OziExplorer, PDA's or Palms

Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:41
ThreadID: 41764 Views:4549 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Howdy all,
Hope you all had a good & safe Aussie W/end.
I'm looking at using a PDA or Palm computor with OziExplorer to marry up with my Garmin 72 for in vehicle navigation.
Q.1- Has anyone done this?
Q.2- What make of PDA or Palm was used?
Q.3- Does it do the job satisfactorily?
Q.4- How has it been installed in the vehicle?
Q.5- Knowing what you know now would you go the same way?

I was originally going to set up the Garmin with a Toshiba laptop, thinking it through I’m a bit concerned (safety side of it all) of having a laptop setup or hanging off the dash of the LC 80 series.

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions would be most appreciated.

To those who responded to my dilemma previously with OziExplorer, Ratmaster maps and the GPS, I have it all working ok on the desktop. Even did a trip on the great Aussie W/end and downloaded track, waypoints etc. and all seemed to work OK.
So thanks a lot for the support and info.

Franga

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:58
I went the easy way....or should i say that SWMBO did.
She got me a Garmin iQue-M4. PDA and GPS in one. I run Ozi throughthe PDA memory, and put all the maps on a 2gig SD card,,that is all of CD1 of the Raster Maps. It does what it is supposed to do when it is supposed to do it, and i still have heaps of room an the PDA memory to store all my other bits and pieces.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 218497

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:20

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:20
I have an Acer N35 that does that too with an inbuilt GPS. I also run TomTom thanks to some great members on this site.
I have a 2gig card for Natraster, a 512 for TomTom and another 1gig for my other maps. It uses an SD card.
As long as the PDA runs Windows, it will run the other programmes.
FollowupID: 478921

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:20

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:20
G'day Rick
Just for interest sake- what other 'bits & pieces' do you run on your PDA?? Apart from your navigation applications that is.
We are running Ozi with the 250k mosaic and Destinator at this stage.
FollowupID: 479022

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 20:33

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 20:33
Gday Signman, as well as the Ozi, i also have the full OzToppo CD on the SD card, along with the 20m contours, as well as having the city navigator stuff from Mapsource (Garmin). I run windows mobile 5 on the PDA, and this allows all the usual stuff,,,,,contacts,diary etc. And just to keep the rugrats happy there are about 6 or so games as well..
Mind you,,,i still have to figure out how to use it all.....lol:)

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 479123

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:29
q1. yes

q2. ipaq 3870 purchased off ebay with expansion slot. uses both sd card and cf card in the second slot. With 2 gig caards no=w avail probably doesn't need the second card.

q3. Does and excellant job

Q4. I used a RAM mount with suction cap to window so I can put it wherever I want. Sometimes the passengers are interested in where we are going or navigating otherwise it sits on the drivers side.

q5. Works for me and would do it again. Keep the laptop safelyt stowed and is always there for a backup. The PDA screens can be viewed in sunlight unlike laptops.

DAvid
AnswerID: 218502

Follow Up By: dj386 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:36

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:36
Hi Outnabout David,
Do you know if it is possible to run GPS through a non-windows palm? I have a Tungsten T5 with SD Slot and 256 flash memory.
FollowupID: 478924

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 07:55

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 07:55
No....straight from the Ozi website:

PDA's Supported

Handheld - HPC (CE version 2) , HPC Pro (CE Versions 2.11,2.12) , HPC 2000 (CE version 3.0+) and CE.net versions 4.2+
Palm sized - _Permanent_Painted_Coatings.aspx (CE version 2.0 and versions 2.11,2.12)
PocketPC - PC2000 (CE version 3.0+)
PocketPC - PC2002 (CE version 3.0+)
PocketPC - (Windows Mobile 2003) PC2003 (CE version 4.2+)
PocketPC - (Windows Mobile 5.0)
ARM , MIPS , SH3 , SH4 , and Intel PXA2xx cpu's (Xscale) are supported for all platforms where applicable.

OziExplorerCE will not run on

PDA's using Windows CE version 1.
Smartphones
Palm Pilots and any other PDA not using the Pocket PC / Windows CE operating system.
We have tried to support all device types and all Pocket PC and Windows CE versions from version 2.0 onwards.

Other than the exceptions above we do not know of any Handheld, PalmPC or PocketPC that OziExplorerCE does not run on.

FollowupID: 478955

Follow Up By: dj386 - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 17:40

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 17:40
Thanks for the detial mate. Will keep looking into it. Just starting out.
FollowupID: 479070

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:40

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:40
I have a Magellan Color Meridian with some of the older technology that looks apparent in the '72 you have. Look to the newer Bluetooth GPS on eBay with a Sirf chipset. More satellite channels doesn't mean it picks up more channels but the sensitivity and speed of acquisition does. means you will get more satellites under tree cover and get logged in in seconds after switch on not minutes
AnswerID: 218506

Reply By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:12

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:12
1. Not as such - I'm not sure if it's possibly to connect your unit to a pda. I use a bluetooth gps.

2. hp ipaq 4150 (small, thin & quick, with bluetooth gps), & ipaq 5965 (thicker & heavier, built in gps). Both with good size displays

3. Yes, it does the job well. I always want a bigger screen, but that's the perpetual trade off with these units - small & convenient.

4. Bought a metal case, screwed it to a bit of flat mild steel which was bent to slip in and screw to the roof of one of the holes in the dash. Pda sat flush with the dash next to the stereo.

5. Yes, would go the same way again. Have tried getting a touch screen off ebay and running that off the laptop. Although the screen is bigger (and I would consider this if I was going on a major trip with only one or two people in the vehicle), with cables going everywhere, an inverter for the laptop, etc etc, and the setup/startup etc, it is a pain in the backside.

The pda + bluetooth is cable free (charge the gps overnight/every day or two), except the power lead from the cigarette lighter for the pda. Easy to remove if I'm stopping in town - both units can be in the glove box in about five seconds.
AnswerID: 218540

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 10:41

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 10:41
Franga,
I am running a meridian gold with an Ipaq 4150 and OziExplorer. Have had no probs what so ever. Got all the RAM Mounts and connection cables from GPS Oz. As said above the cables are a bit of a pain in teh bum and am currently looking to hard wire everything. If I had to do it again I would go bluetooth.

Toytruck
AnswerID: 218556