blundstone gooone

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 15:57
ThreadID: 41311 Views:1948 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
just heard on the news that another aussie icon has gone over to thailand and india. they used to make a good boot. wonder who is next. cheers

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:01

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:01
always preferred Rossi's myself ;)

Seriously, that is a shame, slowly, we seem to be losing little parts of ourselves (as a nation) to globalisation and at the power of the mighty dollar

next thing toy koalas and kangaroos will be made in china!!
AnswerID: 215916

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:10

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:10
Hi Mike:

: )

You've already missed the boat on the toy koalas and kangaroos. Was strolling around Cairns a few months back and that was all they had... made in China. they looked the same, though : s

Thank heavens we still have the Harbour Bridge here in Sydney.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 476217

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:13

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:13
Go REDBACK boots-still Made in Oz....
AnswerID: 215923

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:18

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:18
I still wear a pair of Blunnie steel caps that I rekon must be nearly 5 years old and possibly done a few hundre thousand K's. If I go buy 4 or five pair of Ozi made Blunnies tomorrow I should be right for the next 20 years :-)

Toytruck

AnswerID: 215924

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:23

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:23
Still Aussie owned though isn't it?

They're just making them overseas now.

The Labour market is pretty tight here at the moment. Can't blame them really. People can pick and choose were they want to work.

AnswerID: 215926

Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:39

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 16:39
not sure on ownership, but 300 jobs in tassie is a lot.
FollowupID: 476225

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:41

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:41
Not sure what your knowledge of the footwear industry is but boot making is a trade . Where would you suggest these people go to find another job in the trade?
FollowupID: 476263

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:22

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:22
Yes boot making is a trade if you do it completely by hand. Blundstones, like all the others, are mass produced on a production line.
FollowupID: 476357

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:06

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:06
A production line does not mean no skills or rule out the trade.
FollowupID: 476378

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:04

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:04
I'm sure they were just waiting for their Powerball to come in anyway.

FollowupID: 476461

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:40

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:40
Gday Handy,
Bit wet out there mate?
Yeh I wont buy them again!
I heard the reason for going off shore was for the cheap labour, not lack of labour.
I suppose now you'll get a courtesy call from telsta and a Blundstone add at the same time!
AnswerID: 215964

Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:46

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:46
bit wet hairy.
just imagine talking to telstra and them asking while your waiting would you like a pair off boots
FollowupID: 476265

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:38

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:38
they were talking of this at least 3 years back, now its sadly true..

used to love blundstone socks if i could find them, saw some the other week in safeway - hmmmm cotton not wool and made in china :-((

was at rays the other week, found some Merino Feet i think they were called, made in melb and damn comfy...were pricey but geez first impressions are i'll be back for many more.

SUPPORT AUSSIE PRODUCT !!

rant over..

wait no its not - re- jobs comment, the current environment is an absolute field day for employers, skilled employees are being driven down all over the country and if you cant afford to take their low pay offers then they all cry "skills shortage" and the govt hands out 457 visas like tic tacs........There is no skills shortage in aust - its the biggest hoodwink around....

rant over - i promise :-)
AnswerID: 216072

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:34

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:34
Agree with your sentiments on working environment. I spent 5 years at Uni, work crap shift work including public holidays etc, have big HECS debt and get bleep ty pay.

Just waiting for this EB agreement to end and go onto individual contracts when i will no doubt lose shift and weekend penalty rates and some sick/annual leave. I will be leaving my skilled job in a hospital to drive trucks in a quarry for twice the pay! Many blokes from hospitals are already doing this, the work is boring but the pay is great.

Skills shortage? There are other reasons. Did you hear about the dentist in a rural town who left his practice to do unskilled work in the mines for the money? I'm sure there are many other examples.

My 2cents
Barnesy
FollowupID: 476449

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:31

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:31
Barnsey ,

Surely if you are in a union / association , and your EBA is running out , you are not automatically forced to take indevidual AWA's ??

Glenn.
FollowupID: 476600

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 02:21

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 02:21
Glenn, no i don't think i will be automatically forced onto an AWA. I can either stay on these pay rates and conditions for the rest of my career, or eventually i will have to go onto an indivdual contract. My employer can offer an AWA at any time and who knows what legal bollocks that entails. Would I be overlooked for a promotion if many others have signed AWA?

That's the whole point of these new IR laws, to end collective bargaining by the unions on behalf of their members. You can still be a member of a union, but their power to negotiate for workers is severely reduced to almost nothing.

There are 5 "guarunteed" clauses that all new AWA contracts must abide by 'by law', mind you from the figures i've read something like 85% of them leave out at least one with about 40% not having 3 of them. These 5 conditions can be so called 'negotiated' out or simply omitted.

If the potential employee doesn't like the contract they have two options, 1) don't take the job, 2) go and see a lawyer and prosecute the employer for leaving out some of the 5 clauses. Either way the cards are stacked heavily in favour of the employer.

To be honest for the amount of money i get paid, the amount of hard work i did at Uni it's easier to just bugger it off and go for the money, despite being skilled and in demand in current job. If you're getting well paid you don't care so much about other things.
FollowupID: 476641

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:16

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:16
Probably one advantage of an AWA is that you are going ok at work you could probably negotiate a pay increase, Im not real full bottle on it , do they expire or is it for the life of your job.

FollowupID: 476868