townsville rain

Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 19:54
ThreadID: 41910 Views:1612 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
love it!!had about 200 mil so far and more to come!
ITS BEEN A LONG TIME !

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:47

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:47
Officially it's been 378mm for the 7 days to 9am Friday, 02 February 2007 (source: BOM). Paluma only received 776mm!!

Oh, the rain.......

AnswerID: 219339

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:09

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:09
Great Andrew how about getting a few bottles filled and shipping some down to us in the the SEQld mate......... or getting Peter to build a pipe line down to us LOL
Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 479871

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:18

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 21:18
Would love to give our excess away, though i wonder if some funding will come our way now for flood-proofing the Highway in NQ? ;-)

You are always welcome to come and live up here :-)

FollowupID: 479874

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:23

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:23
No worries mate, a little warm up there for me these days just move from Yeppoon to Nanango 12 months ago, but I lived in Townsville on and off for a few years. I can remember trying to get back there from Rocky once too me about two weeks back in the seventies.
Hope it all tunes ok for you guys up there.
Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 479886

Follow Up By: Marn - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:53

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:53
or get peter to build a pipeline past all the cotton growers so the rest of the country can get some water down the darling
FollowupID: 479894

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 02:07

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 02:07
Andrew you water-purifying mongrel you! It is SO good to see someone get some rain on the E coast at last!! I feel for the many who have suffered income/property damage. It's a bit like bananas post cyclone, I guess. (btw, we're ex El'Arish, so have a basic understanding of the industry/climate).
We, locally, have scored 60, 9 and 30 mm starting December last, so we're pretty good, and I feel for the poor buggers still in drought/fire, but the land really is in need of good, prolonged rains.
Again, my heart goes out to those who have taken a hit as a result of the deluge.(And tourists, stranded at an airport, generally are excluded, despite ABC reporting). May you get drying days soon, (and may OUR skies cloud over). Jeff.
AnswerID: 219390

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:37

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:37
Mate, i have no sympathy for the banana industry despite all the false reports thrown around in the media.

Whilst i arrived in Innisfail to assist with the response/recovery effort early, there appeared to be widespread destruction of the banana crops amongst others with all of the trees snapped in halve and facing west on the southern side of Innisfail and all others facing east on the northern side of Innisfail.......powerful sight. However i arrived back there 4 weeks later and every banana plant had 5 or so large leaves on it.

Someone described the plant as a weed as to how it just re-establishes. Anyway, went through the area 3 months later and i would defy anyone to recognise if the banana trees had been in a cyclone. Whilst the start of one crop may have been lost, the crop recovered quickly (8 months later and the prices were back to normal levels).

I feel more sorry for people who lost their homes and/or jobs as i believe the banana industry never told the whole story behind how well the industry can recover.

ex El'Arish.......who would have known ;-)

Those passengers stranded at Proserpine airport were well looked after, even if as you stated they hadn't really taken a hit :-) The Whitsunday Council, SES, Police, Firies and Ambos all know each other in Prossy and did more than most to assist these people. Our SES guys spent the day helping out people in need, and even assisted the staff from the other Emergency Services to access their work via floodboat to relieve staff. Whilst the media communicates one facet of the minor flooding, the true story lies in the community assistance given by the township to these "tourists". It's what i like about the Whitsunday's Emergency Services :-)

Go south Rain....

FollowupID: 479946