not safe to camp even..

Submitted: Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:23
ThreadID: 41397 Views:4434 Replies:20 FollowUps:31
NT murder victim left for the crocodiles
January 19, 2007 - 4:00PM

Three men are wanted over the murder of a 45-year-old man who was robbed, strangled and dumped in the Northern Territory's Katherine River for crocodiles to feed on.

Michael Street's body was found about one kilometre downstream from Katherine's Low Level Bridge on December 12, 2006.

An autopsy revealed injuries to Mr Street's head had been caused by a crocodile and he had died from asphyxiation two days earlier.

Police now believe that Mr Street, who had been camping in the area for about a month, was robbed before being strangled and dumped in the river.

Witnesses have given descriptions of three men seen at the crime scene and the Major Crime Unit issued a nationwide alert for help tracking them down.

"While the murder occurred in Katherine we are asking people from across the territory and interstate to provide any information they may have, as the men may be located elsewhere," Senior Sergeant Scott Pollock said.

He said detectives were following a number of positive leads following an analysis of the crime scene.

"The investigation is gathering momentum and we now have solid descriptions of people we believe may be able to assist us further," he said.

"Anyone who may be able to confirm the identity of the three people in the composite sketches, or with information relating to the murder of Mr Street could assist us in arresting the person or persons responsible."

Sgt Pollock said people who provide information that leads to an arrest may be eligible for a reward.

Mr Street's family issued a statement in December, describing him as a gentle man who was happy with his own company.

He had spent many years travelling the country and had not been seen by his family in Victoria for several years, they said.

© 2007 AAP

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:45

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:45
Why am I not surprised :((((
AnswerID: 216461

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51
And we go away to try and get away from it all..........
AnswerID: 216463

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:51
Interesting, often wondered how safe we all feel? I have travelled mainly with companions and I would say that travelling alone would be a lot riskier. I guess if you travel alone then there are some common sense rules like being more careful where you camp, keeping contact with family/friends, not showing a stranger anything valuable that type of thing and having adequate protection.
AnswerID: 216466

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:58

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 16:58
Adequate protection as in a bang tucked in behind the rear seat would be the best. At the end of the day even if they over power you and shoot you they would have had all intentions of doing what they have done to this poor other gentleman minding his own business. Bloody scumbags, no wonder my wife is nervous some times at night, (wont be letting her see this one) although 9 times out of ten there is a group of us so not so bad. What is this country coming too. And to think we travel to get away from all this crap. I'll just make sure its always loaded, wont be waiting for them to ask if it is or not. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 476861

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:23

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:23
I'll tell you what this country is coming to Stephen - and anyone else that wants to listen - too many films like "Wollf Creek" being allowed. To a normal sane person, films like that and the violent video games, don't trigger a response.

But there are an increasing number of "creatures" in this country that think it's "KEWL" to kill or maim others just for a thrill - "I seen it on flim, must be great eh!"

It's happening all too often - two 16 year old girls in Perth in court for murdering thier 16 year old friend, body found in a wheely bin - no apparent motive and laughed in front of the judge about it. Similar incident a few months back in the South of WA - two girls killed a friend, no motive - had a laugh about it.

You can all call me a silly old fart (some will, I'm sure), but I reckon there's no sense in encouraging loonies by having these crap films and videos out in the public's face. We don't need it. In fact we'd be better off without it. I've never been a prude, but enough is enough.

I just ordered a new magazine for me gun - last one was stolen with me 4WD! Even my normally imperturbable and trusting wife is getting nervous about things these days.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 216471

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:08

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:08
silly old fart ;)

Too true tho, Bilbo, many kids these days are becoming desensitised to violence and horror, and it occurs from such a young age, with video games, movies and television shows. Look over the past 12 months at all these situations where kids have been unecessarily beating and abusing animals, one just the other day on the news, where kids through a pup off of a bridge onto a rail line, or the kitten at the armadale train sation. There is no way that this can be classed as 'normal behaviour' (unless todays perception of normal has changed) or the old 'kids just being kids'. This is not healthy, and seems to becoming worse.

Whats the answer?? I dont know, but something needs to be done.
FollowupID: 476878

Follow Up By: GU - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:34

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:34
Agree with you wholeheartedly Bilbo and Mike W.
I believe it will get much worse if indeed it ever gets better.
Where do the majority of these graphically violent movies, videos and computer games originate from. The US of course where their firearm homicide count per annum is around 34,000. Unfortunately for the rest of the world they think its normal and all these programmes games etc. are allowed into this country because our government is too gutless to consider the welfare of it's own constituents ahead of it's big buddy the US.

They live by the sword and will no doubt die by it unless mother nature deals with them first.

In the meantime our children, teenagers and the like are heavily influenced by all this cr*p to the detriment of the whole country. It will get worse but you can bet your bottom dollar if it was one of the pollies kids that suffered from this violence something would be done.

I'm sorry but I can't help hating the leadership of that country (US) and feel that it is the cancer of the earth.

But I will always love this country with a passion.

....and it's goodnight from me... Cheers GU
FollowupID: 476886

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:55

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:55
I dont, know, I reckon George Dubya was pretty helpful on this occasion:!MPG:3!
FollowupID: 476889

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:13

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:13
Gidday Mike

Can you send a copy of your cartoon to kimmc@satlink.com.au please.

I've been seaching for a staff motivation image for some time.

Kim
FollowupID: 476902

Follow Up By: GeoffMc - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:27

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:27
GU ..... I'll bet you're a member of a Union and vote labour. 'Nuff said.
FollowupID: 476903

Follow Up By: GU - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:27

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:27
Not your day is it GeoffMc. Wrong on both counts...

Stars and stripes forever is it Geoff???
FollowupID: 476919

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:30

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:30
357 is what you want
FollowupID: 476921

Follow Up By: Angler - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:31

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:31
RE georgedubya,
type 'failure' into google and select I'm feeling lucky.

Google never tells lies.

Pooley
FollowupID: 476944

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 23:39

Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 23:39
You got my vote on that too Bilbo!

Jo
FollowupID: 477176

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 03:52

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 03:52
GU,

"The US of course where their firearm homicide count per annum is around 34,000"

Very interesting ???? What are your sources for this figure ?
FollowupID: 477198

Follow Up By: GU - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 10:39

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 10:39
Gramps.

I couldn't remember the exact figure but it was quoted by Michael Moore in his Video "Bowling for Columbine". Without looking at the video again I remember it was in the 34000s or 38000s. The video was compiled by Moore following the mass shooting of students , who had access to all sorts of firearms, at Columbine High School.

One amazing piece in the video showed Banks actually giving away a free firearm
with every new account opened. Check out the video if you haven't already seen it,
it's pretty scarey and I've owned firearms for over 35 years. Moore was trying to get to the bottom of the American psychic so that he could at least understand what it is in the US that makes them so violent and gun happy.
As a contrast the same liberal gun laws exist over the border in Canada where the firearm homicide rate was I think less than 100.

The country is gun happy with the Govt spending billions upon billions with the sole purpose of killing human beings. They love it and we should be really scared.
Never forget that Iraq use to be allied to the US. Never forget that Afghanistan used tobe allied to the US. Currently we are because it's convenient for them to have an ally with such a large land mass close to the Middle East, Asia etc.
But one day......... I'm out of here I think I need a lie down before I add another 100 paragraphs.. Cheers GU

FollowupID: 477242

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 11:06
GU,

I can agree that the USA has one of the highest rates of homicides (with firearms) but by no means the worst. I'd also be a little bit wary of any "facts" quoted by Mr Moore as a lot of the info he presented in the documentary has since been debunked. As someone pushing a particular point of view he did what most of us do in those situations and used a little 'creativity'. If you ever get to watch it again, check out the supposed 'unedited' video of Charlton Heston (and see his clothing change before your very eyes).

The 'firearm homicide' count, according to my research includes suicides. In fact, suicides make up more than 50% of the annual total (or did during the period 1991-2001) according to the US Dept of Justice. The USDofJ asserts that the 'homicide with a firearm' total was 11,671 in 2001. Add the 16,869 suicides by firearm and a further 802 accidentals and 231 undetermined, you have a grand total of 29,573 ( a tragic figure in anyone's language ) but there are worse. Check out South Africa's figures - a nightmare.

And yet the two countries with arguably the highest per capita gun ownership (Switzerland and New Zealand) have a very low rate.

As with everything else in this world, there's more than one cause for any particular type of behaviour.

FollowupID: 477251

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 11:26

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 11:26
Ooops ...slight mistake with the suicide figures 1991-1994. Whilst below 50% they were still higher than the homicide count. Sorry about that :)))

The annual homicide with a firearm figures for the period 1991 - 2001 actually show a downward trend from a high in 1993 of 18,571 to a low of 10,828 in 1999.
FollowupID: 477258

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 15:45

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 15:45
New Zealand, Canada may have lower gun deaths than the USA, South Africa may have more.

The problem with the USA is that we have a country with a violent mentality, high gun ownership levels and high rate of violent deaths - and not just guns - AND THEY EXPORT THIS CULTURE OF THIERS TO EVERY OTHER COUNTRY THEY CAN GET ACCESS TO BY FILMS, VIDEOS AND SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC ENGINEEERING - also known as "invasion by stealth". They think that the rest of the world actually respects and needs thier culture!!

After this, every thinks that killing is "normal acceptable behaviour"

Bilbo
FollowupID: 477308

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:43

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:43
Aaah Bilbo, it's a bit simplistic to blame all of the world's problems on the USA. Sure they have a hand in some of them but they're not alone. As for this particular topic, there are a lot of other contributing factors other than movies, availability of firearms etc etc etc.
FollowupID: 477381

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:24

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:24
Poor bugger, sounds like he just wanted a bit of peace and quiet. Three on to one, he wouldn't have stood a chance. I hope they catch the bastards soon.

When you're out in the bush EVERYTHING is up to yourself - both good and bad. I suspect that's why most of us like it.

However all with the good things also comes the fact there's no cops, no telephone to call one and they'd never find you anyway. Without sounding like a redneck, be prepared to take the law into your own hands if really needed because no else will. You'd be a naive fool to think otherwise. As the old saying goes, when push comes to shove, it's better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6.

I don't go out into the middle of nowhere without being as prepared as possible for emergencies no matter what type they are. Plenty of fuel, food, water, epirb, maps, spares, clothing, recovery gear, first aid supplies and I lump my group's protection into that basket as well.
AnswerID: 216473

Reply By: CLC50 - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:32

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:32
Well I believe these scum Bags ,no most of us don't carry a Gun these days,so we have little protection against them & I say thanks to all do goodie's.
I am 70 years old, & all ways had a gun from the age of 9 only Lithgow 22 ,For shooting rabbits for tea, & later in the Army never went overseas.
Know if I had Gun I would be Jail,Yet all the bad guys have hand Guns & cut down Shot Guns
. Gee what has happen to our COUNTRY.
AnswerID: 216475

Reply By: mfewster - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:55

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:55
I agree about the need to take care and that ultimately you have to look after yourself in the city or outback. I also agree about the impact of film and video, but let's relax a bit. In fact the rate of murders etc per head of population is actually slightly decreasing. Media beats the events up, there are more murders overall than there used to be, so it feels worse, but per head of population, it is a little safer than fifty years ago and considerably safer than 150 years ago.
How often do you read of someone being able to succesfully defend themselves with a gun? Carrying a loaded gun is far more of a danger to the owner than the risk of violent attack.
So let's keep campin, but use your head and keep your eyes open- as always.
AnswerID: 216480

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 16:13

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 16:13
"but let's relax a bit"

Tell that to Micheal Street's family.

Pezza
FollowupID: 477310

Follow Up By: mfewster - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:50

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:50
My point Pezza was to keep your eyes and ears open as always, but not to be stampeded into believing we have a major new violence epidemic. Statistically, homicide levels in Oz have been very gradually falling for quite a long time. If you used to feel relaxed and confident about going bush, nothing has changed.
FollowupID: 477337

Reply By: Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:01

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:01
Bugger this, I'm going to the pub tonight to get me some protection. ;)

We met a guy recently in a caravan (in a popular coastal CP) he was on the road fulltime, he had a shotgun down one side of the bed and a pistol down the other. He said "don't kid yourself, if you're going 'out there' you should have one"
I was watching him intently for any sign of twitching :)

AnswerID: 216483

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:28

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:28
I hope I never meet him on the road !
FollowupID: 476885

Reply By: handy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:02

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:02
i ve been around a bit, and i still would feel safer being out in the bush than living in the cities.
everyone makes a big deal of murders in the outback, what about the poor bastards killed in there own home, the safest place you would think.
AnswerID: 216484

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:29

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:29
As I've said before, the Yanks have the right to bear arms.
We have the right to bear alms !
AnswerID: 216489

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:45

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:45
I think the homicide rates in the good ol USA, compared to our rates, says it all Footy.
FollowupID: 476888

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:29

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:29
Fewie,
Statistics is the refuge of a scoundrel :)) Dunno who said that but consider,
Different demographics (the crowded rats syndrome)
National temperament (does it exist ?)
Where do the stats come from (orgs with a barrow to push ?)
etc etc
Also have to consider that not all gun crime is homicide, but the effects can still be life threatening. (suicide etc ) Do we include these as they are gun related ?
Gun crimes in other countries eg UK. and the trends there.

I'm afraid that a simple comparison of stats is just that, it hardly tells the whole story.
FollowupID: 476892

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:40

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:40
we need the right to do the same as the yanks
it prevents crime!!!!

only the law abiding licenced gun owners surrended their firearms at the two buy backs...all to get firearms off the street they say...for those idiots who are against firearms rember this... we have to keep them locked up , all the govt got was firearms that they allready knew where they were anyway...

how many guns did they collect from criminals who aint licenced who handed their guns in?...let me guess...zero
FollowupID: 476924

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:37

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:37
I couldn't agree more with Willem's post. It was what I was saying in my original post on this thread. Let's not go overboard, homicide rates in Oz have actually been steadily falling.
Footy, I think the quote you wanted was "Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel." stated by Samuel Johnston in the 1700s.
Member No 1, all the evidence is that having lots of guns around the place just increases the number of people getting killed. You are much more likely to die from your own gun, or at least someone related to you is, than you are to ever use it to prevent a crime. If a gun is going to be of any use to prevent crime it is going to have to be kept loaded and readily accessible. Not what you would call good practice??
By and large, the crims in this country seem to kill more of each other with their guns than they do the general public. Well, in Vic at any rate.
FollowupID: 476950

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 02:56

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 02:56
"By and large, the crims in this country seem to kill more of each other"

Good, let's encourage it. Offer them a financial incentive to improve their tally :))))
FollowupID: 477196

Reply By: markeaust - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:48

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:48
.or was that a "..right beer arm...?" 8)

AnswerID: 216491

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:52

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 18:52
What about that poor old bugger I think was about 88 round that age with his head chopped off in his garden in his backyard in Armidale NSW imagine how traumatised his nephew will be as he was the one that found him poor bugger.When & if they catch these should hang them SLOWLY and just when there about to take there last breath release the rope a bit then have another go. Bring back capital punishment I say. I know if I had kids if any of them were harmed by the likes of these scum I would have no hesitations in going to jail for putting a bullet in there head. I don't think the out back is as bad as city areas but you still need to be on the lookout. I know when we went to Dubbo zoo for the night went out the next morning to find the car had been broken into so this can happen any where, but like the most of you I strongly believe the games and tv, xbox's, sony play stations and the like do play a part, sadly though if a certain kid doesn't have one they are out of touch with there friends and become the odd one out. Go back to the old days, outside cricket bat & ball and the old garbo bin as the wickets, or go for a long ride on the old pushy, or climbing the old tree out the back and fall and break an arm big deal you wernt hurting any one. I'm only 38 and makes me wonder what is going to happen in another 30 years time. But yes the old do gooders have made it hard, what happened to riding the old trail bikes for a day down through the old quarries etc, cant do that any more too noisy. At least you were to knackered to go out and get up to mischief maybe a little but I knew my old man would kick me fair in the ar@e if I did some thing that wasn't appropriate. Killing any sort of animal didn't even cross my mind. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 216492

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:18

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 19:18
There was a lady molested in the dunnies at the camp site (remote) where I was on new years eve, even though by my count there was probably 70 odd tents set up (busiest year on record for the place unfortunately, coming from all directions this year they were). I heard this the next morning only, and also that the culprit was totally and deservedly creamed shortly afterward by a number of people.
AnswerID: 216496

Reply By: kimprado - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:01

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:01
I'm getting the impression the sky just fell in (judging by these posts).

Your safer In the bush than any bloody City!

Stop scaring the tourists LOL

Kim
AnswerID: 216511

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:41

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:41
wish my swmbo could read your post...she might stay home for a night or two....
FollowupID: 476926

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:43

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:43
By geezus Trucky, you really out do me with the crap you post on this forum.

What is the point if all this? To scare people away from the bush? Weren't you robbed quite recently in beautuful downtown wherever you live.

People are murdered every second of the day throughout the world.

Wrong place wrong time.

Be aware of your surroundings. Take care and be alert.

This country is still the sfaest place on earth to move about freely.

Get real and get a life!!!
AnswerID: 216522

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:42
and from a cat culling expert
FollowupID: 476927

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:57

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:57
Nuff from you, you bitumen jockey
FollowupID: 476930

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:59

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 20:59
Truckster,
A lot of posters have made assumptions as to the nature of this attack. There are many itinerants and alcoholics who camp like this both around Katherine and Darwin. They often maim each other for a drink or for the rermains of the fortnightly disability pension. Lets get all of the facts first.

Mike.
AnswerID: 216523

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:57

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 21:57
Mikee

I can't beleive that we finally have a well adjusted and logical person on this site.

The statement "Lets get all the facts first" is a particularly radical view and may lead to the demise of this Web Site. LOL

Kim
FollowupID: 476929

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:32

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:32
It's difficult not being a drinker on here when Friday rolls along. Friday Funnies, Friday nights, Friday drinkies and Friday fights LOL
FollowupID: 476947

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:41

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 22:41
Footloose

Another well adjusted person! That makes two.

Do we have a full moon tonight?

PS I look forward to the Friday Fights (FF)

Kim
FollowupID: 476954

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:17

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:17
Where's my script?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 477181

Reply By: lifeisgood - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:00

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 23:00
An ugly subject and I guess we all feel a little nervous camping alone or with only a few strangers. I wont be discusing the subject with my wife either.
In balance however its the drivers on the roads that are by far the more serious threat. Thousands maimed and killed across the continent every year vs a few isolated bush muggings which like shark or croc attacks receive dis-proportionate press coverage.
Compared to remote camping in many of the worlds countries I think our overseas tourists will feel much better (rightly so ) when sensibly camped here.
Its really a very safe country.
Happy camping everyone , you cant beat the freedom.
AnswerID: 216547

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:24

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 00:24
I think we're all missing a point here.

My point is how are we gonna improve violent attitudes when we force feed people violent entertainment?

It's like trying to cut the road toll while selling everybody faster cars.

Or trying to cut the rate of obesity when junk food is available everywhere!

Or trying to improve kids education by teaching 'em somethinbg other than reading, writing 'n arithmetic!

Or trying improve the health system by shutting down hospitals!

This is one crazy **^%$*ed up world,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 216771

Reply By: 75Troopy - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 17:02

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 17:02
Dunno about the violent video game theory.. I play them daily and so far haven't had any physco out bursts...

IMHO geeks play computer games, thugs actually roam the streets break bottles, windows, stealing etc... Most of the guys I know who play games like me a well and truely nerds.. ie we'd be beaten up by a 80 year old lady in a wheel chair :-)

Personally I think the issue is that we have a "politically correct" society, so children are not taught about responsibility or the consequence of there actions... we are now seeing them grow up into amoral self centred beings who really don't care about other people.

Troopy
AnswerID: 216863

Reply By: ross - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:04

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:04
The notion that we are living in a society where you are more likely to be murdered is a myth
Australia's highest rate was in the late 1890s at 2.5 murders per 100000.

It tapered down to about 1:100000 in 1940 (funny how we need a war to get the murder rate down)and peaked again at 1.9 in the late 1980s.

At 2000 it was trending downward which kind of throws out the theory that movies are to blame.

Certainly no evil movies around in 1890 ,unless you count the black and white silent film about the Kelly Gang

The reality is most murders have an element of alcohol and/or drugs involved.
If your not heavily into them ,then your chances of getting bumped off plummet.

What is changing is the instant news phenomenon.
AnswerID: 216921