Drive with care in the ACT, we are a state of dobbers...

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 13:49
ThreadID: 41698 Views:3496 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
DOBBER CAPITAL Water cheating brings out worst
Brad Watts

DOBBING in people who deliberately flaunt Canberra's tough water restrictions is setting neighbour against neighbour, the ACT Conflict Resolution Service warns.
The service's executive officer Katrina Spyrides says dobbing has become embedded in Canberra's backyard culture and is not a positive social trend.

Actew Corporation received about 400 calls this month from residents dobbing in neighbours for breaching water restrictions, with eight infringement notices issued since December.

Ms Spyrides said while some people thought dobbing in water cheats was their "civic duty", it was not the best solution. "When you have a good relationship with you neighbour, you feel comfortable about going next door and talking to them," Ms Spyrides said.

"It's better to let it slide once, if it's not a frequent occurrence."

Ms Spyrides said sometimes dobbing was also the perfect retribution over another neighbourhood squabble.

"Dobbing is a symptom of a bigger problem if you have a bad relationship with a neighbour, they are going to know who [the dobbing] is from and that escalates the problem.

"It's un-Australian [to dob] if you don't give your neighbour the opportunity to rectify it themselves."

Traffic offences are also a prime target for ACT dobbers.

One website, idiotdriver.com.au, which provides an anonymous forum for motorists, has been inundated with frustrated drivers posting nasty messages.

The website's manager Matt Ashton said ACT motorists ranked highly among the fuming drivers who reported dangerous traffic offences. "It's fantastic that there's a forum where they can get something off their chest - it saves people taking their physical aggression out on people," Mr Ashton said.

"People also like the fact that it's anonymous." Another anonymous website, Rate the Plate, showed the ACT had the second highest rate of dobber drivers.

In South Australia, an official hotline for dobbing in dangerous drivers has taken more than 8000 complaints since April last year.

However, the ACT Government and ACT Policing have dismissed the idea of a dedicated hotline.

A spokeswoman for Police Minister Simon Corbell said the ACT Government had no plans to establish a similar hotline at this stage.

"We have a Crimestoppers line, where people ring about a range of crime and driving concerns they can do it anonymously and this serves our function," she said.ACT Policing said concerned drivers could report criminal behaviour on its normal response line 131444.

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 13:57

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 13:57
Better know as the DOB in a mate policy

It doesn’t get any more un-Australian does it.

I can understand if people are just blatantly wasting water, but for the guy giving his car a quick hose down on the lawn evry few weeks at 7Pm who cares.

AnswerID: 218176

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:36

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:36
People living with stage FOUR water restrictions might care! Ballarat for example is down to 16% water storages.
FollowupID: 478613

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:46

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:46
well .. very much in line with the poppy syndrome .. and thats everywhere ..
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 478630

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:08

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:08
And do you really think not using those 20 litres of water every 2 weeks to hose the car down is going to change anything with the ever-increasing population.

It’s a Band Aid solution.

I could shower for 20 minutes each day wasting countless litres of water down the drain and still be A OK in the eyes of the government

But if I have 5-minute showers and then choose to give the $55,000 investment in the driveway a quick wash on the lawn every few weeks in the evening I am wasting water

Yeah right ok, I see how that works.

FollowupID: 478643

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:31

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:31
I read somewhere that the urban user of water uses about 7% of the total water consumed in Australia. Farms use about 70%.

See , we are not all that bad after all, however we do need to eat on occasion.
FollowupID: 478719

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:07

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:07
I'm disappointed :( I looked here:

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

but discovered I'm not on the site - I was quite looking forward to having a read of someone bitching about me :)

AnswerID: 218179

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:40

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:40
Why not make it a personal goal Mike? After all, any fame is good fame ;-)

I failed to appear as well, but I did expect to find the usual anti 4WD tirade and was surprised that it was not the case.

As Matt Mu pointed out, the sorts of conclusions you can draw from this type of site are suspect at best. But interesting that 4WDs don't feature in the way some sections of the press and lobby groups would have us believe.

Is anyone aware of a site where you can register careful or considerate acts on the road?

FollowupID: 478761

Reply By: aeiou - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:15

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:15
Wow,

Atleast on the stats page 4WD are ranked low......

AnswerID: 218181

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:09

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:09
Mind you, they're an angry bunch down in Mexico, aren't they? Vics have 3x the number of complaints than NSW.....
FollowupID: 478798

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:28

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:28
Appalling behaviour.

May a thousand flaming poo bags be deposited on their meddlesome, tut-tutting, caniving little rodent like beady eyed, un-Australian doorsteps to the mirth and merriment of BBQ patrons in years to come.

A few dozen late night pizza orders and some loads of brickies sand for delivery on the front verge wouldn't go astray either.

Talk direct to me if you have a problem or at least drop a note in the letterbox.
AnswerID: 218183

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:34

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 14:34
A friend of mine used to drive a audi quatto - not a powerhouse of a machine and with awd was not prone to wheel spinning even if you wanted it too.

H e was dobbed in to the police for doing burnouts on a suburban street in Dickson ACT and was given an official warning that goes on his record - he of course did not do this and the report was either malicious or an error, as only a rego number was given. There is no investigation, he has no right of appeal against this warning or cannot have it removed. His only course of action is to take out out a civil action against the police to have the record removed.

What this warning means is that if something happens in the future, this incident will be taken into account by a magistrate in determining a penalty.

I have no problem in dobbing in someone for something serious but these dob in lines can be vindictive and nasty and reports should not betakenon face value - malicious reports should be penalised.

Garry
AnswerID: 218184

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:25

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:25
Garry ,

Guilty until proven innocent . Nice .

Willie .
FollowupID: 478628

Follow Up By: chumpion - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:23

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:23
Hmmmmm..... Guilty until proven innocent......

Anyone know what Scrubbies licence plate number is? I know he drives a forrester, and lives in Mosman......

Lol - I kid...I kid...

FollowupID: 478992

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 17:35

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 17:35
One thing about Australians is that we have no time for people who don't comply with the rules. The rules are there for the benefit of the community. If people chose to ignore the rules then they are acting with complete disregard for the community. Choose the behaviour - accept the consequences.
AnswerID: 218204

Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:04

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:04
Gday Mr Fawlty,
If the Gov. want people to cary on like this why not start right from the top and have Dob-in-a-pollie?
AnswerID: 218207

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:18

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:18
Just reading some of the comments from the site, the following caught my eye......

"This lady driver was speeding in the right hand lane while talking on the mobile phone all the way from start of FRANKSTON DANDENONG RD in DANDENONG to well pass FOUNTAIN GATE Shopping center."

The dobber must have been speeding too if they could comment on her over that distance!!!!! What a load of rubbish.......

AnswerID: 218209

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:09

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:09
That a problem with these 'dobber' posts.... Most of the time the dobbers are just as guilty as the people being reported. How many of the posts do you read stereotypes displayed in the writing...Bloody typical - Volvo, 4WD, Jap Import, blah blah blah.

These arent legitimate posts they are just idiots venting themselves and can contribute to the 'mob' mentality that we as 4WD owners deal with everyday!

Can you believe the amount of posters complaining about obscured number plates.....isnt that what started Scruby off on his personal vendetta??

Ahh they should all get a life...this is not going to stop idiots from driving like idiots...maybe we should just start planting trees alongside motorways again...let natural selection slow them down.

FollowupID: 478737

Reply By: allanmac856 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:32

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:32
Interesting thread & I do agree with Exploder about the water thing. I am very aware of trying save water; short showers etc etc, but I am guilty of giving the 4by a quick hosedown on the lawn, did it yesterday actually. Go to the local car wash, get of all the mud etc, then finish off with a hand wash at home. Do I feel guilty? no because imo I make up for it in otherways, like I said, short showers etc.

BTW, whilst many say 'dobbing in' is unaustralian, I am sick of the dipsticks out on the roads, especially those who speed in side streets. I have gone to the local police with rego numbers/car descriptions etc as I would prefer to be seen as 'unaustralian' if it reduces the chances of my young daughter, and other kids, being hit by these 'fruitcakes'. In short, some success as police targetted area with some success. What will no doubt alarm some 4wders here, is that I have also contacted the state authorities in regard to 4wders driving closed tracks, doing donuts in camping areas etc etc.

Unaustralian?, some will say yes, but so be it

AnswerID: 218361

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:15

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:15
One major problem with the water theory you and Exploder advocate , its all good and well to beat the chest and exclaim that you save / ed the water in other ways , the short shower ect ect , but then you use the so called saved POTABLE water for washing the vehicle , whats saved ?? NOTHING.
FollowupID: 478812

Follow Up By: Camoco - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 23:07

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 23:07
Whilst I do as much as I can to save water, like the rest of us, I understand the comments above about "saving" water by short showers etc.

I feel likewise that, as I run the entire house from tank water, I should be able to crack the town water taps open a bit as I need to. I use about 5 litres to wash the car (I do it from the tanks) and this is far less than most.

If I was using town water, and abiding by the "short shower" theory, I would feel justified by doing so.

I would feel confident that the "short shower" people above WOULD be saving water even if using some to wash their cars. It is a mentality you get into about wasting water unnecessarily and you tend to be frugal about your habits even if they are not always "lawful".

In most dams, evaporation is greater than consumption. The powers that be should be attempting to rectify that issue (especially where multiple dams are concerned) instead of screwing the consumer into a guilt and dob frenzy.

Do I feel guilty when watering my large garden with my rainwater? I used to, but now I am proud to be a successful water manager and I can use it as I see fit.

I am referring to rain water rather than captured run off water. I harvest 100% of the water that falls onto my roof (if the gutters work). Damming is another issue.

That's my two cents worth (+GST)
FollowupID: 478930

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 00:39

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 00:39
Mr Fawlty

Why not try a blog site? Site Link
AnswerID: 218526

Reply By: Big Woody - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:01

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:01
About 1 year ago I had the opportunity to spend an hour having a personal chat with the CEO of the Bundaberg City Council.
During the conversation I asked him why the city had not placed any water restrictions on the residents.
He replied that "if they were to impose high level water restrictions on every residence that uses town water and somehow reduce the cities water consumption rate by 50%, that would be equal to eliminating 1.5 sugar cane farms from the area. The amount that the city uses in comparison to the cane farms is insignificant." There are hundreds and hundreds of cane farms in this area alone.
Every single day I drive to town I can see at least 20 water winches at work irrigating cane and that is just from the short distance I travel on 2 roads. I think each water water winch uses somewhere in the vicinity of about 100 litres per second or 360000 litres/hour. The farms I used to work on had pumps that would fill an 8000 gallon tank in about 6 minutes.
(And I felt guilty for washing the dog with the hose yesterday as we are not allowed to use hoses on Mondays - WHAT CRAP!!!)
A Burnett Shire (beside Bundaberg) councillor recently advised that Burnett Shire has not applied water restrictions due to a shortage of water but due to an inadequate infrastructure for carrying the water. He said that the demand was such that if the power were to go out for more than 4 hours, then the community were at risk of running out of water as the pumps that feed the water up to the holding tank are almost running 24 hours per day trying to keep up with the demand for water. An improved system is currently under construction and on completion in the next year or so, he said that water restrictions should then be lifted again.

Brett
AnswerID: 218538