Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 23:21
dj386
Hi again,
My wife and I have 2 kids and one on the way - what were we thinking!!!! Been aiming for a 100 series but also keeping the GU in mind. Is there any difference in width between the two wagons - fitting three baby seats across the back. Do three seats fit comfortaly in the GU?
Thanks and hope to be on the road soon.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 23:35
Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 23:35
they fit fine in my GU.
Your best bet is to take your seats to a dealer and try them for yourself.
Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 23:38
Wednesday, Jan 24, 2007 at 23:38
Having recently owned both and still own the GU, I would say the 'Cruiser has a tad more room inside. But I've never measured either of 'em.
I don't think that either of 'em had fixings for 3 baby seats. I only ever saw 2 - but my kids are 30 and 35 years old and when they were born, cars weren't invented back then!
;)
Try looking on the Manufacturers websites for the relevant vehicle specs.
Bilbo
Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 01:35
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 01:35
Kids get bigger quickly and together with this you need some flexibility with seating.
What put us off Nissans was:
- No lap+sash
seat belt and No headrest for the centre
seat of the second row of seats (safety issues); and
- the second row of seats splits in the centre which is uncomfortable.
A 100 Series has lap+sash and headrests for all seating positions and the second row of seats splits 1/3 & 2/3 which makes it more comfortable.
EV700
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 08:06
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 08:06
Unless they've changed, I think you'll find that the 2nd row of seats in the GU only has provision for 2 baby seats to be anchored, plus there is a point behind one of the 3rd row seats (which would be a pain to try and get a child into I reckon).
Our kids are now 6,9 & 11. But, when the youngest was born (about 1 month after I bought the GU in late 2000), I was faced with this dilema. Although the oldest boy was okay (no baby
seat needed for him), the 2nd lad was still in a booster
seat and we had to put a capsule in the middle of the 2nd row. No anchor point was availbale. But, we had a cargo barrier.........
Now, the do-gooders will get upset with me.......
I bolted a piece of steel across the width of the cargo barrier (in the cargo section). It was just at the height of the back seats. I bolted a baby
seat anchor bracket to that bit of steel and attached the capsule to it.
As far as I was concerned, that set-up (although not compliant with the law), was at least as safe as having the capsule anchored to a "proper" point........which, after all, is just a captive nut with a decent sized washer under the floor. In my mind, my set-up was anchored to 4 (FOUR) solid anchor points; the 4 bolts that held the cargo barrier in place.
Fortunately I never had to find out whether my engineering skills were up to the task, but I still stand by my decision.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 12:22
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 12:22
Roachie,
You crack me up!
",,,,,,,,,No anchor point was availbale. But, we had a cargo barrier......... "
I thought you were gonna say something else 'n I could just see this child hitting the steel mesh at 110kmh and coming out the other side in little neat cubes!!
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 08:01
Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 08:01
neat little Nissan cubes...
Roachie, I agree, this solution was more sound than the hole in the floor and a washer I reckon. In Vans they install a bar that runs from one side to the other, mounted to the side of the cargo area, or the cargo area window frames and then secure the baby seats to that.
Your solution was at least the equal of that.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 09:45
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 09:45
gday DJ
I think, as others have said, the cruiser may be a little bigger, and have a better back
seat (seatbelts, headrests etc). we fitted the car
seat in the middle with 2 extesion straps from the mounting points to the join between the seats, which worked perfectly, and gave us I would consider the best mounting points, can't go forward, or sideways at all. Sitting on the crack in the middle is not an issue (Ihave never done it but SWMBO has on occasions between the 2 kids seats without complaint, which she is good at!)
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Wayne-o - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:11
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:11
Hi mate,
you asked which one is wider and as usual u got,
mine is this, my mates is that.....if you go to the nissan website & the toyota website they give u the accurate measurements of the two vehicles. You wont have any troubles with either vehicle.
Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:17
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:17
And the answer is catergorically that 100 series is wider at hip level and sides go up straighter reaching over an effective 100mm wider in
places , good for packing in the kids and bad for getting through the bush
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 22:35
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 22:35
Yes Robin, you only have to compare the width of the centre consoles to see the 100 series is over 80mm wider. The Patrol is actually closer in width to the 120 series Prado.
Plenty of extra packing space as you say but for those that really like to go bush they are by far the widest truck on the tracks & get more than their fair share of the scratches & dints.
Cheers Craig..............
Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:22
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 10:22
I've owned both and the 100 seems much bigger inside.
Reply By: dj386 - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 11:04
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 11:04
HI and thanks again for your help. Cool suggestions re fitting the third
seat. I've been scanning the local nissan dealer but they don't have any Patrols in stock yet. When they do, I'll go in and have a look. I've already looked at the Landcruiser. Sounds like either vehicle will do the job
well, though will have to be a bit creative to get the third anchor point. Our kids are 4, nearly 2 and 6 mths to go. Really appreciate your feedback.
DJ
Follow Up By: Craigww2 - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 12:55
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 12:55
After looking at the rear of my 98 LC100 there was 3 bolt holes for restraining points behind the 1st row of rear seats.. They looked standard as they were all painted etc. the only thing is maybe you need to buy one more attachment loop which cost about $10 if only two are provided. I just pulled out the three points last week. I will not need them and have thrown them away (should never use second hand stuff like this)
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 11:29
Thursday, Jan 25, 2007 at 11:29
There is only 2 anchor points for the 2nd row of the Patrols. Thats because they have a 50/50 split for the seats. There is usually another anchor point in the third row.
I think the Cruiser is better in that regard , along with the Lap/sash and head rest for the middle of the 2nd row.