drop down fridge slide

Submitted: Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:11
ThreadID: 41392 Views:5389 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Gday all

There is a fridge slide that I have seen somewhere??? that extends out as normal, but when it gets to the end of its travel, it swivels downward about 40 degrees. Ideal for 40 litre engels when installed on top of a draw system which allows you to see in the fridge a lot better.

Has any one got one of these, how do they rate and where can I get one??

Any help would be appreciated

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 14:18
Hi ingo57, I have one of these. Got it through Candy Canvas at Tintinara.

I find mine indispensable, as when I have my camper off the Patrol's tray it's a bit too high for me to look into the fridge and impossible for the wife without the tilt mechanism. About $140 from memory.

AnswerID: 216424

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:17

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:17
$140, is that the complete slide nad everything or just an attachment?
FollowupID: 476811

Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:01

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:01
We have two of them. I think they are a normal fridge slide with a custom base. We also got ours from Candy Canvas. They use them in their slide on campers because the top of the fridge is too high unless you are six foot and my wife is five foot. They are a great idea.

AnswerID: 216436

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:17

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:17
What kind of mechanism allows the fridge to swivel?
AnswerID: 216440

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:20

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:20
No swivel - just tilt.

!MPG:11!
FollowupID: 476814

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:32

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:32
Aha. Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 476827

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:18
Trucky, that's just for the tilt mechanism...you simply bolt on whatever slide you want to the top of it.
AnswerID: 216442

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:14

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:14
No worries.. cheaper to buy one of them $40 steps that slide into the towbar thing where tounge goes.
FollowupID: 476848

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:25

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:25
Trucky, I don't think that would help me in my case any LOL
FollowupID: 476851

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:31
I think Crazie has one that he made himself.
AnswerID: 216449

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:44

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:44
Didnt geocacher make one also. Im sure he had some lnks to some plans he had put together
FollowupID: 476834

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:11

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:11
Mike,

Your correct
Geocaher (Dave) designed and the plans are on his web check his profile out for details.

Kev

FollowupID: 476846

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:13

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:13
and awill4x4 and about a dozen others lol...
FollowupID: 476847

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:40

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:40
From the looks of it you could use a normal slide mounted on an alloy plate with a hinge at the (vehicle) rear of the plate and a short bungee cord limiting strap to stop the front of it lifting too far, using the weight of the fridge itself to tilt the mechanism when it is pulled out.

Alloy sheet, 600 x 800 x 6mm cut in half (600 x 400 tilt plate and 600 x 400 base to screw down to top of drawer system)
Large piano hinge or two door hinges (between plates)
Slide mechanism base (mounted on tilting base)
1 metre of bungee cord for limiting strap (between baseplate and tilting plate)
rubber buttons (to stop plates rattling together)

Guessing total cost ~$40-50, not including slide mechanism.

FollowupID: 476855

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:49

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:49
As you say, wouldnt be too difficult, might have to take a trip to bunnings!!
FollowupID: 476858

Reply By: awill4x4 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:37

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:37
This is the one I built for my Engel 40 litre fridge. Mine is a bit different in that I can unlock the tilting mechanism (the 2 spring loaded stainless steel rods running parallel with the fridge base) from the rear of the car rather than having to reach past the fridge and unlock from there.
Regards Andrew.

AnswerID: 216559

Reply By: BUGGER ME - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:09

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 00:09
hi ingo57
whats you email , i think i have got the the one you are after, will send it to you

bugger me
AnswerID: 216570

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:34

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:34
gday bugger me

chris@torchpublishing.com.au

look foward to it
FollowupID: 477004

Reply By: ingo57 - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:37

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 08:37
Thanks everyone for your imput

As always, much appreciated
AnswerID: 216590

Follow Up By: Wisebyname - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:48

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:48
Hi Chris

Do you know a G Waud or Alison

Andy
FollowupID: 477026

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 18:09

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 18:09
Gday Andy

Not that I can recall mate, but then again I am hopeless with names.

Why do you ask?
FollowupID: 477083