Packing a camper trailer.

Submitted: Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 23:53
ThreadID: 41521 Views:4272 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
Hi all, we have just started camping again after a break of 20yrs. Been lurking here since Feb last yr when we bought a camper trailer. Big panic for me was how to cater for 3 adults and 1 dog. Add to that much gold detecting gear and accessories and too much of everything.
After buying/trying all sorts of boxes and containers have now reduced it to cooler/chiller bags from Woolies. I could not get rigid boxes to fit inside the trailer draw and they also rubbed/squeaked inside the Jackaroo. Also, every box I saw had at least a one inch lip,(wasted space) around the outer edge. Once camped, they needed lids to keep the crawlies out of the food.
Now I can fill these bags with more packets, cans or bottles than I could ever fit in a box, and I can also 'mould' them to fit into any required space while travelling. Once camp is set up, they can be left in the trailer or out of it under the 'galley' drawer, zipped up until needed and, when empty, folded up and put away. They are easy to lift via the handles, especially if you are camped in uneven terrain when you might need one hand to hold onto something, and they can be used as auxilliary esky if need be. Hope this helps camping newbies and oldies like us.
No 1 of A-u-2.

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 02:26

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 02:26
G'day A1, and welcome back to Insanity Streak. We precede you by a few years, but it's all good.
3 Adults and a dog? We just stick with 2 + 1. Heyy, allgood.
Your ref. to cooler/chiller bags. More detail please? I also get frustrated by rigid box waste volume.
So how chafe-resistant are these bags? And/or how do you pack 'em to minimize chafing? Happy prospecting A Team. Jeff.
AnswerID: 217180

Follow Up By: Member - AU-2 - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 21:30
Hi Jeff H, we take our disabled daughter with us as I am her primary carer. One extra person means that the back seat is used, but we can fold the two seater down beside her. This makes it imperative that we pack well, especially if we want to go away for more than a week without access to shops. We have done 8 days so far without re-stocking. In the mid 80's we used to camp on Fraser Is with four kids and no camper trailer, just a neighbours small trailer. I guess I learned then what works and what doesn't, no plastic boxes or chiller bags then, either. Woolies/Coles chiller bags are quite tall when standing and I can fit 5 of them side by side in the drawer under the bed of our Odyssey CT. As these bags are insulated with a thin layer of foam between the inside and outside skins, I have not had any wear & tear on them yet. We did a trip to Flat Rock Creek, south of Georgetown, nth QLD, in September and had no problems at all. On the trip home I folded three of them down and had more space in the CT for stuff from the 4wd. When I pack them I lay them down the same way that they will travel and pack them that way. There is always a little nook or cranny to stuff that last 'might need this' item. The bags are also good for keeping potatoes, onions etc, during the camping trip.
OzeSheila
FollowupID: 477810

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 16:17

Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 16:17
Thanks AU2. Discussed it with the boss, and we'll look into it. Happy travels.
AnswerID: 217499