The value of overalls

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:07
ThreadID: 42063 Views:2393 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
I fixed my son's brakes today. Took the 4 discs off his R31 Skyline down to the brake joint and asked them to machine them. I was wearing my old overalls as I'd only just removed the bits off the car.

"Yep, no worries mate" "just be a couple of hours". So I said that would be fine, and I'll need some Bendix front and rear pads.

He gave them all to me at trade price. I was happy to pay whatever he wanted, didn't ask for trade, and I wasn't worried about price. I figure that he needs to make a living and feed a family like anyone else. But I reckon the overalls is the difference. I'm no mechanic, but I fix all the family cars.

But if you're wearing old overalls, all the banter and the transaction is great, so reckon I'll wear my overalls more often :-))

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:17

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:17
I have suspected that what you wear can make quite a big difference.... confirmed.
AnswerID: 220284

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 01:04

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 01:04
a bikini (on the right bod!) would probably make an impression too!
FollowupID: 480859

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 00:04

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 00:04
First impressions????
Not always a bad thing.
AnswerID: 220300

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 00:33

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 00:33
Yes

Also good to wear work uniform in.. thats of course it is blue drill
AnswerID: 220301

Reply By: herkman - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 07:53

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 07:53
There is a very high mark up on brake pads, and things like bearings.

I am sure he still made a reasonable profit.

I am sure your young fella now appreciates you wearing overhalls,

Col
AnswerID: 220311

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 11:46

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 11:46
Sounds to me like a bit of a con.....LOL
AnswerID: 220373

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 14:12

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 14:12
I guess you know what my real job is, so yep, it is a con :-)))
FollowupID: 480967

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 17:21

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 17:21
Phil, I don't often wear a business suit to town but wear 'town clothes' as distinct to farm ones. I usually get 'trade' prices quoted to me at certain shops too even if using a credit card to pay for my purchase. Think Willem knows my job too ;-) Reckon there is more than one con in all of the pricing.......
FollowupID: 480993

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 13:01

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 13:01
I just print out a company order form. I even ring Bursons and they deliver. Bloody marvellous service.

AnswerID: 220383