Info please...buying L/Cruiser 100 series..
Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:19
nott
Hi there,
I am currently looking at trading in my 2001 Mitsubishi Exceed Petrol 3.5 Ltr Wagon that's done 158,000 klms and purchasing a 2002 Landcruiser 100 series, 4.2 diesel, base model with 140,000 klms with the only added extra being a bullbar. I'm looking at doing a straight swap at this stage....
I have been 'burnt' previously purchasing a 2001 Nissan Patrol 3.0TD when it needed a new injector pump and $8,000 later the problem wasn't fixed so I thought (especially being a woman) I'd do a bit of research this time into the pro's and con's of the Landcruiser 100 series diesel. Any advice ?
While were at it: the Cruiser doesn't have any service books or history with it, so if I was to get the VIN number, does anyone know if I can access a Toyota database for the service history ?? Looking forward to some knowledgeable replies.....thanks everyone.
Sue
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:26
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:26
Most important thing to do is check the Vehicle Security Register in your state in order to ascertain the validity of the vehicle. Is it a rebuild (after accident damage), is it stolen etc. The VSR will be able to provide you with a certificate of validation at least that way if any of the above should come to past, then you would have a claim against MRD
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:36
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:36
Never heard of the VSR, but will now definately check it out, many thanks.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:28
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:28
Can you reveal why you would want to swap?
Otherwise it wouldn't make sense to acquire the other vehicle, as it will use more fuel, cost more to service, and doesn't have a service history. Odds on, there is a major bill waiting for you there.
There must be a reason why the other owner would want to swap, and there must be a reason why you want to get out of the Mitsubishi. :)
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:35
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:35
Thanks for the reply. I get my diesel for free and the Mitsubishi costs on average $350 per month to run. When we tow our Jayco Swan Camper I only get 430 klms to 90 ltrs of fuel !!!!! Yep....that's right. Apart from that I love the Mitsubishi it's been a really good vehicle but the fuel price definately hurts.
I do appreciate your
views on the service costing's etc and will definately keep that in mind.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:45
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:45
Ah, $350 per month will buy you a lot of oil changes and filters for the diesel.
But do check out the ownersip as suggested and do try and find out why there's no service history at all. It doesn't necessarily mean there's a problem waiting for you.
Good luck. Sheesh, that fuel consumption is far worse than my 3.5 auto Jack when towing, and it's not known as frugal....
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:47
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:47
Have you considered a new Terracan Diesel? You'd have far more power than the L/C, better fuel economy, and 5 yrs warranty.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:47
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:47
Nott,
By the time you take the extra servicing into account you will not be saving anything. The 3.5 Mits are reasonably ecomonical and you KNOW the vehicle. I would not touch any diesel with out a service history. Landcruisers are very good vehicles if serviced
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:50
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:50
What extra servacing? 10k intervals and reel easy to do youself if you want
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:09
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:09
Pete,
The Mitsubishi has 160,000 klms on it and I worry about future reliability with so many klm's creeping up. You did mention 'reasonably economical'......I get 430 klms from 90 litres of fuel, around town and towing the van. I thought that was pretty bad acutually ! On a run out west we get about 600-700 klms per 90 litres, but we don't do a lot of long runs without the caravan anyway.
Weve owned the Mitsubishi since 145,000 klms and it's sprung a few oil leaks which have been fixed but will certainly make a note of the servicing costs etc, thanks.
Sue
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:11
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:11
Gerhardp1,
We acutally looked at the Terracan a little while back and just can't afford much money at this stage (as the Patrol pretty much drained the bank account). So that's why were looking for a swap or a small change over.
Sue
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:55
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:55
Sue ,
I missed the bit where you can get free diesel, My advice than is to get a 4wd expert to check the cruiser out. Even if it costs you $200.00 it will be money
well spent .
Good luck Pete
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:36
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:36
biggest con is going to be the power. These things wont keep even the slowest traffic in sight. If you need to do alot of city driving in it then you better be sure you want it.
Make sure it is not an ex miner as that could explain the lack of service book. Last sight I was on even the cheif geos wagon did some stints underground when vehicles were short
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:14
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:14
I've been told that the power may be a problem, especially compared to the Pajero as it flys. I'll take it for a test drive 2morrow and check it out, again.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:21
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:21
Sue:
I hate to be a harbinger of doom but... if someone is willing to swap their 4WD for your 4WD, and you are clearly a novice, I suspect they will get the better deal?
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:40
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:40
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your post. The Landcruiser is actually with a dealership and they offer a 3 mth or 5,000 warranty so fingers crossed if anything might go wrong it will do so within the warranty period, providing I decide to purchase it of course !
Reply By: Stu050 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:47
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:47
G'day,
I have recently (last year)traded my '94 Paj in on a '02 Landcruiser.
If it all checks out, you won't regret the trade, apart from a lack of racehorses, compared to the Paj. The poverty pack are fairly slow off the mark, but that can be improved on with the addition of a turbo.
Trying to get any sort of service history out of Toyota could be difficult, unless it is a local vehicle. At 140,000KM it is only just run in. The engine, if maintained properly, should be good for at least one revolution of a 6 figure odometer. (try getting that from your Paj)
Mine gives me roughly 13L per 100KM, and the standard
tank will get me from
Rockhampton to Bris with the rear full of
camping gear and 4 people.
On the highway it takes a bit to wind up to pass anything, so just be aware of that, but I would never go back to a petrol engine again.
My .02
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:44
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:44
Thanks for that, I was starting to feel depressed, but you have cheered me up !
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:02
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:02
Hi there Sue if you like send me the number plate, chassis no, and if possible the engine no, More importantly the chassis no. I have a few contacts in toyota still where I use to work and might be able to find some info for you as all toyota dealerships are linked. If not serviced by toyota then wont be able to help you, BUT if it has had any warranty work done during the warranty period then might be able to get some history on it for you with any thing repaired. Email is stephenkelly@optusnet.com.au. Steve M
Follow Up By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:45
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:45
Hey Stephen,
Thanks for that. I will be at the dealership tomorrow to have another look at it so I will get all of the details and send you an email tomorrow night. Much appreciated,
Sue
Reply By: spliney - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 09:15
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 09:15
Sue
Can only speak for me - but I LOVE my 1HZ - magnificent vehicle! Who cares that it's a tortoise? [Well maybe the guy behind me does!!] However, once it winds up it'll hold the speed limit all day, no matter what the load. And it's never let me down in difficult terrain. 200000 km and still drives like new.
Basic servicing is breeze - all components easy to get to.
Best of luck with your decision.
Spliney
Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 11:38
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 11:38
spliney,
thank god someone spoke up. People seem to forget that they are in a 4WD that is not a race car. I also love my 1hz and my 2h which is even slower but I have 510K on my 2h and have only ever replaced the clutch (other than usual maintenance), and have never had a problem with the 1hz. Sure they are a little slow but who really cares. I am not that impatient.
Once again everyone loves their beloved vehicle and will generally curse the others.
Toytruck
Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 23:29
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 23:29
Add me too those thought as well.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 00:03
Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 00:03
hey dont get me wrong I luv my 1hz as well but I would always caition people that it may not have the power they want round the city. My beast i a prick round the city with its sft springs wallowing everwhere and 1hz - its fine on the highway if there are no hills or much overtaking and just perfect out bush.
BTW if you want a reeeel slow vehicle my 80 would eat any 79 Ihave driven for breakfast
Reply By: markeaust - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:25
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:25
Sue,
Further to the other replies... I have the base model Toyota, 1HZ 4.2, which I bought from the auctions down here in
Melbourne. I saved about $10k on buying it from a stealer and it came with a winch, bullbar, dual batteries, cargo barrier, towbar and 45k km on clock. The books said it was a vehicle belonging to DSE who I rang to follow up on its 'life' and service history etc.....then bought the vehicle.
I went through the Nissan Patrol v Toyota thing and whilst both vehicles have their foibles, I felt that the Toyota would be easier to get parts for in the remotest locations. There are literally thousands of Toyotas in the outback/
Western Deserts, both locals with 75/78 series utes (many similar parts) and a "Fritz in Britz" about every 10 mins. Those who live in the most remote
places such as the Gunbarrel Hwy (Carnigie Station) have quite a few Toyota utes and funnily enough a 1HZ base/poverty pack wagon.
As for the power issue, they are a little slow...(my old '92 model 4 cyl Disco would leave it for dead), but I have been driving 4WD's for 20 years and by now am used to it. If I was going to be doing a lot of towing of a heavy van I would definately consider either the Patrol 4.2 Turbo or whacking a turbo on the Toyota. From my research on Turboing the 1 HZ....it can be done and many have had no longevity issues but some have. The quality of installation is important and to do it well is not cheap.
In terms of driving it around the city, I try to avoid it and take the wife's Mazda when possible, but I don't find it too bad, but I couldn't give a rats @rse about the impatient hoon behind...they will still be at the lights when you catch them! I find it a very comfortable vehicle to drive (I have the GXL bucket seats fitted and a console) and fairly quiet, until the speed gets up to 100kph...she starts to sing a little then.
Fuel economy is quite reasonable and will vary between 10.5l/100km unladen at about 95kph to 12.5l/100km laden with a heap of camping gear. I'm about to tow this month so am not sure of the figures with a heavy van....yet.
With vehicles, it's horses for courses and what suits me will not suit everyone as priorities are different. Good luck in your decision.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 22:22
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 22:22
I drive mine through the city, I was in Bris over Christmas. One does have to watch out for low rooves on the rare occasion one gets fuel.
Some bloke even asked me what type of phone aerial (GSM or CDMA) I had on the bullbar. (It is a 9350!!) ROFL :)
The 1HZ is definately slow off the mark, but who cares?? I wouldn't have it any other way.