SPINNIFEX ON CSR

Submitted: Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 17:47
ThreadID: 41508 Views:3461 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
CAN ANYONE GIVE ME SOME IDEA ON HOW REGULARLY DO YOU HAVE TO CLEAR THE SPINNIFEX FROM UNDER YOUR VEHICLE WHILE ON THE CSR?
PLUS WHAT MONTH YOU TRAVELLED. IS IT LIKELY TO BE FLATTENED OUT AROUND MAY / JUNE ETC.
ALSO TEMPERATURES DURING THE DAY AND NIGHT FOR THIS PERIOD?
REGARDS
VIV

Reply By: Red One - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:22

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:22
G'DAY VIV,
IT DEPENDS ON THE CONDITIONS. LOOK UNDERNEATH THE 4WD.

TEMP IT DEPENDS ON THE CONDITIONS. LOOK AT THE BOM SITES.

REGARDS

AnswerID: 217091

Reply By: Member -Outback Mac C (VIC) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:45

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:45
Every time you stop during the day and a big check at night, especially if you are on petrol. Spinifex was high early May. Temperatures mild day and night.(Not personal experience but friend who are here with us now and just back from 8 months touring.
cheers Mac
AnswerID: 217099

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 23:38

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 23:38
HI Viv,

Outback Mac has it in one here. Check it whenever you stop and you can't go wrong. The stuff gets in under the car and really caused a birds nest. I went about June/July and it was still enough to have to clear out at nights when checking the vehicle out.

Have a great trip

FollowupID: 477592

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:50

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:50
Hi Viv,

If you just stick to the CSR and don't go off-track across spinifex plains you are not going to have a heap of trouble in the winter when all the other traffic is on the track . I only pulled and prodded stuff out every few days and we were going off track a lot . However I did trail shade cloth underneath the front of the car and I do have a shade cloth cover over the bull bar - I guess it makes a bit of difference , but it does not stop the problem build up around the exhaust pipes .

It can get so compressed under there , that it is like fibre board , so the more you do it , the easier it is .

We found temperatures were below freezing or around freezing on many occasions at dawn and quickly warmed up to around 16 to 24 ( think ! ) .

Willie .
AnswerID: 217101

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:46

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:46
There is nothing like the smell of burning spinifex resin to prompt you to look often.

BTW just a little snippet I am sure most of you already know....

It isn't Spinifex at all. Spinifex grows on the coastal dunes only. Hummock grass is the name of the grass in the desert regions. There are about 20 species and I think Triodea pungens and T.basedowwi are the most common species in the desert regions.

AnswerID: 217109

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 00:06

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 00:06
Then why do a Central Desert Aboriginal Clan call themselves the Spinifex People?

Don't try and break down years of tradition of calling it Spinifex.

We all call it Spinifex and Spinifex its stays!!!!!!

FollowupID: 477599

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 03:38

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 03:38
No David, I didn't realise that. Nor do most folk from Alice. Maybe that's the problem with 'common' names.
My understanding was that "Triodea" spp are generically referred to as 'Spinifex'.
'Hummock grass'? Dunno how many arid land folk would point out those lovely, soft, rounded (sensual even) mounds as 'hummock grass'.
Maybe they transmogriphy (THAT'S NOT A WORD!!!) from hummock grass to spinifex upon first contact.
I'm happy to learn Dave. Happy travels, Jeff.
FollowupID: 477615

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:45

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:45
Willem

They call themselves a name we translate to Spinifex People. When they are actually calling themelves "spikey grass" people or something similar.

FollowupID: 477646

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:55

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:55
I've found a more literal translation. Pila is just one word a large group of Aboriginal People including the Pila Ngaru (so called Spinifes people) use.

Pila describes the low plains covered in hummock grass, the areas between dunes. So I guess the Pila Ngaru call themselves people of the hummock grass plains.

But Willie if it makes you feel better, you can call them Spinifex. :-)

FollowupID: 477648

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 23:34

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 23:34
From "Spinifex and Sand" C. Arthur Pearson 1898 by David Wynford Carnegie.

I am told that the term "spinifex," though generally employed by those who have the pleasure of the acquaintance of the plant, is wrongly used. I do not know its right name, and have seen it described as "spinifex," "Porcupine Grass," "Triodia," "Triodia pungens," and "Festuca irritans." Why such a wretched, useless plant should have so many names I cannot say.

FollowupID: 477838

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 08:49

Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 08:49
Great read Equinox . It's sitting in my dunny and I read a couple of pages every day . What a man .

By the way David , I disagree entirely with your spinifex vs hummock grass ideas .

Willie .

FollowupID: 477862

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:15

Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:15
Willie,

Not my idea mate, I am just quoting the botanists, same as Mr Pearson did.

Unfortunately my influence doesn't extent to the naming of genera or species, I have to put up with whatever the botanists called em :-) and Triodia is it. Not sure of the latin root of the word, but it may refer to the divided nature of the hummocks. ie that the grass isn't a continuous cover.

tribuo : to give out, divide, allot, assign, grant, give, allow.
tricesimus : triduana : lasting three days.
triduana : lasting three days.
triduanus : three days' duration, lasting three days.
triduum : a period of three days

From Wikipedia

Spinifex may refer to:

Spinifex, a species of grass that grows in coastal areas of Australia.
Spinifex, Triodia, a hummock grass of arid Australia, covering twenty per cent of the Australian continent. Although not technically Spinifex, it is commonly referred to as such.

So feel free to refer to it as such :-)

FollowupID: 477864

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:23

Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:23
Bugger!!! I hate change.......

Thanks for the info David

Maybe I should buy a Hummer and then I can say that I Hummered over the Hummock.....lol

FollowupID: 477866

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:46

Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 09:46
Nah stick with what ya got mate. I don;t see a hummer hommocking its way along Maddigan's track too easily. And what a bugger to dig out!!!

David O
FollowupID: 477874

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:41

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:41
Does anybody know if it's possible to cut this stuff with a whipper snipper or brushcutter? Or is it too tough?

I have a good reason and I don't want to burn it either,,,,,,,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 217132

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 01:22

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 01:22
awww cmon all good prospectors know how to deal with it - the only reaon we wernt burnt out by a prospector fire last year was it was stopped b 20 mile sandy creek - Damn big fire it was too. Made soil sampling reel easy
FollowupID: 477609

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 03:45

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 03:45
Struth Bilbo, if you need exercise, you may feel free to drop our lantana. Suspect it may prove easier than hummock grass.
FollowupID: 477616

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 12:31
Strangely enough Davoe, I don't know (for certain) how to deal with it. 95% of my prospecting has been done around Meeka, Leonora, Cue, Laverton etc, where there is no spinifex to speak of.

I did have leases at Nullagine for about 3 years, but did only a few weeks bippin' up there. I saw the results of one attempted "fire clearance job" north of 20 Mile Sandy, towards Mossie Creek. My mate that had his camp there was not impressed - it nearly burnt him out. It was started by "tourists" that had found a small patch. The fire scar was as far as the eye could see! Just black everywhere.

I don't want to mess about with burning it if I can avoid it. So, is there another way? I no longer own a bobcat ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 477681

Reply By: RustyHelen - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 22:47

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 22:47
Hi Viv
We did it in early July last year.
Grass, or whatever it is, was still high even in the centre of the track. Driving into Godfreys Tank and similar spots grass was over window height. We also saw vehicles who had fitted shade cloth or similar to the front bumper/bar and were trailling it under the front of the vehicle.
We drive a petrol Paj, had a wire hook thingy made up to drag the grass out and checked everytime we stopped for a rest, snack or look. Fortunately we did not pick up any however I believe that a Prado burnt just south of the Community at about the time we were there. I do not know whether that was grass or some other reason.
Have fun.
Rusty
AnswerID: 217153

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 07:02

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 07:02
Viv,

A long steel rod with a small hook on the end, a tent peg , but a metre long, and a plastic pump spray bottle that can be filled with water should be hand at all times. The plastic bottle should be at least 2lt and/ or have more than one bottle. Putting them in the back of the vehicle, behind the camping gear could cost the few seconds that it takes a vehicle to catch on fire. The vehicle that you save might not be yours. A fire extinguisher will only last a short time and the pressure that the powder comes out could blow the flames onto unburnt grass.

The guards that are there to protect the sump and gear box are the thing that will collect the stuff. Tail shafts and in your case with the Prado the front half shafts can spin the grass in a nest around them selfs. It is the friction, caused by spinning shafts that can cause the grass to ignite.

At night we will take the guards off from under the vehicles to get into the places that are hard to reach. While you are under the vehicle a good look at the suspension and other moving parts is a good idea.

If you are in a convey, do what I do and have the larger diesel vehicles go first, they should knock the grass down and brush off any seed. Diesel are only slightly less at risk because they don't have a red hot exhaust pipe as found in a petrol.

Shade cloth is good but don't forget to clean it out as well. It could act as a wick under the vehicle.

May is the start of the trekking along the Canning and will go through until August. (Before I get yelled at, these are only approximate). The over night temperatures can get low, and during the day high 20 to low 30 can be expected.

If you go into Treks, which is the 3rd button on the right from the Forum button and have a look at Trek 108, it will have the Canning.These notes should be able to fill in the gaps that have not already been answered.

BTW. When do you plan to go and in what direction? June and south to north for me.

Have a great trip and I might see you there.

AnswerID: 217191

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:57

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 08:57
B4 u go (SMS speak) check the state of CSR access around Bililuna / Lake Gregory (Wells 50, 51). With some 200mm of rain just reported at Tanami Station / Rabbit Flat it may still be a bit boggy at the top end of the CSR in May/June.
AnswerID: 217202

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 11:28

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 11:28
Hi Viv,
As for grasses. Check often. It takes a few minutes to check and is easier than fire fighting. That grass burns hotter than a fire lighter! Just put a bit of stiff wire and a small tarp in an easy place to get too and just have a quick look each time you stop. You will get a feel for how often to check your vehicle after a few days. The hieght of the grass varies from place to place and you may end up taking alternate routes where the grass is higher. Suggest you get a water spray bottle as a quick way of putting out small fires that can happen as you pull out the grass. There is ample evidence of what happens when you don't clear the grass. Some of the burnt out wreaks are even marked on the maps. What I have found is that the more clearence you have the less grass you collect. Petrol vehicles tended to collect more than diesel. Not sure why, it was just an observation. We went through in August and the lower vehicles still picked up a fair bit of grass. We have a 79 series and I think we got 4 or 5 stalks. Temperatures are all over place there is a tendency to cooler (that is a relative term) as you move south. We had days over 40, though the nights could be quite cold (7 or 8). It can be very windy at night.

AnswerID: 217232

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 13:04

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 13:04
If you haven't got a water sprayer thingy and things are getting hot, shake up a can of beer or Coke and then rip the top off it and point it,,,,,,,,,

Use the Coke first - obvously!

It works.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 217243