waeco ct32 litre

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 18:11
ThreadID: 4186 Views:2126 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
i am thinking of puchasing a waeco 32 litre fridge and (warmer)
to put in a couple of beers or three in
what is the catch with these they seam very cheap at 250 $
do you get a cold beer out of them
and can you leave them on overnight or do they flatten the battery
or am i better off to stick with my esky for overnighters
thanks

Reply By: sloth - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 19:44

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 19:44
personally, if you are only overnighting stick with your esky. There is a LOT of bags of ice in $250.
AnswerID: 16719

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 20:12

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 20:12
I don't even buy bags of ice much these days....just freeze 1l milk cartons full of water! Lasts heaps longer than bags of ice.

Leroy
FollowupID: 10349

Follow Up By: sloth - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 20:30

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 20:30
fair enough. Save your money mate. I also reckon it would flatten your battery. Without being too sure, i understand the unit you are loking to purchase would blow cold air over the contents using fans.

Toe
FollowupID: 10350

Reply By: ray91 - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 21:04

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 21:04
I used to have one they keep things about 20 deg lower than the outside temp. O/k in the car with the air con on 24deg in car 4 deg in fridge.Leave fridge outside in 36deg =16 deg in fridge, not real good for the beer.Also the motor runs all the time not on and off like a real fridge yes battery goes flat in 6/8 hours.
AnswerID: 16730

Reply By: Mick - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 22:15

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2003 at 22:15
The important thing is that they don't use a compressor. Their power consumption is therefore much higher .... rough comparison is that they draw 4 amps continuously compared with 3 amps about 30% of the time which equates to 1amp. They are also much less efficient but they are certainly cheap!! An equivalent compressor fridge will cost at least 3 times as much. I paid $100 for a 3 way second hand. It's great on 240v and 12 volts while the engine is running. When I make camp I put it on gas and it's even better then!!
AnswerID: 16743

Reply By: Steve L - Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 07:58

Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 07:58
I think you'll find the 32 litre unit cools to 30 degrees less than outside temp (to a minimum of 5 degrees), and heats up to 65 degrees.

We have a 7 litre unit in this same style (to supplement our 40 litre unit when using it as a straight freezer), and the smaller units only cool to 25 degrees below ambient temp. Basically we keep the frozen goods in the 40 litre unit, and run the 7 litre jobby during the day to keep drinks cool. I actually used the small unit last weekend while away 4WDing and camping to heat a heatpack for my back, and it worked a charm.

We got ours from www.fridgeshop.com.au as a factory second, and paid half the new price. Delivered the next business day, no problems. We have no problem running both as we have a dual battery system - that said it will drain the battery much quicker than a compressor-type fridge/freezer.
AnswerID: 16755

Reply By: Member - Peter (WA) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 18:22

Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 18:22
If you live in WA I will sell you mine ($180) it is only 6mths old I have upgraded to a Weaco CF50 ,the one you are looking at was ok but drawers to much power for my need and was a bit small .Born to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard

Peter York 4x4

AnswerID: 16808

Reply By: Member - diamond(bendigo) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 19:40

Thursday, Apr 03, 2003 at 19:40
there not to bad an idea for keeping drinks cold on long trips we have one in the back of the patrol we use to keep the kids happy with cold drinks but we use the fridge in our camper trailer at our camping spots.they do use a bit of power so we only have in running while we driving.the other thing i do is put beer in it on the way to camp when we get there there nice and cold.and i can drink them while im waiting for the big fridge to cool down my other beer. looking foward to easter at jamieson
AnswerID: 16815