Tyre/rim question

Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:34
ThreadID: 41899 Views:3422 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
i have a 80 series fitted with the standard split rims and 235/85/16 tyres. Am wanting to ditch the split rims and put on sunraysias but dont want to have to fit flares so was thinking 15x7 ( 15 in tyres are cheaper and 15 in rims half the price of 16's ) would be the maximum width without the use of flares. My question is what size tyre should i go ? would like to keep get the biggest diameter that i can. any help ?

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:41

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:41
Brother in law with the base model 80 series is running 265/75/16. Same OD as the 235/85/16 at 32"/805mm. Don't seem to stick out too far.
You could fit 31/10.5/15, 265 wide as well, but 31" OD.
They would use 15x7 rims.
Knew some one who fitted 32/12.5/15 on 15x8 rims.
They did see a little proud though on the stock body.
The 15" are cheaper.

Other option I suppose if you have some milage left on the 235/85s to swap them over to 16x7 rims for future 235/85/16, or to 16x8 for future 265/75/16.
AnswerID: 219265

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:47

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:47
I think you will lose a lot in diameter going to 15" rims if you don't want flares. I don't know the biggest diameter you can get for that size rim. I was in the same boat and picked up some 2nd hand 16x7 rims with tyres and when it was time to replace the tyres put on 235/85s.I also wanted to retain maximum diameter without flares and I think this is the best option.

Go here Site Link and click on technical details for a chart with tyre size matching rim width.

AnswerID: 219269

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:20

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:20
Mate,

That is a very disturbing photo of, I presume, your son ?

It makes me laugh and shudder simultaneously ... lol

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 479824

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 23:22

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 23:22
Oh, you mean 'pig-boy' lol
Yep, he's mine alright. Makes me laugh and shudder simultaneously too. He comes out with some weird stuff for a 5yo, could be an alien genetic experiment; he certainly doesn't get it from me ;-))))
FollowupID: 479903

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:00

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:00
depends on the year I dont think 15s fit post 92. Besides this 16 inch tyres cost more for a reason they are tougher constructed typically 6 ply for 15s and 10 ply for 16s. My 80 runs 235s on sunrasias they stick out maybe 1/2 inch and I think i would be unlucky to draw attention. Putting 15s on is false economy
AnswerID: 219275

Follow Up By: RUM'N'RACIN - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:07

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:07
what width sunraysias ?
FollowupID: 479798

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:22

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:22
usure but 6 or 7 inch will take 235s I think 7 inch takes 235 and 265s giving some flexability. i reckon mine are 6 inch
FollowupID: 479800

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:40

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:40
G'day
Just been thru the same exercise with the Troopy. Standard splits with 235/85 SR16.
Replaced with 16x7 Sunraysia type rims & 265/75R16 tyres. These are only about 14mm less in Diameter, so if you worked it out, it would be stuff all in rolling circumference. No probs. with width.
AnswerID: 219282

Reply By: Big Woody - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:38

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 18:38
Find some 16" x 7" Prado rims and fit the 265/75 R16's and you will have a great set up. Depending on the brand of tyre but I just had a look at a couple of different brands and these tyres are 6mm taller in diameter than your current tyres. (I don't know how this new system works as I would have thought a lower profile number would mean smaller diameter???)
I have these on my 80 series and the offset of the Prado rims keeps the tyres inside the line of the mudguard and doesn't hit anything it shouldn't on extended wheel travel off road.
I agree that going to 15" rims would be a step backwards and not sure if they would interfere with brake callipers if your cruiser is post '92.

Brett
AnswerID: 219308

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:57

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:57
Why change from 235/85 splits as I am sure if you are into the rough stuff up North you will have a lot more problems if you change.I have seen so many people who regretted going on the hard stuff with the wrong tyres----only my opinion.Maybe you are doing most of your driving on sand or bitumen which would be fine.
AnswerID: 219329

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:16

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:16
I would fit 16' X 6'' one piece rims with 235 X 85/16 BFG A/T. that will give you the same rolling diam and keep your sidewalls safer from staking and not effect sand driving and no need for flares. I put 7" one piece rims on our 80 series and the 235 X 85 /16 were stretched out a bit too much. I now have 265 X 75 to pull the sidewalls in a bit and they have the same rolling diam as the 235's so I carry a 235 as a spare to keep it from hanging down like dogs b*lls at the back. Just my ideas. Good luck.
FollowupID: 479852