely given some years ago, but doesn't seem to be the case now that AGMs are more common and better understood. I run the cranking battery that came with the Hilux. I also run a standard wet call (Federal) deep cycle in the engine bay. I then have two 120 AH AGMs, one in the back of the Hilux and one in the CT. Been set up this way for just under two years and it works well.

The only issue that I know of with mixing AGMs and normal wet cells is that the AGM will accept a high charge current. If your AGMs are run down, most of the charge may go to them initially at the expense of the other batteries (including the cranking battery). If worried about that use a voltage sensing isolator like a Redarc or one of the other more expensive ones. I haven't found this a problem, but if you tend to do short drives in succession, it could be.

AGMs are more expensive than your standard wet cells, but you can get a 120 AH for around $260, which isn't too bad. I reckon it is money well spent anyway.
FollowupID: 476277

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 02:06

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 02:06
The Cranking battery only takes a short period of time to fully recharge because it is only used for about 4 seconds to start the vehicle if petrol and a bit longer in a diesel.

The full charge is put into the Aux battery (only) in 'independent' battery isolators after the Cranking battery is fully charged, however the two batteries are in fact wired together as one battery and this is how the vehicle regulator sees them when the "solenoid" (smart or dumb) or the average 'battery isolator' connects the two batteries together.

The two batteries instantly 'equalise' when the battery isolator joins them, and the charge is accepted by each battery differently due to their different internal resistance caused by different construction methods.

AGM's will accept the charge heaps faster than any conventional cranking battery solely due to their very low internal resistance.

With the correct battery isolator you can run a DC Cranker battery and an AGM Aux battery system with-out any problems.
FollowupID: 479182

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:31

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:31
I use 2 x 720cca, 90 a/h sealed lead acid calcium batteries in the cruiser and another one in the camper when thats plugged in, through an anderson plug.
They are all identical which i think is one of the secrets.
They are connected together without a battery isolator system.
The fridge cuts out at about 12v, so always heaps left in there for starting if they get that low, but generally i try not to let them get below about 12.2 v.
I have a permenant digi voltage readout mounted in the dash which goes 24/7 so i can see the state of the batterys at all times, as i have a 110 waeco running 24/7, and this consumes much power especially in the hot weather.
I have a jaycar 3 stage 12 amp charger hard wired into the system and I just plug it in every night to maintain them at there best, despite what running i have done for the day, i always start the day recharged.
When you have a heavy draw load running in your rig 24/7 you become very battery contious, as a matter of habit.
They have been going now for 12 months and all ok so far, but I dont expect to get a long life out of them, maybe 2 years tops, but they are reasonably priced.
I was concerned that so much charging may dry them out and they cant be refilled, but my battery man told me that the manufacturer had done a test where they flattened one down to 11.4v and charged it up again, 400 times without loss of acid, and besides he said, if they dont last they have a 2 year warranty, bring it back and I will replace it NP. I think he is interested to see how they last as well, knowing what i am doing to them.
We nearly alway camp as a group at which one of us will have a genny (a quiet one LOL ) ( they also work when its cloudy LOL ) going or if on our own i always have one on board just incase i need it or are staying for more than 24 hrs.
This may not suit your needs, but its what i do and it works for me.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 215882

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:01

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:01
Pesty,
Where did you get the 12v digi volt meter from? I have tried Dick Smith, jaycarand radio parts but cannot find one.

Rob
FollowupID: 476202

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:35

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:35
Hi Rob

A mate got them for us from the 12v shop at Strathalbyn here in SA, but I dont know the name of the shop or the gauge off hand.
Send me an email and I will give you the email addy of the mate who got them for us, he will remember who and what, my addy is in my profile.
Unless Roachie see's this, he may remember.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 476235

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:38

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:38
Jaycar has got a couple of different types

FollowupID: 476237

Reply By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:35

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:35
Hi Toytruck,

First let me say that I'm no battery expert - but I did do some research before installing a dual battery system and a battery in my camper-trailer. For the type of use you have described it would be hard to go past an AGM battery, they take deep discharges better than conventional and deep cycle batteries, and recharge a lot faster. On the down side they are more expensive, and when at home are best recharged by a 3 stage charger (also expensive).

If you search for AGM or dual battery you will find a ton of info on this forum. Try this link as a starter. www.fridge-and-solar.net/agm.htm

Jezza

AnswerID: 215884

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:57

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:57
Others have already covered the question of deep cycle V's cranking batteries - for your applications (except one of them!) I agree that deep cycle is the way to go.

The one exception - NO HAIRDRYERS!!!!!! A hairdryer run through an inverter will typically require 50 to 100 amps at 12volts, which is not far short of the current used by the starter or a winch. You will need to run the engine while hair drying and even with the alternator contributing, you are asking a lot of the battery, especially a deep cycle one.

I suspect that your auto electrician may have been answering a different question, but I'd be looking for different sparky anyway. (The solution to SWMBO and the hairdryer may require a more sensitive solution!)

AnswerID: 215887

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:36

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:36
Ummmm!!! Leave her home?? :-)

FollowupID: 476198

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:43
no 2 cut? And a beany

FollowupID: 476242

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:08

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:08
Hey Toytruck

Cant help but I do have a question. Have you any figures re power consuption of your 80l engel. I am thinking of buying the 80lt cf model and although engel state 0.5-4.5ah I was just wondering if you had any real figures.

AnswerID: 215889

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:20

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:20
Ozdragon,
not with me but when I get home can digem out.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 476192

Follow Up By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:25

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:25
Much appreciated thanks

FollowupID: 476194

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:55

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:55
Ozdragon,
found it. My MT80F-G4C-S _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx up to the 4.5 amps as stated in the book. This was fully loaded and fairly hot day I think it was about the mid 30's so even hotter in the back of the Toy. I have not exceeded this...........yet.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 476199

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:28

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:28
Ozdragon,
I stuffed up, which is very unusual for me.....I'm never wrong thought I was once but I wasn't.

My highest is 4.2 and the book says 4.5.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 476209

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:31

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:31
Sounds to me like typical 12v rubbish.

One side will tell you his advice is total rubbish and that you are wasting money etc etc , yet plenty of people do exactly as this bloke says , with no problems. So ? Who is correct ?

Never fails me that so called "experts" can never seem to REALLY agree when it comes to 12v.

What to do ?

What are you comfortable with and what is your budget ?

As I said , and I think it was Pesty above , PLENTY of folks use the same cranking battery for both main and aux. Most will change between them regularily to keep them in good order.

Me . . . I have a Deep Cycle as my Aux battery in my CT.

Why ? Sounded good at the time , and the price was right.
AnswerID: 215895

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:57

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:57
flappa,
it's an interesting argument aint it :-)
FollowupID: 476200

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:06

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:06
Absolutely.

It just craps me to tears , and it happens on EVERY forum . . . anytime a 12v topic comes up , all the "experts" come out to play.

I'm NOT saying they are incorrect , heck , I'm not an auto sparky , BUT , and this is MY point . . . these "experts" will often say . . . this advice is total rubbish and it should be done my way , as I'm the expert . . . really. Then why do people run "other" systems , usually successfully , if YOUR system is the only good system.

Stuff that . . . get sick of 12v experts.

Good for guidance only ; )
FollowupID: 476204

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:36

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:36
Flappa,

I totally agree though it isn't just the 12volt world, this goes for everything. People give advice freely on stuff they have never owned, driven or even seen and just pass on stuff they heard from some Jo Bob at the pub........Sometimes makes it difficult to get the good accurate oil sometimes.......
FollowupID: 476212

Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:35

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:35
I am no accredited expert, but it is my belief that the problem in using a deep cycle in a car is that when flat, a deep cycle initially needs a low rate of charge until up to 11.5 or so volts or the numerous plates will warp.
Of course a car alternator tries to whack high charge into a flat battery.
So it is the characteristics of the charging system in a car that is the problem.
Deep cycles love solar as they only get a small rate of charge.
I have tried Spiral cell Optima, which leaked after 4years, and now have a 95 A/H AGM which is N70 ZZ size. I am very happy with it as it takes quick charge and is good for slow drain, or can be used for winching. I am told they do not like engine heat but mine is Ok after a year.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 215896

Reply By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:57

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 14:57
Toytruck,
I have been using an Exide extreme n70 as an auxillary battery in my 80 series for 4 years now. It runs through a Piranha dual battery management system although I recently upgraded the Piranha to the latest DBE180s+ system. Never had a problem. Running waeco cf40 of it which will run for about 4.5days before the low batt kicks in, also running a waeco 8lt cooler, uhf, IPF Spots, rear camp light and 200watt inverter . I had a Powercrank battery originally but it fell apart internally causing the cells to boil over making a mess (never buy one of them, you can squeeze them and hear the thing bubble away).
I also use an Exide Extreme as the starting battery and that one has been in the car for 6.5 years now.
I also heard that with deep cycle ones they need to be fully discharged reguarly and then fully charged which in a vehicle can take anywhere from 4-8 hours.
Rob
AnswerID: 215901

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:14

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:14
My experience with deep cycle batteries (NOT "AGMs"), has not been too good and I've vowed I won't have one again (for the type of travelling we do at any rate). My understanding of a true deep cycle battery is that they were designed for things like "go-fors" (old people's preferred mode of transport). In this scenario they are great. Pop or Nan plugs the go-for into the 240volt socket in their front room overnight using the dedicated power supply unit. Next morning they have a fully charged battery and can hare-off round town, to the bowlo and post office etc. After a full day of low-current, constant draw, they rock up back at home and re-plug into the 240 volts again. Too easy!!!

In a 4x4 it's a bit different. You're asking the alternator to re-charge the battery during the day (in most instances) while you are on the run and it is still powering-up the fridge and other gear. The alternator is NOT capable of bringing the battery up to 100% during the course of the day. Over an extended period of time (weeks or months) of being on the road, the DC will eventually (and prematurely) kark-it.

However, there is one possible solution to this which I don't profess to know a lot about, but am trying to learn about. The Arrid Twin Charger is (apparently) a great device. It is like a "normal" battery charger with 20amp output, but uses 12 volt input instead of 240 volts. It may be that this type of charger might be capable of fully charging a DC battery during a day's driving. The new rig I just bought a few months ago, has one of these in it and I'm still trying to ascertain what it's capabilities are.

Hope this helps....
AnswerID: 215904

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:52

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:52
Roachie, energy is a funny thing, it can't be generated out of nothing, all that happens is it changes form. So wind energy changes to electrical via a windmill etc etc etc. In a car the energy is in the fuel, thru the engine and thru the alternator to the batteries etc. So an alternator will put out say 80 amps and to recharge a betteryu you are right you will have to add something else like an arrid charger to belt more amps into the batteries IF the alternator can supply the amps. If u are already sucking 80 amps out of the alternator and u switch something else on then it comes out of the batteries.

Unless this Arrid unit is seperately plumbed under the bonnet, like another alternator, then the limiting factor may be your alternator. We used to have 240v alternators under the bonnets of the work vehicles and these could be use for welding too as well as powering a seperate charger during the time the car is running. I might have to google arrid twin charger.

FollowupID: 476245

Reply By: ooze - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:27

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:27
Check out exide web site, or prob any other batt maker. just read in faq's there about deep cycle batts and their uses. It'd be interesting to see if the companies all hold the same view. All the best.
AnswerID: 215906

Reply By: japmel - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:52

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:52
I guess the first question should be, Are you intending to isolate the two Batteries from each other or are you going to leave them as they are (Parallel using both Batteries to start the Cruiser)
I only ask because it's not to clear in your original post.

Your answer to this could change a few things.

japmel
AnswerID: 215913

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:10

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:10
Toytruck,
Theres a reason why wet cell deep cycle batteries only come with a 6 month warranty.
If you're driving every day, then twin cranking batteries is a good option.
I now parallel mine permanently, but thats another story :-)))

phil
AnswerID: 215922

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:17

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:17
Hey Toy',
I am an Electrician and ended up going cheap- just to see what happened. I purchased an Apollo Yuasa 96 Amp hour from Apollo Batteries in Seven Hills NSW for $165.00 and fitted a Piranha battery controller. I run a Waeco CF50 and an Led light. In Summer I can set up camp and not start the car for four days (car windows partially open with partial shade) Minimum. I have had the same battery for four years now and has only needed a top up of water. As for charging, All I did was buy a Projecta CHARGE AND MAINTAIN 6amp charger to top the battery when 240v was around.(Caravan park for clothes washing on the way to the next possy') With a nice days driving to my next port of call it has always charged well off the alternator in my patrol and am actually a bit dissapointed that I haven't had a problem with lack of 12v( was keen on getting solar to play with) power. I think you should look for another energy source for some of your needs (reduce 12v appliances) Or consider spending some big bucks on solar. (to keep some of the power you need going back into the battery) Remember the fridge will not pull as much power over a 12 hr period at night as apposed to the day when you could have solar panel or panels replacing what the fridge uses. At the end of the day you need to work out how long you really need the auxillary power to last before you can properly ascertain what combination of power generation would best suit.

Hope this helps,
AnswerID: 215939

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:05

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:05
Oop's forgot to add that the Apollo Yuasa Battery IS a deep cycle wet cell unit!
AnswerID: 215955

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:19

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:19
sssh....must be something better to talk about thant batteries
AnswerID: 215959

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:42

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:42
Err ,tennis anyone ??
FollowupID: 476264

Reply By: Harrow - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:56

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 19:56
Hi Toy Truck

After 20 yrs of Aux baterys and many destroyed, a lot depends on your battery usage patterns, charging system, and battery location.

Unfortunatly all those that swear by this or that do not spend the tine to qualify their comments at to their usage patterns etc as above and this is critical !

I Have Destroyed that many lead acid deep cycles its not funny

Most aux batteries do nothing for 2 months, but not 100% charged by car charging system, then gets flogged on a camping trip cause you parked your arse for 3 days in 1 spot, deep discharged to 10%SOC then rapidly charged on the way home.
Only to be repeated in a few months time.

One I put in new, used the veh as a commuter for 6 months, then went camping and had to buy a new one on the way out of town?.
With Deep Cycle for good life needs
1) Slow charge
2) Slow discharge
3) Not below DOD 55% charged
4) Fully recharge and a nice float (most veh will not fully recharge 95% maybe depending on Veh but 100% nah
They would last better if they were continually floated by solar etc.
Or if you were camping 1 night and moving on as not over discharge each day then not so bad.

for most of us the reality is, we do the ignore then cane our battery method

Now ask the hard question what max DOD (Depth of discharge) is recommended for good life, The last time I last asked for the hard figures was told to 55% Charged for a Deep cycle and for a normal Starter was 65% charged )

Wow pick op 10%

So look at the math

100AH at 95% SOC (by car), with 55% max reccomended DOD if you want some reasonable sort of life= 40 usable AH and I thought it was an 100AH deep cycle battery !
With a starter while its DOD is worse in my experience under these conditions it handles the abuse better.

My preference is a Delkor Calcium Starter or Marine, as they also have good underbonnet heat tolerance

The other choice is definatly the AGM with 1 provision, not under the bonnett of long distance travellers, heat and long periods at high charge voltages will cook them.

If you travel up the coast 3 hours then camp for a few days then go home then fine

If you want to travel arround Aus in 4 weeks with big days then you will stuff them quick.

Had 3 under the bonnet of the Cruiser 100 series
(I am often behind the wheel for >10hrs)
1) Odessy stufffed in 9 months
2) 2x Lifelines both stuffed in 12 months

Wellll! thats blown a thousand bucks

Gave up and went back to the delkor

Otherwise AGM great battery Good # of cycles at high Depth of discharge , low internal resistance so recharge them quickly, but it is the low internal resistance that counts them out as a long distance driver under the bonnet battery

Because as the Batt temp rises charge voltage needs to be lowered then after the batt is fully charged needs to be floated at 13.2V @ 25oC at 55-60oC float voltage needs to be much lower (Yes tested the temp in despiration)
Most modern Veh charge at approx 14V pop in a few drives From Brissy to Rocky without an Over Night cool down and its taking a hammering

So

What are you usage patterns, battery location and charging methods / voltages
AnswerID: 215986

Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:56

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:56
Harrow, did you make a warranty claim on the Lifelines?
FollowupID: 476578

Follow Up By: Harrow - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 22:31

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 22:31
Hi Karl

The 1st was after about 2 months delay

The second didnt bother lost interest in AGM under the bonnet

Harrow

FollowupID: 477580

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 01:37

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 01:37
My 2c worth - go the best of both worlds - Delkor m27 marine battery, n70zz size. Really well built, can stand for a very long time, doesnt mind the odd bad discharge, and always seems to charge up fully. And you get leak proof sealed and aux posts as a bonus. About $ 140 odd last time i looked.
AnswerID: 218929