3.0 LTR NISSAN PATROL PISTON BLOWN

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:05
ThreadID: 41351 Views:39705 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
My Nissan has just done 106,000kms and we have been told by FTGully Nissan that the top has been taken of the top of the piston.After doing some research I am now aware that this was a design fault due to sump oil capacity and heat generation issues.I have been told that Nissan FTG that they have tracked down a new motor,replacement (normally valued at $15,000)would be supplied at a discount to me for $9,000 plus labour costs.They gave me 2 x options which was the replacement motor or repair old motor with kit (maybe get demtel steak knives also)at special price of approx $6,000.After all the articles and complaints with this motor I find it hard to believe that Nissan has told me that what ever option I choose they will contribute $1900.The engine has been serviced every 10,000 kms by FTG Nissan and they have been told about the engine having no power or torque since 40,000kms, it appears they made some mods to get everyone through the warranty period .Can someone please offer advice as to other outcomes they have heard of and whether Nissan Australia has replaced any 3.0ZD engines out of warranty as it is a design issue.

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:18

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:18
Piggy,
I feel sorry for you. I suggest you speak directly to Nissan Australia and maybe let the VACC know. Looking at past threads from all over Aust about the same issue it seems that they are avoiding a genuine warranty claim and if it were mine I'd be taking it further, possibly TV Media, 3AW and definetly the Herald Sun Cars Guide (Paul Gover) who, if they do an article on it will make them honour warranties.

Good Luck,
Rob
AnswerID: 216181

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:19

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:19
Hi Piggy

Sorry to hear about your engine troubles.

My advice is that you should politely but firmly stand your ground and don't accept the first offer made.

Remind your Nissan Dealer and the Nissan Australian Head Office about the ExploreOZ forums and the many emails on many web sites about the ZD30 engine failures.

Mention that many people on the ExploreOz forums claim to have had their engines rebuilt or replaced even though the warranty has expired.

Remind Nissan that the ZD30 engine failure is a common fault and Nissan did a recall and refit of ZD30 engines overseas (in the UK and Europe I think, others may confirm with definite evidence)

Contact your State Government Fair Trading Office

Contact Nissan in Japan if Australian contacts don't help.

Be patient as they may try delays as a wearing down process.

Write to as many forums like ExplorOZ as you can. Send copies to Nissan.

They may insist you pay for "consumables", e.g. hoses belts clamps etc. Maybe around $1,000 plus.

Good luck and keep us all informed

AnswerID: 216182

Reply By: MickO13 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:45

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 15:45
Sorry to hear of your troubles. What model and year was the Patrol Piggy? Suggest you have a look here;

www.patrol4x4.com/forum/

There's a wealth of info and also a couple of threads relating specifically to the engine problems associated with the early GU models.

If worst case remains worst case regarding your engine prices etc, I have heard that Nissan are doing a full long motor for 5-7 grand. Can't remember the exact price. Thru the above forum I got onto Nizzbits who many of the forum regulars deal with for parts. Saved over $250 on the price of a new turbo and associated gaskets etc. They were great to deal with, genuine parts and fantastic prices and service. email; nizzbits@hotmail.com

Good luck and let us know how you go.

AnswerID: 216187

Follow Up By: piggy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:13
Mick
MODEL GU PATROL engine early Jan 2001 Model
thanks
Nathan
FollowupID: 476502

Reply By: texaspete - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:05

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:05
Piggy, sorry to hear about the engine.

When I was doing some searching on the forums here a while back I saw a thread that referenced a particular gent at Nissan Australia to talk to about problems with Patrols; can't remember if it related to the "blown 5th gear" or "blown ZD30 engines", but pick through the archives and you might be able to find it - unless somone on here already has the contact details...?
AnswerID: 216192

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:14

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:14
Val Davies @ Nissan HO in Dandy.

Leroy
FollowupID: 476503

Follow Up By: piggy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:18

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:18
Pete
Thanks for info, so far after searching I can only find one lady called Val Davis at Nissan Australia . At the moment I have requested that FTG Nissan E-Mail me the request and reply sent to them from Nissan Australia.Then on confirmation that they actually spoke to Nissan Australia I will contact Val with my concerns with the ridiculous offer.
FollowupID: 476506

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:51

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:51
Val Davies was hopeless!!
Piggy, email me if you like and I can send through some further details
tomjones@people.net.au

Cheers Tom.
FollowupID: 476517

Follow Up By: texaspete - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:43

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:43
Opps, apologies to Val! It WAS a while ago now that I saw it....!
FollowupID: 476531

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:26

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:26
Bad news Piggy, just out of curiousity may I ask what year model th ePatrol is?
AnswerID: 216199

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:29

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:29
Piggy,
Hopefully nissan will cough up, and so they should. Eventually though they are going to say no to someone, can't see them fixing 10 year old vehicles in afew years just because it took you that long to get to blowing it up.

If you are that first person, the last thing I'd be doing is putting in another nissan motor, add afew dollars and talk to someone like these blokes-

www.brunswickdiesels.com.au/new/index.php

Matt
AnswerID: 216212

Follow Up By: texaspete - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:46

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:46
While that would be a great option if you can afford it, after speaking to Greg @ Brunswick a couple times when I was toying with the idea, he advised that if looking at the 3.0ltr's you really need an Oct '02 onwards model, due to the size of the diff's in them. Still, having said that, swapping the diff's out might be possible for anything under that age; it'll just add to the cost of course.
FollowupID: 476534

Reply By: srowlandson - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:37

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 17:37
out of interest what year is it?

Let me guess, Series II, 2000 model?

your car is 6 years old, getting nissan to pay for it is getting a little tough now, they are old (regardless of km's travelled)

i have had a few legal / warranty battles with nissan, and spent lots of time talking to both Val Davis and her boss, Robert. steven @ offroader.com.au if you want to email more details, i can see what i can do to help, have lots of cases on hand, vin numbers of other cars that have failed etc.

AnswerID: 216216

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:42

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:42
the disappointing thing is some people bought these vehicles to hang on to for a long term and if they bought the 4.2 or even the petrol they more than likely wouldn't have an issue at 106k km. You also wouldn't expect any diesel to die at that age. As a result regardless of age I think Nissan have an obligation to it's customers to still assist because people buy a 4x4 generally knowing they will get at least a couple of hundres thousand prob free km motoring.

Leroy
FollowupID: 476616

Follow Up By: piggy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:33

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 13:33
Much appreciated for the offer of help.What sort of information do you require ?
thanks Piggy
FollowupID: 476767

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:18

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:18
Problems? I feel for u...

Theres rebuild kits on Ebay for them now.

Wrecker in Dandenong had one a few mths ago ready to drop in for $11k.

I want one.
AnswerID: 216273

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:36

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:36
you wouldn't pay $11k when you can get a new short motor for $6-7k from Nissan.

Leroy
FollowupID: 476613

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:41

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:41
Yeah Bruce, Leroy's right.
Nissan have placed the ZD30 in their discount pricing bin as it's a "fast moving item" just like the ZD30 intercoolers which came down from $1100+ to around $750-$800 because they were selling so many as they keep leaking.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 476615

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:44

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:44
i didn't realise the intercoolers were so reasonable priced now! eek
I've always found Nissan to be a bit $$$$ on spares.

Leroy
FollowupID: 476617

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:31
Why after all the posts over the last few years about the 3ltr Nissan motor would anyone bother fixing one or worse still buying a replacement motor. Every time you drove out of the yard you would be expecting it to let go. I know heaps of members have written all makes have problems but CRIKEY, the 3ltr Nissan failure rate is a tad above the ordinary, Think Roachie got it right, put in a decent motor.
FollowupID: 476639

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:49

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:49
LEAKING

Im with Blaze.. you put one back in to save your life if you were keeping the car.

FollowupID: 476653

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:54

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:54
Here is a suitable replacement idea

FollowupID: 476671

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:47

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:47
Yeah Truckie, Looks like a Mitsubishi motor to me LOL
FollowupID: 476696

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:42

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:42
Hi Piggy

Use the power of the Internet get some pics up everywhere on the Net it is not untill you do that you will get a responce.

You could always drop a Perkins Diesel in i heard somewhere there is an Adoptor Plate being made last i heard they were going to mass produce these in China as even the new Nissans are showing problems also.

I just can not understand why they never put a Perkins in them in the first place.

Regards Shane
AnswerID: 216283

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:54

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:54
I cant understand why they persist with it... it must have cost them 10's millions over time in parts and labour
FollowupID: 476654

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:50

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:50
Nothing to flash about perkins , have seen a lot in the six cyl range expire early!!

Bad for oil leaks as well.
FollowupID: 476710

Reply By: Off-track - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:25

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:25
Along with the other good advice plan your 'attack'. One of the better ways to get results and attention is to get to the Nissan counter on a Friday arvo, when there is usually the most amount of customers, and start telling them your problem and making your demands so that all will hear.
AnswerID: 216299

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:56

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 07:56
I've done that to good effect!!! ended up with the sales managers Sahara to take away for the weekend instead of my troopy! Was lots of years ago now though.
FollowupID: 476656

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:10

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:10
Its a sad sign of the times, that people have to do this sort of bleep to get service after spending what for some is 2yrs pay on a car -A N Y manufacturer.

Look at Tone with his Playdoe radiator - he still has to fill it daily after a new $700 radiator fitted 2 weeks ago - toyota told him to pi$$ off!
FollowupID: 476659

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:18
One of the reasons I decided to get the Humvee after having cruisers trash there transmissions after less then 100k of private holiday touring use, ever thinner body panels, more and more crap that can't be fixed but must be replaced, less and less durability and 4wd's designed more for trips to drop kids to school than what they are supposed to be designed for. Don't get me started!!
FollowupID: 476662

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:48

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:48
I agree 100% with everything you say..

Body panels - within 4 yrs all will be plastic. look at X trail - the trial version for Nissan of plastic panels

Everything is designed to be throw away - with numerous people changing over cars each 3-5 yrs (wish i was that rich) why design them to last? 100's of old kingswoods still going, not many early model commodores round.

Resale values on new cars? I'll leave it there.

>> and more crap that can't be fixed but must be replaced
This is like the "TRADE" panel beating.. when was the last time you saw them really building new sections for panels like they did in the 80's (watched a mate make a new section of a sill etc for his old AP5/6 Val)?

FollowupID: 476670

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:14
There is an interesting argument to this car thing and society in general.
The green groups and all the environmentalists say we must reduce pollution, gases etc but the environmental and financial cost of making products that have a relatively short lifespanis astronomical.
There has been discussion about the 'whole of life' or 'cradle to the grave' of products that are made and used.
There has been quite a bit of research done along these lines especilly in the vehicle field.
As you can imagine the greenies in the US give Hummer owners, especially H2's (the Chev based look a like a caning over the mpg and cost of the trucks.
But when you compare a Prius with all it's whizzbang electronics, batteries and other gizmo's to a basic chev truck or a Humvee like mine and compare use (ability to carry loads), lifespan (generally much longer), cost of any repairs (usually much cheaper as they are basic) over the life of the vehicle against its original cost of production and resources the truck wins out every time.
A Prius is designed to last maybe 5 years, while the projected usable lifespan of a Humvee or most light trucks is around 15 -20 years.
Apologies for hijacking the thread, commiserations about your Patrol and i'd reckon if you give them enough grief Nissan might come to the party with more pressies ;-))
FollowupID: 476679

Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:26

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:26
That's got to leave a sick feeling in your stomach with respect to the cost.

Don't know if you've already have this but it's has the Nissan contacts and suggestions on approaching them for assistance - Nissan Patrol
AnswerID: 216357

Reply By: blown_zd30 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:52

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:52
Hi Piggy

Sorry to hear of your dilemna. If it helps, here's what I was able to acheive last July when my 2001 ZD30 went bang with 244,000klms on it.

Despite perfect service history and only even been fed name brand diesel and had genuine filters installed etc. my ZD30 blew a whole in the 3rd piston. After the engine was removed and a closer inspection made, every piston was cracked in at least 2 places and the head cracked in 8 places.

After persistent requests for assistance directly through Nissan HO in melbourne, they provided a replacement motor new in a crate which included the whole motor minus the bolt on things like turbo, intercooler, fuel pump etc. at a cost of $4252 + GST. The part no. for this bare engine is NI1010B-VC628.

It is my understanding that if you enquire about this part no. through any Nissan parts centre they will give you this price or close to it, problem is you could only buy this item with HO approval at the time.

This offer was made to me as a goodwill gesture from Nissan HO but only after swift and strong requests by phone and in writing outlining the extent of evidence out there confirming this was not an isolated incident but another obvious failure due to design issues with the early ZD30's.

Nissan did their best to deny there is any problem with the ZD30 and even later went on to suggest that a life of only 244,000klms out of one of their engines was quite acceptable.

Personally I think they should be replacing all ZD30 engines which suffer piston failure at NO CHARGE but until enough ground swell sees a class action or similar it is near impossible for an individual to get true justice on this issue.

Good luck with getting a suitable outcome to your problem. Keep in mind, my vehicle was 5 years old and 94,000klms outside of the extended warranty so in my opinion at the very least, they should be making the same options available to yourself. It's only fair. Especially when you consider if yours went bang within the warranty period you'd have received the drive in drive out engine replacement at no cost like so many others have.

Including the Labour and fluids required etc. the total cost to replace the engine was $6800inc. GST.

If you need any further details, feel free to email me directly: brad@outbacksigns.com.au

Good Luck

Brad

AnswerID: 216374

Reply By: awill4x4 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:21

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:21
Piggy, while you're at it copy and print the list below which is of people who have suffered exactly the same problems you have. This list is of engine blow ups only not any other associated ZD30 problems.
Send the list into Nissan along with your reasons for Nissan replacing your engine under warranty. There is no way diesels should be blowing up with only 100K on them. Remember the squeakiest wheel gets the oil and if Nissan won't come to the party put a claim into Fair Trading and then send them the case number so they'll know your serious about pursuing the matter.
As you can see the list is up over 40 engine blow ups and still counting. You will also note that you are number 20 on this forum alone.

ZD 30 Engine Failures.

Explore Oz Forum.

Daggs.
Blown_zd30-------------------------- 244K
Roly.
AJB------------------------------------196K
Pud & Barb--------------------------165K
Bulla. (daughters car)
Yakodi--------------------------------130K
Plugger.
JR -------------------------------------130K
Mike.
B & M. -------------------------------126K
Emackj--------------------------------157K
Fourstall2000-------------------------118K
Donald A-------------------------------50K 2004 STL
Jorgejhandal-----------------------------------2004
Old Johno---------------------------------------2000
Ron 2006-------------------------------152K
BushMark-----------------------------109K---2001
Ted--------------------------------------170K---2000
Piggy------------------------------------106K---2001

Nissan Club members.

Graeme Wise. -----------------------72K
Ken Beard.

Outerlimits members

Manno74
Poo-trol-------------------------------66K
Wendle--------------------------------115K 2001
Rustys---------------------------------67K 2001
deanchristensen0001---------------31K 2005

Patrol 4x4.com forum

Mickyd-------------------------------- 2002
Waveriders--------------------------- 98K 2002
Bushy127------------------------------195K
Redeye---------------------------------190K
Link-------------------------------------82K 2000
Pat3L
LesleyPerry---------------------------83K 2001
Scratch---------------------------------89K 2002
Stephan--------------------------------150K
JimmyB--------------------------------
Phyrebug (brother’s car)----------210K
Patrol 4x4.com forum
Dirty Wheels-------------------------246K 2001
Phoenie--------------------------------145K-------2003
Ramas----------------------------------231K------2001

MSN Caravanners Forum.

Ddarren11------------------------------155K 2002

AnswerID: 216552

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:26

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:26
Looks Like Nissan Will Be........ Missing........ Some Customers In The Futcher.
FollowupID: 476977

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 20:08

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 20:08
the 2005 modle blowing at 35K is a big worry
bob
FollowupID: 477109

Reply By: piggy - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 11:28

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 11:28
Did any of these people have success and if so what was the outcome.
thanks heaps
Piggy
AnswerID: 216612

Reply By: shade10 - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:26

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:26
Nissan, sorry but to say this, my sister had a pathfinder, had it service at the nissan dealer on the sunshine coast and one of there mechanics stuffed it, they took it back and they stuffed it again, refused to pay for it to be fixed as the box and motor was cooked because of there service technicians, and nissan ho didnt want to know about it, as far as im conserned STEER CLEAR OF NISSIANS UNLESS YOU KNOW A REALLY GOOD MECHANIC AND YOU HAVE ONE OF THE BETTER UNITS. NISSAN CLEAN YOUR ACT UP!!! WHERE ARE THE GOOD VEHICLES YOU WERE PRODUCING???? LOOKING LOOKING STILL CANT FIND ONE????
AnswerID: 216772