New 4by on the cards. Need advice.

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:56
ThreadID: 41349 Views:2084 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Gday guys. May or may not be in the market for a new 4by soon depending on what happens with the old one. I have narrowed the field down to 4 main candidates.

1. Toyota Landcruiser FJ40
2. Toyota Landcruiser FJ60
3. (Replacement) Nissan Patrol/Ford Maverick GQ. (Leaning towards LWB again).
4. Toyota Landcruiser 80 series.

If I indeed find myself buying a new rig, I will most definately be taking out a loan (probably no more that 9 or 10k).

I am probably leaning to the FJ40 as i could get one that looks a treat for between 5-7k and they come in softtop. This would just be a car ide have for a year or two while i saved up a bit more for an 80 series.

I like the FJ60, dont know much about it. Ok to look at, bit boring tho (Just my opinion). Saw some shots of the interior and they looked a bit dated for my liking. Would probably rather hold out for a cheaper GQ.

Having said that, if i got another GQ i would probably have it for a while and so i would rather get one with all the bells and whistles (which obviously cost a bit extra). Also which model GQ has the bench seat at the front and well i guess a bench seat in the rear with space underneath the back seats? That was an awesome setup and i had my amps under the rear seats.

The penultimate 4by right now which is 'loosely speaking' in my budget, is the 80 series cruiser (not landy :P). I dont know how they compare to the GQ performancewise (onroad and off) so this is where I was hoping you would clue me in. Also, in terms of comfort and gadgets and gizmos (80 series vs GQ. Ive seen a 90' 80 series for near $9000 which i could do but im thinkinh i should hold out for a later model.

O yea Duel fuel (LPG/Petrol) is a prerequisite. (Just so I can afford to keep it on the road!!).

So thats where i stand, my theory is,

1. Get a cheap, fun 4b (FJ40 softop.. .unless there are certain drawbacks that make it a bad idea) in the shortterm, maybe a year or two tops while i save for the uber GQ/80 series.

2. Get a cheaper GQ, get an early model 80 series at a steal, or borrow more than I really want to and get an awesome 80 (unless the GQ makes for a better alround 4by.

Thanks a bunch guys, your experience is always appreciated.

Anand.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:25

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:25
where are you? there is a 60 seies on duel fuel round the corner from my place in Perth. It has a stuffed auto but she was asking 3 grand but considering how long it has been sitting there I wouldnt pay more than 1500 -2 grand as long as a new auto fitted isnt to dear you would get a good cheap duel fuel 4by
AnswerID: 216163

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:41

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:41
O yea another thing i want is it to be manual. Just one of my hangups... I know autos are ideal for autos, but i just can go past a manual :P
FollowupID: 476468

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:17

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:17
Lol autos are ideal as autos... musta had sunstroke or something. I meant autos are ideal for 4bs.
FollowupID: 476625

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:43

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 13:43
Might add im in castle hill (syd) too. Cheers guys.
AnswerID: 216167

Reply By: Member - TPM (NT) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 14:53

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 14:53
Go for the 60 series, the later models with the dual square headlights and larger mirrors.

Very tough and capable plus lots of spares and engine drive train used across other models such as utes troopies etc.

You shold be able to pick up a manual 5 speed with a/c, roo bar big wheels etc for under 10 thou. It will have high milage but it will be lower than a 40.

40'S are great old trucks and very capable but they are prone to rust, have cramped cabins and are maxed out at about 90 -95 with original 4 speed and engine. Some later models did have 5 speeds but are rare.

Some models in the 60 series to look out for are the SS ( silver series )
GX GXL, some of these had the 2HT Turboed engine

Good Luck
AnswerID: 216178

Reply By: madfisher - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 21:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 21:36
Get a loan for a GQ, it will be a lot cheaper in the long run.
The 40 I had was the most capable 4by I ever owned(except in mud) but was also the roughest, noisyest, thirstist,uncomfortablest, and the bloody thing tried to kill me twice on road. 11mpg arround town , made my SLR look frugal.but they do have character
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 216250

Reply By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:25

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:25
Hi Anand if you have any knowledge about what to look for, a good option for you might be to check out your local motor vehicle auctions , i live in Adelaide and often go for a look and have seen some real good GQ's go for under 7grand my oldest son bought a ripper GU for 17grand a couple years ago , just another option for you ....also hope you have better luck with your new one ....any news on the other yet??? cheers ......Dave
AnswerID: 216278

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:26

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:26
Hadnt thought of the auctions yet. Good idea. And na nothin on the old one yet. But i have faith... havin said that i definately need a vehicle to get to uni when that starts up in about a month, so thus the sudden interest in a new 4by.
FollowupID: 476626