GQ fluids & oils
Submitted: Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 14:25
Member - Barnesy (SA)
Gday, What gear oils do people use for their GQ's? Doing my 40 000km diff, gearbox and transfer case oil change for my December 91 4.2 diesel GQ. My workshop manuals state different oils for each diff, gearbox etc. Can anyone offer advice please. Changing the fluids in preparation for around Oz bush trip.
Recommended:
Front diff; SAE 80w-90 GL5 hypoid gear oil
Rear diff; SAE limited slip 80-w/90 GL5 hypoid
Gearbox; API GL4 or GL5 SAE 80 or 90w gear oil. but can use SAE 140 GL4 for high temp use or extended low range (i will be doing this)
Transfer case; dexron III (have been told this is too thin and to instead use VMX 75/85).
Appreciate any input into suitability of these oils.
What do people think of using the 140 in the gearbox? How about using that in the transfer case too?
Would the LSD diff oil be suitable for use in the front non-LSD diff too?
Whats the difference between GL4 and GL5?
Barnesy
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 14:31
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 14:31
Barnesy
Mate I been using this for last 6 months and I thinks it's damn good,if tyou look to the left side of the page you will see a little link called "which oil do i use' click on that.
www.fuchs.com.au/html/localnonflash.html
first time I posted this brand it bleeped the brand name out
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:14
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:14
Thanks Doug. Haven't heard much about Fuchs oils, my local sprint sells them and says they are good. Will look into them.
Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 14:58
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 14:58
Use only synthetic oils everywhere here Barnesy.
Same oils in GU as my previous GQ.
Mobil 1 SHC 75-90 diffs transfer and gearbox.
Note- have no lsd any more but when I did used SHC 80-140ID
GL5 has higher level of EP additives (bit better in trucks)
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 15:33
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 15:33
Robin, thanks for responding. what do you think about using hypoid 80/90 in the front diff, transfer case and gearbox and the LS 140 in the rear diff?
Is it worth it using the LS 140 in the gearbox or front diff you reckon? Or just stick to normal?
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 16:17
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 16:17
Presume the 80/90 is a GL5 extreme pressure oil Barnesy.
Hence think this falls into catergory , of you could but why
not use standard , which will have less friction.
I would certainly not be using LS140 in gearbox , it would
make gears harder to change, even forgetting about the friction
modifiers. Synthetics make gearbox easier to use.
Now you could get away with LS140 in front diff , but again
I wouldn't and would stick to normal.
(Don't like thought of LS oil on bearing seals)
The heavier oils don't make things last longer and provide
fuel wasting drag , better to have the right grade with higher
GL (pressure rating) if worried about wear.
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:22
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:22
Good points you make Robin. Looking up about Penrite they recommend 80 for g/box and t/case, hypoid 80/90 front diff and LS 140 rear diff. I phoned mechanic (as i wrote below accidently) and he said it would be cheaper if he did it. He gets the oil in bulk and saves heaps. You have given me something to think about.
Barnesy
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 19:35
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 19:35
Hi Barnsie
Do a search on the
forum for "Limslip"
In the past there has been lots of good debate on oils for the GQ generally and specifically the Rear diff.
Kerry
| Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen KellerLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:13
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:13
Thanks Kerry I will do that.
Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:00
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 21:00
Hi Barnsey,
Correct me if I have missed something here, but 40,000 Km's on a 91 GQ ?????
Do you ever drive it ?
That works out 2666km per year, most of us do more than that in one holliday, lol.
If this really is the case, when you're ready to sell it in a couple of years give me a call :-))
Pezza
Follow Up By: lifeisgood - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:16
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:16
He meant every 40k and the service is due
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:17
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:17
It has been sitting in storage for the last 15 years. No not really, every 40 000km the oils should be changed. I phoned my mechanic and he said it would be cheaper if he did it. He buys the oils in bulk which saves heaps, rather than buying 2 litres here, 5.4 litres there. I suppose sometimes DIY actually costs money.
Barnesy
Reply By: lifeisgood - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:24
Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 23:24
Tried the 140 once ( a multi grade) but too much problem with changing 2nd gear early morning. suggest staying with 75 or 80/90 in gearbox and transfer.
A nissan mechanic once suggested !0% Dexron in g/box but I didnt notice any difference so stuck with the above.
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:18
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 00:18
Thanks lifeisgood. I wasn' too sure about the thick oil in g/box. The manual suggests only if using in high temps or for long periods of low range, the cold starts could be a problem though. Seems like those oils you suggest are the go. Now I just have to find the cheapest way of doing it. $30 for 1 litre of limslip 140.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:05
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 02:05
Lifeisgood, what do you use in the fromt diff? Both Penrite and Fuchs recommend hypoid 80/90. This will be the first time i have done the gear oils since buying this 4wd so i want to get it right.
Barnesy
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:34
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:34
Barnsey,
I don't own a patrol, but thought the Patrol rear diffs were supposed to have 85/140LS.
I always put the same oil in the front diff as I've put in the rear. LS oil is fine in an open diff, especially on a part-timer.
75/90 for both the gearbox and transfer.
that way you only need two types of oil.
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:39
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:39
I was just going by what it said in the Haynes/
Gregory manual about the rear diff. After some research I have found that Penrite make an oil called limslip 140, basically specifically for the Nissan rear diff. It has a higher viscosity than the 85/140 especially at high temps. Many with Patrols swear by it.
I may have to use a different oil for the front diff. But the 75/90 seems like a valid option for the box and t/case.
Barnesy