V8 Troopie picture
Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:18
Member - Phil G (SA)
Found this on another group. What do you think?
!MPG:20!
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:25
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:25
Nice
Hope it still has the same dash..:-)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:09
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:09
Must have, you can't change everything after all this time. ;-)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:32
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:32
Love it also, can't get better than that.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:44
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:44
John (& Ray)
pity we got ours for the long hall 10 - 15 years
can't afford to spend so much money just to swap it over in 3 Years ;-)
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:29
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:29
Does it come in diesel with front and back springs ? :))))))
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:34
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:34
no springs on them just some foam rubber, suffer :)
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:41
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:41
No way. FOAM RUBBER ? How bizarre LOL
I had leaf springs on my 60, going to an 80 series was like going to a Merc and leaving the horse and cart behind. Love my coils.
But according to sauces (HP, Tomato etc) even the leaf Troopies can be made more comfortable with aftermarket.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:59
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:59
LOL, sorry but I wasn't quite sure what you were getting at so I came up with a smart arze answer, too many beers on a sat night, should have listened to my mother, don't drink and post...lol
They all have springs don't they, apart from those morris 1300's and those citeron things ?
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:14
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:14
Yep, either leaf or coil springs. The troopies got a coil front and leaf back some time ago.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:35
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:35
I Like it and I want it , wishful thinking , but I like the way it has retained it's Troopie look along the side
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:53
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 18:53
Phil,
Not sure where that
pic came from but obviously looks like an impression rather than just a plain
pic. Seeing as though the ute photo's we've seen look similar (everything from the firewall back unchanged) I'm sure this is it.
The Motor show was supposed to have the new model there, someone must have been and taken pics?!?!?!?!
Would love know the facts on the motor. So far we've heard between 4.2 and 4.5l and between 150 odd and 200kw.
C'MON who went the show and have you got pics!!!
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:02
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:02
4.2l or 4.5l V8 ??.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:07
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:07
The full size of that picture shows the writing on the rear quarter panel as V8 4500.
Will look heaps better with a nice steel bull bar and some Light Force 240 XGT's on the front. But not bad all the same.
Hope it still has the ridged front axle???
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:29
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:29
Those tyres wouldn't pass a roadworthy
Reply By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:31
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:31
Phil-
I got some good photos of the new ute at the Brissy Motor Show last night.
If you post your email I'll send them to you.
-Matt
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:37
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:37
Is there any Pics of the 4 door version?????
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:49
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:49
How about the Troopy itself??
Any info on the engine and
suspension specs??
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:51
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:51
The blokes on the stand didn't seem to know too much. The had no brochures or anything on paper for that matter. They did say there would be a 5
seat, 4 door (not including the back ones), 70 series wagon to replace the live axle 100 series. The ute at the show was pre-production and the only new 70 series in the country (so they said).
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:53
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:53
Thanks Matt Didn't you get down on your hands and knees and look underneath??
Any pics under the bonnet?
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:08
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:08
I did get underneath, not with the camera though. Nothing noticeably new under there.
I did get photos under the bonnet. Big intercooler and plenty of room for a 2nd
battery.
If one of you members can give me an email I can send you the pics and you might be able to post them for anyone else that may be interested in them.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:15
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:15
I starting to wonder how much they may have changed on this model???
It looks like the rear is the same as old and all they have done is push the side guards/body out to the same width as the 78/79 series guards currently are.
Would they have even spread the chassis rails for the V8? or will it fit between the existing rails and they have gained extra under bonnet width/space for the
battery and other stuff allowing the 8 to fit straight in???
Seems like it may have all the same running gear underneath then Axles etc???
What about the dash?? I hope they have not changed the dash. LOL.
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:24
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:24
Dash is identical to my 92 model (except the colour).
The bloke at the motor show said the rails hadn't been widened nor had the track.
And it's definitely 4.5 Litre, unless the bloke that made the sticker on the side was on drugs.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:34
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:34
Hi Cruiser,
Send pics to me at scl@sclsd.net.au and I will attempt to post them up for all and sundry to see.
Muddy
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:47
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:47
Pack rack, bull bar, kaymar rear, bush bar/side steps and
drawers should all change over....ummmm....time to update? I'm figuring at 20,000kms its about time!! Will SWMBO be prepared to accept the logic?? Who cares...it's lookin good.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:56
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:56
Hi Leigh
I was just thinking the very same thing, LOL all the existing stuff will shift straight over, saves a few bucks.
Good old Yota nice to see them keep a proven design, also guess that have so many 75/78/79 dash, body panels, axles, seats etc etc in the warehouse that they will keep building the same stuff forever.
PS.
By the way that picture on your signature does not look like the Wonnangatta River, more like the Black Fella road house on the Anne Beadell. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:41
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:41
Matt, Thanks a heap for sharing those photos. We went out last night, so thanks to Muddie for hosting them.
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 21:37
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 21:37
No worries Phil, happy to contribute.
Your posts have been very helpfull since I bought the shorty.
-Matt
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:04
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:04
Well Phil,
I can sort of live with the Gay Mardi Gra's Prado bumper bar as long as it has live axles and the much publicised 4.5 litre turboed V8.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:18
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:18
Bull Bar fixes the crap front bumper.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:30
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:30
Hi John,
You've got it in one.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:36
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:36
Looks like a Ford Courier grill and 99 Pajero lights........
But if its got the live front end and 200kw of turbo diesel, I wouldn't give a hoot what it looks like as even this one eyed Nissan fan would take a closer look when it gets to the Yota yards. (Dual cab for me if available)
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:47
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:47
150kw is closer to the mark...
Liva axle remains...
Reply By: Stu-k - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:49
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:49
Looks great!!!..............just like last years model lol. Onya toyota just take em little steps lol.
Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:59
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:59
But what about the driveline???? The pissy little axle flange studs, the weak gearbox which can't cope with the present engine, wheel studs, diffs, and your excited about a turboed V8 . The thing needs to be rebuilt from the ground up if hp is to be increased dramatically.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:25
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:25
If my memory is correct and maybe someone else can confirm these points.......
Axle Flange studs increased in diameter years ago.
Gear Box was only a 5th gear issue in the first of the 78/79 series Turbo's 7 odd years ago, no longer an issue.
Wheel Stud diameter also increased when changed to 5 stud pattern but no different an issue than any other brand that is overtightened.
Front Diff, yep still an issue that needs to be considered.
But then again who said they have not addressed some or all of these points we are still guessing about the overall package at this point.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:56
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:56
John.
Well thats right, its only guess work at this stage, BUT! those modifications were needed to improve reliability on previous models, Its no good increasing hp and then rectifying weak points down the track, somebody gets upset usually the customer, seems to be a issue with Nissan & toyo over the last few years!, just look at this
forum., and the thingsthat have been complained about.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:15
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:15
True Axle thats one reason I bought the 4.2 TD 2006 a few months ago to replace my 2003 model.
I won't change to the V8 for another 3 years, hopefully all the bugs will be sorted by then.
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:48
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:48
OK Guys,
Thanks to Cruiser for taking some shots at the show. You can see his handywork in the Photo Gallery on my rig profile.
Muddy
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:41
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:41
It looks good
But if you think the cost to work on the 4.2 l six is over the top wait till you get the bill for a valve adustment on that...lol
Good photos
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:32
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:32
Thanks a heap Muddie for putting those into your Profile. Mine's full of locked photos of
Big Red at present!
Richard, it would be interesting to know whether they have gone for shims on this motor - I'd guess they would. Maybe they can charge 2 hours labour for the mechanic to have a "listen" with his educated ear :-))
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 04:57
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 04:57
Wonder what Nissan will do now, if this thing is gunna be as good as they recon,,
also is it out in the States yet ?
or is this a world wide release ?
Cheers Mate
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:17
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:17
I hope Nissan does something good. Can't have a one-sided contest. It seems like they have been caught off guard - like Toyota were when the GQ came out in 1988.
Not for release in the States - they prefer the oversized trucks. They've never had 70series Cruisers, so the Cruiser diehards import them.
Release in South Africa is in May. Don't know about the rest of the world.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:48
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 09:48
From what I've read, it seems as if someone in Toyota deserves a medal and a seven figure cash bonus at Christmas time.
A live axle'd, split rimmed, hose-outable, factory 4 door with a diesel powerplant that is actually capable of safely overtaking or towing without any modification. Absolute GOLD. A 4.5 CRD V8 will make good torque BEFORE the turbo cuts in, unlike these tiny lawnmower motors that need to be spun up before anything happens. It'll sound good while it's doing it too.
I suggest that in a few years these will be the only new 4x4 worth buying.
Anyone want to buy a fully kitted out 100 series?;-) Never bought a new car in my life on principal, might make an exception here.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:51
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 11:51
"hose-outable" LOL What a pisser, Mines got carpet so not so hose-outable.
And sounds good while its doing it to - Yeah great point!!!
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 13:05
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 13:05
Carpet in a Troopy! That's like having make-up mirrors in the sunvisors.;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 13:53
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 13:53
Depends on what use you put the mirror to!! But just the same they need to fix the snorkle...it's absolutely useless the way it is designed.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 15:19
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 15:19
Mirrors are good, a very useful emergency feature fitted to Troopies for lending to broken down Nissan's so they can signal passing aircraft for help.
Agreed that Snorkle needs to be removed and sealed up for water use.
But another thought??? I'm guessing that bonnet scoop for the inter-cooler will limit her fording ability somewhat, don't ya reckon?
Good to see you changed the Wonnangatta label Leigh, but now see another issue obviously old timers is setting also, "AB Roadhouse"??? What is its damn name??? ;-)
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 15:54
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 15:54
John,
Any more clues given to you by Leigh and you forfeit the prize for this weeks pick a place comp. LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:03
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:03
"But another thought??? I'm guessing that bonnet scoop for the inter-cooler will limit her fording ability somewhat, don't ya reckon?"
Why's that???
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:08
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:08
Air will get too
cold causing power increase and wheelspin.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:40
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:40
Water over bonnet will go where??? and possibly do what???
Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:51
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:51
Well it wont be getting inside the engine, so whats the danger?
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 17:06
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 17:06
Thanks to Matt for taking the pics and Muddy for posting them.
Great to finally be sure what it's going to look like. This looks like almost the exact same vehicle posted here afew weeks ago. With what looks like no mods from the firewall back, nearly everything will bolt straight in from current model also :-))
Can't believe the Tojo guys couldn't give KW/Nm figures! Holding out for sure, but why?
My only complaint is the loss of the best overbonnet view you could want (bar a rock crawler). Can't fit the V8 in without widening the guards I suppose.
I have similar opinions to most re new cars but this thing might just have changed my mind. 'Fraid Brunswick has lost my business also! This thing will haul ass. Can't wait to see what the output figures are, then how much can be added with chip and exhaust...... wonder what it sounds like given a boot full. Think I'd have tried to bribe the guys on the stand to start it and stomp it just for this purpose ;-)
Matt
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 21:30
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 21:30
I recon about 150kw and 450Nm...
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:20
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:20
Only problem is the turbo will smooth the sound out to a certain degree. My NA 6.5 sounded fantastic.
Ohhh well, I think I'd learn to live with it.;-)
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:52
Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:52
Another titbit of info:
!MPG:21!
Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 13:23
Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 13:23
Phil-
I think that's worthy of it's own thread. Any way to make it any bigger/readable. Be interesting to see what everyone thinks.
Post your email and I'll send you some good pics I scored of the 2007 76 Series wagon.
-Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:53
Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:53
You're right Matt - post 42086 is now up. So I put up a 76series photo, and included a closeup of the engine thats more readable. Muddie said he'd put your photos up - thanks again for sharing those with us.