dj386
This is my first
forum post. Discovered this site three days ago and have lived in it since. My wife and I are in the process of buying a family 4WD and because of budget, are considering a dx 100 series and wondering if anyone knows or has had experience fitting genuine GXL rear seating. I've contacted Toyota Spares who sent me to Customer Relations who sent me back to spares who said to find someone with the car and look for yourself. Has anyone tried to do this?
Reply By: aeiou - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:06
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:06
Try a search.
I have read similar threads not so long ago.
Becareful, this site is addictive! Enjoy.
Follow Up By: luch - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:10
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:10
How very True !
addictive indeed
Its like a daily hit
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:15
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:15
I would suggest that you check with your state registration authority or motoring association as to the legallity of doing that.
A GXL (in NSW anyway) is registered as having a certain seating capacity and so has a DX and I am not to sure but I would imagine that a DX seating capacity is at least 1 or 2 less than a GXL
If you remove the seats and the seatbelts in NSW I think you have to have a new blue slip issued by an engineer and then have the vehicle reclassified by the RTA to make it legal, and I am sure that it would be the same when you are adding seats.
Just adding seats and seatbelts without going through the proper process will almost make the vehicle illegal in any state I would imagine.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:07
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:07
Actually, if you remove and replace seats and belts from a car using normal hand tools, ie no welding,grinding etc then all is ok (with a reduced seating capacity of course).
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:31
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:31
As far as I know it is going to be very hard for you to legally do this.
First, you have to get the parts - which might not be so bad - you need a Wrecker's Yard like Land Cruiser Spares in Brissy. My mate told me last night that his dual-cab ute got that way by having the back of the GXL cut off, which he sold for just $1,500 which is cheap as ... expect to pay every bit of that for the nuts and bolts, belts, trim and seats that you need to get it together. You'd be amazed how much trim is involved.
Then you have to hope that all the bolt holes are in the right
places - I would think they are, but with the
barn door setup, who knows what else gets changed ...
Then you need an engineer to
sign off that everything is hunky dory by the ADRs and that will be expensive ...
All in all, lots of things are possible, but not too many are sensible. This is one of those.
Just buy a GXL to start with ... and who wants split rums anyways?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:32
Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:32
Maybe you confused the Tojo folks ... a DX is Nissonese for "Standard"
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:59
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:59
Andrew, I am a bit confused by your follow up. The original post says "are considering a dx 100 series", however you seem to suggest that the DX is a Nissan. Is this correct, because I am pretty sure that a "100 series" is a Toyota and not a Nissan.
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:21
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:21
Thanks Andrew, I get the drift of your reply now.
I must admit that I did not pick up on that little detail, however, I did know that the original post was referring to a non GXL 100 series cruiser.
Well done.
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:10
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:10
When I bought my 100s, some paperwork referred my std wagon as a DX (insurance,rego)
Reply By: Grumpy in WA - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:55
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:55
Hi DJ386,
I have a DX Landcruiser and find the six seats adequate. If you are not in a hurry you can pick up the 3rd row of
seat on ebay fairly cheap. Lots ditch them when the install rear drawer systems. Perhaps the person you buy off would sell you the
seat belts too, just an idea. The back of my LC looks like it has all the floor fittings for the seats but the
seat belt fittings are hidden behind the trim.
Perhaps go to a few car years and check it out for yourself.
Not sure what state you are in but if you are in NSW call the RTA, their tech guys are very helpful and can put you in touch with an automotive enginner who can cert. your car if you do this mod. If you put 16x8 rims on your car then you will also need a new tyre placard too, not many do this but its illegal to put GXL rims on in NSW if you don't. No dramas overhere in WA.
If you are buying second hand you will find many DX cruisers have had a hard life compared to their GXL counterparts, most GXL's being used for school runds etc. A slightly older GXL may be preferable to be newer DX model. And the DX is only available with diesel, pertrol GXL's are a lot cheaper so work out how long you want to keep the vehicle for and how many kms you will do and see if the extra $$ for the diesel is worth it.
Bit long winded, sorry about that but gives you a few things to thinks about.
Reply By: spliney - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:19
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:19
DJ386
I bought a Standard 100 series second-hand in 2001. It had been optioned up by the dealer
Billabong 4WD in
Redcliffe, QLD, to include GXL wheels, side rails, tinted windows, dust-deflector, bull-bar etc. The only other thing I wanted included was the third row of seats.
Billabong was able to arrange installation. Non-genuine but new, trimmed to my choice of fabric, fully complianced etc. The new compliance plate shows the vehicle as a 9 -seater.
Wasn't cheap, but if you are in QLD and that's the way you want to go, ring
Billabong and I'm sure they'd provide the contact. Or get back to me - I may have some paperwork at home.
Spliney.
Reply By: dj386 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:08
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:08
Just got back on and I'm overwhelmed!!! Thanks so much for all your feedback and helpful suggestions. Will check myself when I finalise on a vehicle, but it is good to know there is a strong possibility it will be doable. I am keeping my eyes open to look at one, but in the town I live in there are not many Standard Cruisers around. Have got the details of the RTA guys and will give them a ring. If I find anything new, I'll let you all know.
Hope you have a ripper day
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:46
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:46
dj,
If you are in
Brisbane, give someone like BrisVans at Coopers Plains/Springwood area a call. I had them fit a second row
seat to a 2 seater no probs at all. Everyone else was saying too hard, not worth it ect ect. End of story, my 2 seater is now a 4 seater no hassles at all.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:30
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:30
And to think that I had 2 sets of the 3rd row seats ( have had 2 x 80 series) and they were only just picked up today by the dealer that I traded my old 80 series with.
Not that they would fit the 100 series, but no matter how hard I tried to sell them on ebay or on this site, no one wanted them at all.
They were next to worthless as used parts, even the wreckers didnt want them, but go to Mr Toyota and ask how much to buy and the price I was quoted was around $700 per
seat plus all the hardware to fit them, plus the seatbelts.
Its a strange world at times.