Aussie workwear - following on from boots.

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 03:02
ThreadID: 41339 Views:4822 Replies:11 FollowUps:25
OK - after a few posts about blunnies etc. i'm firing on all 1 cylinders.. LOL.

What i want to know is does anyone make workwear in aus anymore??

Why i ask is i know yakka is all china now, and the bisley gear they give us at work is the worst chinese shiza you could imagine.. and the other week i headed down to can't tear em in melb to get some gear for me and the FIL. because i knew they were good aussie gear. Well i got there at their factory to find its all china now, had to dig through the piles of our sizes and found a few of the very last aussie made articles they had, snapped em up and was on my way..

So we have worked out rossi is the go for boots - now who do i go to for pants / shirts etc ??

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 06:27

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 06:27
What about Rivers for boots??

Kev

AnswerID: 216078

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 06:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 06:36
China
FollowupID: 476374

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:40

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:40
Yup after standing there in the store and watching the vidieo of these aussies making high quality footwear in australia I bought a pair. When they promptly fell apart I was bagging australian manafacturing when some one said naaa they are made in China........................ A quick check of the label shows this to be true
FollowupID: 476440

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:02

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:02
RMW still make jeans and a few work shirts in AUS. Just need to check the labels when buying.
AnswerID: 216084

Follow Up By: Black Beard - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:14

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:14
Yeah, and take out a loan before you can afford any of RM's stuff.
FollowupID: 476379

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:44

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:44
ABSOLUTELY MATE :). I never said i could afford it lol
FollowupID: 476380

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:17

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:17
at the last rmw sale couple weeks back the amount of shirts Made in China for disposal amazed me, considering I thought RMW was only Oz made stuff
FollowupID: 476391

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:32

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:32
Poor old RM would be rolling in his grave if he knew what they're doing to his business now ,
And I keep getting howled down when I say the unions are just pricing themselves out of a job and this trend will continue if workers don't stop the demands and the stupid slack Ar#e ideas , and the excessive claims , strikes , and over the top benefits , My Mum didn't get any Maternity leave when I was born or any other Mums from that Era, I'm not we should go back to those ways although sometimes I wonder, Now we all know where the Car manufactureing industry is going in our don't we , Mitsubishi is propped up by the Gov't , that's not going to last and just wait and see GMH will close at Elizebeth and in Vic and move to Thialand, It's only a matter of time, Mack could go the same way

FollowupID: 476439

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:05

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:05
ditto doug
workers want too much.....(so do some CEO's)
we? all cant expect as much as the guy down the road who drives a ferrari, lives in a mansion, and own a 60foot yacht...can we...but a lot do!...
we all can if the government gives us 20 weeks leave a year and protects all industries with tarrifs on imports....lol
FollowupID: 476445

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:58

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:58
LOL you guys are grouse.. lets throw a few more irons in the fire - 20 odd years back the percentage of annual earnings into mortgage was around 30% nowdays its 50-55%

australia enters "free trade agreements " with countries who have the most heavily tarrifed and protected industries and primary production - while leaving us wide open to the slaughter.

In the last couple of decades only 2 countries in the world have had their real minimum wage go backwards (taking into account inflation etc) number 1 is the USA with around 50% reduction, number 2 is AUSTRALIA with around 30%. NOW lets look at the money splashed around at the other end of the scale shall we LOL....macquarie bank boss - $58,000 a day !!!!

I overhaul and maintain 8 million dollar engines, we do it at a cost less than international companies who use asian labour, we are responsible for hundreds of thousands of lives a year, and i have to do shift work and overtime to earn the same as a receptionist in an office who is straight out of high school :-(((( Dont get me wound up - i wont stop LOL..

take care guys, Brad
FollowupID: 476459

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:18

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:18
Bradley
You make it look so good , maybe it is ,I'm self employed , but if it is as good as you say then why is all our industries moving overseas, Don't get me wrong here , I would much rather buy Australian than crap made in China, I would much rather buy Waikerie Oranges than Californian , Riverland Dried fruit than muck from Turkey, Is it not a shame we don't build our own 4X4 because oh boy would it be ripper, Made in Australia for Australian conditions.

FollowupID: 476463

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:36
Bradley,

you said "20 odd years back the percentage of annual earnings into mortgage was around 30% nowdays its 50-55%"

Houses have also gone up in size in the last 20 years, from an average of 160sqm. to 240sq.m. Plus most people landscape and buy new furniture, and the latest electircal gear like wide screen TVs and computers. Think we may be just ahead now, not behind if you adjust for those differences :o) Reduce your loan, build a house of the 70s. One car garage, 3 bedrooms, one bathroom, no studies or family areas, smaller kitchen and lounge area.
FollowupID: 476467

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:16

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:16
So the $16.50 an hour that the qualified boot maker gets is asking too much??? Give me a break.
FollowupID: 476504

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:43

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:43
Bradley...."and i have to do shift work and overtime to earn the same as a receptionist in an office who is straight out of high school"...? dont pull my leg!

I agree oldplodder..is it any wonder we want want want.

And Brew..16.50/hr...sign of the times I guess ...if we cant manufacture same product for expected retail sale price companies will/must go off shore.....alternative? robotics but still loss off jobs

can you offer a better solution?

do WE always buy Australian????...no...so some things eg manufacture must either get more efficient or go by the wayside.....along with employees..its a catch 22 situation......everyone is chasing the $$$$$$$$ and never become satisfied with what they have...and why not...Greed or do we need to keep up with jones's
FollowupID: 476515

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:31

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:31
I have lost a few drafting jobs to India, Indonesia and Vietnam.
Been happening now for about 10 years.
The companies over there charge US $5.00/hr, so I don't know what they are paying thier workers.
Easy to do to, everything is done by email.

So I have to offer a better service, and provide a better product, so the end cost is not too much more.

As said above, some of that work comes back poorly done. But some is quite good.

One advantage I have is being able to site measure and make a product to suit, to Aussie standards.
Big worry is India. Already working to british standards and they speak english.

I do try and buy aussie made.

Who buys century Yuasa batteries? Some made locally. Was working on a plant upgrade in Brisbane. Ended up they built the 'extension' in Indonesia.

Happening all over the place. I just have to pull my belt in a little to compete. At least I have a choice and a little control over my future.

As No. 1 says, who isn't chasing the cheapest price for that tool or part?
FollowupID: 476540

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:57

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:57
Sure can. Protect our manufacturing industry by increasing not decreasing tarrifs on imported goods. Free trade agreements = job losses and the death of manufacturing in this country.
FollowupID: 476560

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:22

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:22
Brew......that does not work!
putting on unresonable tarrifs to keep out products of other countries to save jobs + increasing workers pays = less exports from OZ ....we will eventually go banckrupt....and then the chinese can just walk in lol
FollowupID: 476649

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:27

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:27
I never said unreasonable tarrifs. In the last 10 years the tarrifs have come down to almost 0. Its funny that in the same 10 years that most of the manufacturing has gone off shore. A reasonable rate is whats required imo.
FollowupID: 476853

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:22

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 08:22
Where's Oliver boots made, thought they were made in Mildura or somewhere.Much much better boot then blunnies ever were.
AnswerID: 216092

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:41

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:41
I dont care where they are made - damn comfortable boot
FollowupID: 476441

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:36
Nick
oliver made in ballarat victoria
fozzy
FollowupID: 476574

Follow Up By: aka - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:51

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:51
I worked in the concrete industry for 30 years there is no doubt oliver are a better boot they are more comfortable and last longer . We never got 12 months out of blundies always got 18 months to 2 years out of OLIVER
FollowupID: 476576

Reply By: keepingitreal - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:41

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:41
Boots - Taipan by Highmark, made in Melbourne Australia !!! Kirsten (NSW)
AnswerID: 216110

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 11:43
Rossi & Redback- both Aussie made
AnswerID: 216129

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:06

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:06
You won't find many workwear made in OZ now. How could they compete?

As aussie workers we won't turn up for anything less than 7 paid public holidays, long service leave entitlements, 4 weeks paid annual leave with 17.5% loading, meal allowances, overtime, work clothing provided yada yada yada

Yeah I know there's nothing wrong with that, but asian workers don't get any of that, and there is the crux of the matter.

Australians will never accept lower wages and conditions so we are cutting this country out of oportunities.

I am a wage earner myself, so I don't want anything less than I get now, but that's how I see the situation.

MUZZ
AnswerID: 216135

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:45

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:45
But dont forget Muzzy, the end price to the consumer doesnt change to reflect the massive savings in manufacture.
FollowupID: 476456

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:05

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:05
You'll find the savings aren't that "massive".
FollowupID: 476622

Reply By: aeiou - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:13

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:13
No real need for too much workwear in Australia...... we shifted most of the blue collar jobs and factories to somewhere in Asia....

ahhh
AnswerID: 216136

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:42

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:42
BINGO !!! :-))
FollowupID: 476453

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:01

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:01
cmon people i thought we had covered boots in earlier threads.

I wanna know about aussie workwear.

ps - i know about the RM gear, but i cant afford it and dont want to look like a "Nunnawading cowboy" LOL..
AnswerID: 216152

Follow Up By: Charlie - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:40

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:40
At least some King Gee is still made in Australia,the work pants I brought at Target two months ago certainly are. Some textiles are made in Fiji as well.
Regards Charlie
FollowupID: 476529

Reply By: Nick R - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:15

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:15
Just wear boots until you find aussie work clothing!!! Just warn us before you go out.......

Maybe we have to be prepared to pay more for australian manufactured goods.
Problem is so much marketing is based around what is the cheapest, what is on special this week,
mmmm imported prawns, heads off ready to eat, peeled in a warm humid sweat shop in southern china.
vote with our hip pockets for aussie stuff.......
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 216157

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:15

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:15
The closest I can come is Deane work wear... Made in New Zealand but probably from Chinese cotton.
AnswerID: 216193

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:12

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:12
I would much prefer to get a product made in China using Chinese cotton than anything Australian using Australian Cotton as a Boycott if nothing else, very environmentally unfreindly crop, very wastefull on water and requires a crap load of pesticides to get it to frow in an unsuitable environment
FollowupID: 476522

Reply By: Red One - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:20

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:20
I agree Davoe,
Had a pair of hemp jeans in the 70s when I was a kid, took an awful bashing though they went the distance.

Get rid of the cotton and grow low THC hemp for clothes, rope etc

AnswerID: 216236

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:11

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:11
Yeah, did ya see that docco on TV a few years back. All about the man who invented nylon, Mr Dupont. He rallied the American government and the American people with TV adds that he paid for to convince everyone that hemp was the devil. Up until then, nearly all ropes, sales, bags etc were made from hemp.

Of coarse Nylon rope for sailing and shipping alone made him a very rich man.
FollowupID: 476623