New Land Cruiser

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 23:54
ThreadID: 41372 Views:4223 Replies:11 FollowUps:25
I have just seen some photos & specifications for the new 76 (work horse wagon), 78 & 79 series Land Crusiers. As Toyota say "Newer, Not Softer" 4.5 litre V8 diesel turbocharger with intercooler common-rail with 150kW maximum output with 400Nm of maximum torque. They look ok, hope they go well. Due in Australia late March. They look like a mix of the old 78/79 & 100 series at the front. Then there will be the new 130 series due late in the year with a 4.9 litre V8 twin turbo diesel. Wow !
Have you seen the information. What are your thoughts ?
Cheers Tooley

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:32

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 00:32
My 05 4cyl, 2.8L CRD KJ JEEP puts out 400nm of torque at 1800rpm.
AnswerID: 216292

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:07

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:07
Peak figures mean little until you see the shape of the 'curve'.
FollowupID: 476633

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:29

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:29
The V8 has 400 of torque at 1200
FollowupID: 476686

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:19

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:19
Lucy,
are you sure your 4cyl puts out 400nm???????

Toytruck
FollowupID: 476705

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:25

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:25
Lucy, getting traded in? 650 Nm sounds better than that little Jeepney.... hehhe
FollowupID: 476721

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:38

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:38
To: Dear Mr Toytruck(SA)

The answer is yes! Following URL corroborates it.

en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Jeep_Liberty/Engines.

Iknow its hard to get your head around - because I to was p i s s e d and amazed when I first became aware of it.

USA 295 ft lb's = 399.969999 Nm's

FollowupID: 476874

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:11

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:11
Numbers on paper don't mean jack-chit, Lucy.......

That bloody jeepney of yours still couldn't pull the skin off a snot-block...hahaha

You've been very quiet lately? We miised you at the monthly meeting last night ya ol' b@stard!!!! Are you coming on the next club trip, next weekend? Narrung on the banks of Lake Alexandrina? (while there's still some bloody water in it!!!! haha
FollowupID: 476935

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:42

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:42
Maybe not 'Mr President' - but it would pull the 'skin' of your bitz if still intact that is.

Got any 'numbers' as you so eloquently put it, for that 'lump' you now drive that apparently needs a transmission 'heart transplant' before you do anything serious with it.

Talk about the - Missin Nissan.

Next weekend is out - wedding on the Friday and Kupunda Lobster festival on the Monday with 'works in progress' filling in between.

The works in progress are slowly killing me.

So much so that when I was filling Ms Lucy with fuel two days ago with the camper trailer on the bac,k the dude behind the counter looks out and informs that when he gets 'old and grey' he to will have a rig like that.

I was so gob smacked I just staggered out, got in the Troopy thinking there just has to be a better place to live. (LOL) Hope his girlfriend/partner gives him a dose of genital warts.

The weekend of 3-4 March 2007 does look very interesting and I'll contact you re same.

Ms Lucy

PS

Has it been hot over there on the YP

FollowupID: 476978

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:50

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:50
HOT, DAMN HOT!!!!! (quote from Good morning Vietnam).....

Now it's Wet!!!!

Might cya at Barmera then?
FollowupID: 477006

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 09:30

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 09:30
Roachie, nearly take the fire tank off Moses again now. Was pretty worrying just 10 days ago with the ash falling. Has Willem got his ark finished at Warraweena?

Ms Lucy, at what stage will you get "old and grey"?
FollowupID: 477016

Reply By: Off-track - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:09

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 01:09
Post 'em up!
AnswerID: 216297

Reply By: mj1 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:26

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:26
that engine will probably be very understressed putting out those figures and have a very long life. Lots of room for tweaking I'll bet too.

I'd prefer that kind of configuration to one of the high strung little <3l Td's that seem to have very impressive figures but work pretty hard to do it.
AnswerID: 216314

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:11

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:11
400Nm is pretty poor from a 4.9l V8 CRDi

Only a smidgen better than a 350 Chev petrol has been producing since 30 years.
Pathetic compared to most other CRDi engines.

It should last forever though, it's not the least bit stressed!

Fuel consumption won't be anything to write home about. Moving 8 pistons and their associated bearing drag and valve gear will consume a lot of fuel for nothing -as mentioned above, a 4 Cyl Jeep produces the same torque.

This also means CO2 emissions will be nearly twice as high as they need be, because effectively a 2.45 litre 4 pot is driving the vehicle and driving the other 4 pot as well.

AnswerID: 216329

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:31
Doesn't look a whole lot different to my 79series TD. And if I add a Dtronic, I'll get the same power and more torque. I won't be changing.
AnswerID: 216335

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:28

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 10:28
AnswerID: 216358

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:07

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:07
hell if thats it looks good I thought it was going to look like rubbish.
FollowupID: 476715

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:10

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:10
Yeah Sam, not a lot different - just wider front end for the V8. Wonder what the inside of the cab is like - should know soon.
FollowupID: 476717

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:39

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:39
Nice, Nice

FollowupID: 476786

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:02

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:02
Looks a tad like a Rocsta to me...................
FollowupID: 476931

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:15

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:15
Willie said: "Looks a tad like a Rocsta to me..................."

I reckon you're right mate......me thinks Mick Jagger!!!!!!! hehehe
FollowupID: 476938

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:03

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:03
They better have not bought that european rubbish into the dash and interior it looks good the way it is.
FollowupID: 477000

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:23

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 11:23
Wonder why the new motor you are talking about would be different to the 200kw, and 650Nm mentioned in this article? Site Link Sounds seriously detuned!
AnswerID: 216377

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:34

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:34
Gday John,
Yep, seriously detuned sums it up. But if you look at power and torque in their working range (say 1200-2500rpm) the difference is nowhere near as great.
Toyota like to ensure reliability in its commercial range.
FollowupID: 476783

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:40

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:40
Forgot to state that your link refers to the twin turbo 200series which doesn't come out until Oct 2007.
Here we're talking about the cab chassis and troopie (78/79series) replacement due next month, which has the V8 single turbo motor.
FollowupID: 476787

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:03

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:03
Thanks for the pointer Phil, but you don't expect me to notice the difference in vehicle designations for cough'yotas do you? LOL I mean to me a 100, 200, 78, 79 or whatever they are all the same. Isn't there a 130 too somewhere and a 90? Guess it means something to you.......
FollowupID: 476798

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:25

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:25
Hi John,
I got worried when I saw you had been doing some reading about Cruisers and even had the link :-))
The only thing you'll need to know from now on is that the 70series Cruisers are OK and the rest are soft!!
FollowupID: 476817

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:18
Okay John, I think you've led these poor sods on long enough....they're starting to get the impression YOU might be considering a move to the "dark side"......it's not nice to play with their foibles you know!!!!!
FollowupID: 476940

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 06:44

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 06:44
Roachie, that is unlikely when I even reckon people who pollute their Nissans with massve implants are no longer pure. We have an aging 60 series. That is the limit of our knowledge of the "Dark Side"

There are two 4.2 diesels resident within a few hundred metres and an aging 60, a small European/American supercharged coupe which hardly qualifies. Two John Deere tractors, one aging Clarke commercial loader and assorted motor bikes here. hardly anywhere near the "Dark Side".
FollowupID: 476994

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 06:49

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 06:49
Sorry Phil, I hadn't responded. Google will find all sorts of things I know nothing about but I can help others with fewer skills in searching. I can even find out things that assist me manage my delicate mortality, just like managing Nissans ;-))
FollowupID: 476995

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:52

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:52
I might have to get an early order in for one of them there not as bad as I first thought.
AnswerID: 216454

Reply By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:54

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:54
Is there a website or a sitte link i can read more information about the ute?
AnswerID: 216509

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 09:00

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 09:00
Brian,
Not yet. We're still at the guessing stage. The forums have had the links and leaked dealer info.
FollowupID: 477008

Reply By: 06 79 RV - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:10

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:10
so does it have an intercooler too?
AnswerID: 216514

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:42

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:42
Yep, hence the bonnet scoop
FollowupID: 476966

Reply By: chevypower - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 12:50

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 12:50
That is not impressive. Infact, it's so unimpressive, I find those specs hard to believe, even for Toyota. a 3L V6 TDI these days puts out around 170-180kw, 500-520Nm - using a single turbo. A twin-turbo 4.5L V8 TDI should natually be putting out 50% more power and torque - making it around 260kw/750Nm - which is what the Ford 4.4L V8 turbo diesel and the GM 4.5L V8 Turbo diesel are expected to put out. The Land Rover 3.6L TDV8 will have 200kw/650Nm, and I have read Toyota will have the same power and torque (200kw/650Nm) for their 4.4TDV8 in the Landruiser 200.
AnswerID: 216628

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 13:50

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 13:50
Interesting isn't it. But theres heaps of people out there who are keen to depart with $60k+ to lay their hands on a Toyota cab chassis. I think its all about reliability and longevity.
FollowupID: 477052