Trip Planning

Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:23
ThreadID: 41752 Views:3572 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
Old shearer mate & I were taste testing a slab of Melbourne when he suggests we give some thought to upcoming Kimberley Kaper. So we decided to make a list of
whats NOT going. We'd only had 6 so were still a bit sensible..
First up was DOGS..useful for rounding up sheep but serve no purpose on the road, other than keeping you out of all the best places 'cause they're banned.
Then GAS LIGHTS..hissing damned things, mantles last 10 minutes. We agreed that SAT PHONES, HF RADIOS, EPIRBS, GPS & COMPUTERS were far beyond the
scope of simple bush folk to comprehend, so will look at scenery instead. No TURBOS, BOLT ON COMPRESSORS, SNORKELS, LIFT KITS or DIFF LOCKERS..
might be nice but hardly compulsory. No HIGH LIFT JACKS, DRAG CHAINS, BULL
BARS, SIDE STEPS or ELECTRIC WINCHES..just a lot of heavy iron. No ROOF RACKS..pull it not push it. No CB RADIOS, sooner talk around campfire with a Bundy. Make that a JB for me mate. No ENGELS or WAECOS so dont need DUAL
BATTERIES, INVERTERS, SOLAR PANELS or PORTABLE POWER STATIONS. No TV,
DVD or PORTABLE RADIO..no kids..no need. No COOPERS,BFG or other flash
rubber..perhaps when present ones wear out.
Then mate says NO BEER. I say WHAT ??. But he meant it was my shout.
So I go & get refills & he says NO COMBS & CUTTERS. I pat him where his hair used to be & we adjourn the discussion. Covered some good ground though.
Saved about $15k & 500 KG. Not bad for starters we thought...oldbaz.

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:32

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:32
You could leave the women home too. That would save heaps of weight. I mean all the extra food, clothes, bedding, hair dryers, microwaves etc etc. The extra weight in the wallet would be the only disadvantage.
You would use less fuel, wouldn't have to stop for photo's all the time. The possibilities are endless. LOL
AnswerID: 218406

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:36

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:36
Yes, indeed, only one problem, neither of us game to suggest it, not on one slab
anyway. :)
FollowupID: 478802

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:51

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:51
more wimps...what's this world coming to?

FollowupID: 478806

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:48

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:48
So you save $15k and 500kg , which then leaves you with room and $$$ for bulk amount of beer , trouble is you dont explain how your going to keep your beer cold enough to drink !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 218409

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:58

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:58
No trouble, they're called FINCH, two by 40l, 3 way. 8 to 4 on 12v, 4 to 8 on gas.
One for tucker, other for ???...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 478808

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:05

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:05
So you now have an extra $15K to pay others to get you out of strife ? Kool.
AnswerID: 218412

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:21

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:21
Dont be hasty, you havent seen the list of what we are taking yet, have you?
...oldbaz
FollowupID: 478830

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:49

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:49
Ah ok, sorry posted before brain in gear :) I thought you were talking minimalist not brand less :))
I have a test for 4wds. If it's got stickers on it then they are possibly posers LOL I suppose they could always be being sponsored by their stickers, but somehow I dont think so.
I'm a minimalist myself. But if I had the spare cash I'd probably prove to be a politician. Some things I wont skimp on, but as I get older the vehicle gets heavier every trip away.
Gadgets and gizzmos are useful and fun if you have the spare cash, but not essential. I rekkon the most useless thing that you can take is a passenger :)))
I remember when I was a kid I camped in a small tent and carried everything in a rucksack. Guy next to me had a great 4wd and van, luxuary compared to me. He told me he envied me, because I would be away in 5mts, he's spend another hour before he could go.
FollowupID: 478859

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 13:54

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 13:54
Must admit to joining the posers...have just put EO windscreen sticker across
back of Scroogemobile C/t. Should help identify me to those that think I cant
get to Kimberley & back without all the toys :0)...oldbaz
FollowupID: 479015

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:05

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:05
C/T ? Thats hardly minimalist. Sticker on CT ? Hmm.... Sounds like you have a few hidden toys LOL
FollowupID: 479017

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:11

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:11
That was a great read, love it!
AnswerID: 218416

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:20
I'm working on upgrading my list as I ALWAYS take too much and i figured i'd also start with whats "not going" A number of things on your list I don't even have. but communication I will make sure I have, not sure what at this stage

As long as the beer is cold should be a good trip :)

I also agree you need more than a SLAB to tell the good lady due to weigh restrictions on this trip your staying home LOL wimp YES but alive one :)

AnswerID: 218417

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:24

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:24
Sad thing is, that half a tonne of gear and half a year's worth of age pension is no substitute for driver skill.

And as Footloose said (well sort of), others will have the stuff which you can help them use if they get into strife.

Always assuming you have the skill - but half a tonne less sounds attractive. I think we have all been conned by the aftermarket industry!

Max
AnswerID: 218419

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:32

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:32
Ah!! Max, fancy you suggesting that I was suggesting we may be conned by the aftermarket industry? You bet I was. I enjoy the odd toy or two too but to believe
you need half this stuff to go outback is not true. What do you consider I am not taking that will get me into strife? remembering that you dont know what I am taking or where i am going....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 478832

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:51

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:51
oldbaz

Not a sausage - just suggested that others with all the gear and without the skill may need a helping hand. :-))

Just saw your long list of stuff that I often wonder how many tonnes I have carted around the countryside to never be used. I just guessed you have a bit of driving skill - love to hear your feedback in due course!

max
FollowupID: 478846

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:15

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:15
Sorry Max, I Misread your post. No I have no particular driving skill , only the experience of 25 years agricultural boom spraying with 4wd. My point is that I feel
many dont get to see the wonder of our outback as they are inhibited by cost. I'm
suggesting that most of this add on gear is ornamental to the average outback tourer, & you only require a reliable vehicle & a bit of common sense & basic recovery gear. Take it all if thats your choice, but if you think a Sat Phone or
GPS is a must have then we must agree to disagree.:)...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 478853

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:28

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:28
I was a bit worried about the 'No Coopers' bit, until I realised that you were talking about tyres.

A couple of slabs of warm Coopers should be handy to keep you amused while sitting bogged in the dark waiting for some passer-by to help you!

8-)

Mind you, I would only take three or four of the items you list, but those three or four could save a lot of problems.

Definately no Bl%@#y generators!
AnswerID: 218420

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:00

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:00
Why would the Coopers be warm? I think I already covered that. Why will I be
sitting in the dark bogged? I camp at about 4pm & I have a shovel & I know how
my Tirfor works :0)
Which four items do you think I should reconsider?
FollowupID: 478847

Follow Up By: greydemon - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 18:34

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 18:34
You don't need to reconsider anything - you got me like you got most others! Not taking an Engel but taking a Finch, not taking an electric winch but taking a tirfor etc.

I couldn't go without my Engel and dual batteries - I have never needed any fancy recharging equipment 'cos I run it as a freezer and only open it once a day to take out the day's food and swap over the 2 litre milk bottle of ice. I would want dual batteries anyway as I never feel too happy flat batteries when driving an automatic.

The UHF radio has saved me from a lot of trouble on and off road, and the high lift jack is I suppose not necessary if you have a bottle jack but it's easier and quicker and has got me out of trouble in the past so earns it's position.

Other than that, the less the better. After generators my pet hates are tvs/radios/cd players and any other noise makers you don't play yourself.

Have fun on your minimalist trip!
FollowupID: 479079

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:43

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:43
Yeah! I sat around recently with my old mate and almost word for word can tick of your list against ours. In the end and after the amber fluid stopped we decided not to go and more the point, if we can't have any of it we'll never go again!!

andy
AnswerID: 218446

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:03

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:03
You give up too easily, Andy. :)...oldbaz
FollowupID: 478848

Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:04

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:04
Barry

Tell me about the dunny paper mate, or are you using twigs? LOL

Kim
AnswerID: 218448

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:21

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:21
Kim, you betcha !!! Never stir your tea with a straight stick. :0)...
Now tell me what you really think......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 478854

Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:54

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:54
Barry

My old man used a matchbox full of bush flies to to stir the billy! LOL.

Kim
AnswerID: 218457

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:03

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:03
So at a guess you have a 3 way fridge, a tirfor, Trailer, box of matches, maybe some firewood, a swag, tarp, food, water, paper maps, A schmick, reliable vehicle, shovel, bottle jack, base plate, tyre changing gear and quite a few cartons of amber ale and bundy.

and maybe some extra fuel in jerries

So how close am I Oldbaz

AnswerID: 218465

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:30

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:30
Hi Kev, I might keep my powder dry on what we will take for the moment. Will
probably post on that angle when the dust settles a bit.
You are right about the 3 way, the Tirfor, Trailer, matches, shovel,bottle jack. base plate,& tyre gear. no firewood, no swags, not sure about vehicle, only had it 2
months but have confidence in it. No more than one slab either, even 3ways dont
appreciate being charged with hot grog. Buy it cold & put it straight in is the go.
Bundy ?. Well it does travel well, if not long. :0). ...oldbaz.
PS. Long range tank plus emergency jerry only.
FollowupID: 479025

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:09

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:09
Sorry mate cant agree totally, you sound like an old fart like me, and so wouldnt go anywhere without some form of emergency communications, HF or at least an epirb, cos you never know, and you cant beat car to car comms if you have more than 1 vehicle, and as for your 3 way fridge, been there done that, give me a compressor fridge anyday, cant stand warm beer!!!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 218467

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:19

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:19
Hey Pesty, you sussed me for sure, no argument about the old fart bit. I dont
consider HF radio or Epirb at all necessary where we're going. Lucky to have time for a pee before someone comes along. If you refer to emergency medical help
will carry one nurse & her bag of tricks, if that aint enough,so be it. Only one
vehicle, four drivers. Never found other peoples UHF chatter to be particularly
absorbing :0). I can only say that my 3 ways perform faultlessly, suit my
application, I can camp for weeks in one place without all the paraphanalia required to do so with compressor types, or overnight with no risk of flat batteries.
I have nothing against any of the gear I am not taking, I just dont need it, not for this caper anyway...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 479021

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:14

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:14
Hahahahaha, Old Baz

Very funny...men after me own heart.

Wish I could do the same now, as we used to do it then

Well Ive made a start and have discarded the roofrack...lol

AnswerID: 218483

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:42

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:42
G'day Willem, pleased you were amused, enjoyed it too. I dont think some can
get their heads around not taking some or all of that stuff, thats fine. We take what suits us, it wouldnt suit everyone. I think some can visualise us sleeping on the ground under a barb wire fence, but it aint necessarily so. We have every faith in our ability to go there & back without all the toys, & will suffer no discomfort in the
process. Look out for a future post on what we will actually take, it may surprise.
We intend passing through your part of the world early in our journey, perhaps
we could report in so you could tell the masses we havent perished yet for the
lack of an epirb :0)....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 479032

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 18:42

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 18:42
Yeah mate, drop in for a cuppa.

FollowupID: 479081