Railway semaphore signals HO gauge

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 15:42
ThreadID: 41700 Views:3628 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
I know this is way OT but I also know that someone on here will have an answer for me. I seek drawings of semaphore signals of the steel latice standard type suitable for me to make models in HO scale...
None in the shop, just 4X4 stuff, quite odd really still I guess you can't cater to all tastes...

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:19

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:19
Are we talking American, English or Australian..

I can help with Yank stuff I think..

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 218194

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:24

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 16:24
Australian, specificaly Victorian but what is important is the actual construction of the steel lattice towers. The arms could be easily made from just looking at photographs...
FollowupID: 478627

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:06

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:06
Mr. F...

avvasquizzhere

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 478641

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:56

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:56
I've got an absolute HEAP of HO stuff that I don't know whether I'll ever get around to using. It's all NSW stuff, but I reckon that "somewhere" I have a etched brass kit (not made up) of a Victorian lattice signal. It seemed to me to be very similar to the NSWGR version, except that it was a somersalt type whereas NSW used a "standard" lower quadrant style.
If you're interested, I will try to locate it.
Let me know.
AnswerID: 218233

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:36

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:36
Mr Roachie, Sir, sounds the shot, I am conferring with my client to ascertain his requirements. This would be a very practical solution as the parts could be used to provide ortho negs that would enable mass production via etching. I'll let you know whether it's required or not, mean while you get your abacus out & work out a price for it...
Basil
FollowupID: 478759

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:52

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:52
Strewth mate, I gotta find it 1st.....hahaha

Will let you know once I've had a search......
FollowupID: 478762

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:22

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:22
Lemme know what you have Roachie, our club has a big HO NSW/Vic layout, would be kewl to have some HO to go with my USA N Scale.
FollowupID: 478771

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:40

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:40
G'day Mr Fawlty,
Hooray!!! It was exactly where I thought I'd filed it!!! How's that for a memory?
Anyway, it's a commercially-made brass kit with 2 pages of instructions. The brass etching is very fine and even with my former modelling skills (I used to build DJH kits of NSW steam locos as a 2nd job; completed over 600 from 1987 to 2001, including 164 x AD60 class Garrett locos), I was still too timid to ever tackle this kit!

Anyway, the kit was made by a mob called "HERITAGE SCALE MODELS" based in Eltham, Vic. The instructions state that there is 2 frets, wire, 4 lamps and styrene strips......I only have the 2 frets here now.

If you're still interested you can have them for $30- (I'll cover postage).

Truckster: Where do I start? I have a number of made-up DJH models of NSWGR steam locos. I have about 300 items of NSW rolling stock circa 1950s era. All of these have steel tyres (instead of the plastic rubbish that most kits were sold with). I have about 20 or so brass steam locos of NSWGR prototype etc. One of these days I might get around to selling some more of this stuff on ebay or maybe via AMRM (if that publication is still around?)
Let me know if there is anything you particularly want and I'll let you know if I have it and how much I'd want for it.
FollowupID: 478858

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:21
Any 38 class locos and passenger sets?

What NSW Freight you got? Email me an idea of what you have and what ya want...

Ebay will go down well for u, but if you want I can list it up at our club and see what results we get Everyone there is into Aussie stuff, I'm the youngest there the rest are retired gentlemen ;)
FollowupID: 478897

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:47
No 38's left these days mate (used to have 2 x streamlined brassies plus 3 non-streamlined brass too).
Passenger rolling stock consists mainly of the 12 wheelers (TAM, MFE? etc) plus some of the 8 wheeler carriages etc. Also reckon I might have a set of 3 of those clerestary roof 12 wheelers too. I'll have to do up a comprehensive list and email to you. What's your email addy?
FollowupID: 478910

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 21:49

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 21:49
fu_kew
at
hotmail
dot
com

FollowupID: 479325

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 20:16

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 20:16
Hi Mr Fawlty, try the like bellow it will take you to Railpage.

If you haven’t been there before you will quickly find this to be Australia’s premium rail related web site.

These three sections that would be of interest to you.

At the top of the forum page is the sections on both Victoria and Melbourne, then go to near the bottom and there is a section dedicated to Model Railways.

Anyway you should get some answers there.

Railpage
AnswerID: 218235

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:23

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:23
Mr Faulty - if your in Vic, theres 2 clubs that would interest you.
Let me know.
AnswerID: 218378