Socket Sets / Tools

Submitted: Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:14
ThreadID: 42155 Views:6308 Replies:8 FollowUps:21
Just been down to Supercheap Auto at Gosnells and seen some very nice top quality Socket Sets and Tools branded HSV , Don't know where they are made yet but they are not cheap Chinese crap, It's behind lock and Key too, I would at a guess say all branches would have them, ....Oh and if you take your Son with you Don't send him home in a Taxi

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:33

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:33
They are Just Holden “HSV” Branded Tools, Quality unknown.

I would like to know who actually makes em before buying them, but my Guess is you would be paying for the name more than the Quality.

If you are going to spend your heard eared $$ on good tools buy parses Supercheep completely and head for a Tool Shop Like “Alltools “and alike who just sell tools to trades people.

Supercheep is OK for what I like to call Thrashing spanners, Big shifters and pipe crescents that you stick 4ft cheater bars on the end off and don’t give a 2 hoots if they brake or get damaged during the abuse.

AnswerID: 220840

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:41

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:41
Supercheap ,Repco, and the like do have some good stuf, I can see by looking at the HSV tools that it IS GOOD , and no one campaigns againts the cheap Chinese crap as much as i do , I would much prefer to buy a DeWalt drill than $26 chinese piece of Chit, but if you really want the best then bale up the next Snap-On van you see.

FollowupID: 481483

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:45

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:45
I have always had a box of 'cheap' spanners handy which I allow people to borrow (if they plead long enough).

I don't let them know that are only getting the el-cheapo stuff. I never lend my good sets !
FollowupID: 481485

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:49

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:49
Kiwi Kia
You selfish Bast#rd.....lol

FollowupID: 481487

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:39

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:39
“but if you really want the best then bale up the next Snap-On van you see.”

Yeah, would like to but the old credit card would need to undergo years of counselling to recover from it. LOL
FollowupID: 481502

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:36
snap on yes good tools
worth the extra money some times 3-4 times more than other brands
no way there way to dear
FollowupID: 481550

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:40

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:40
nowimnumberone and a bit

If for instance a Snap-On tool does break in 10 or 30 years time it will be replaced

FollowupID: 481551

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 21:50

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 21:50
Made in asia, just like majority of tools nowdays, snapon are made in mexico and china nowdays, the quality is woefull compared to 15 years back, hmmm prices have gone up heaps as well :-).....glad i didnt pay for the 100k worth weve got at work. The only good snapon gear we have is the stuff made for them by FACOM in france. Kokon made in japan is great, as is stahwhille from germany.

Value for money home tools you cant go past the premium repco branded gear or kinchrome's premium stuff.
FollowupID: 481577

Follow Up By: Matt.D (WA) - Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 01:19

Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 01:19
Doug,

I remember when Dewalt first came on the market and I was told not to touch the cordless drill I was looking at cause it was cheap and nasty crap. Now look at how people rate Dewalt.(overpriced in my opinion.) I'm a tradie but for home I buy the cheap nasty Ozito brand and to date have had no problems with any of the 6 Ozito tools I have. I wander if in another 5 years the prices of these will also become ridiculous because they might stand the test of time. I will post more in another 5 years.Lol

Cheers Matt
FollowupID: 481608

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:59

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 16:59
30 years ago when I was young and poor I built up my socket set piece by piece and finished up with some good tools but it was never a complete _set_. Long after I could have afforded a quality set I decided it was better to pay others to do the work on cars etc for me so I never bothered to upgrade my socket set.

About five years ago I bought a no brand Chinese socket set; Imperial and metric - all the drives etc for A$80 - I bought it because in my (limited mechanical) opinion it looked OK. Five years down the track and it has performed very well and I would not consider buying a quality set... then again... I only use it on a hobby basis - I would expect a professional mechanic would laugh at it. However my four piece set of electronic pliers/cutters etc cost around A$200 each some years ago - so, like most things, it's "horses for courses".

AnswerID: 220844

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:23

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:23
Built my first socket set the same way - scrounging loose tool bins in second hand shops. Got a complete set of Sidchrome sockets that way, often only paying a dollar or two per socket.
FollowupID: 481500

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:10

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:10
Reminds me of the song Johnny Cash done about working at the Cadillac Factory and over the years he was flogging parts until he had enough to build a 1954/55/56/57/58/59 Caddy , something like those years ,

FollowupID: 481520

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:16

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:16
Went looking for the named song not found yet but check this out , and click on the screen when it opens

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.johnnycash.com/

FollowupID: 481524

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:08

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:08
"One piece at a time" is the title of the song.
FollowupID: 481583

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:12

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:12
Ianw

Well, I left Kentucky back in '49
An' went to Detroit workin' on a 'sembly line
The first year they had me puttin' wheels on cadillacs

Every day I'd watch them beauties roll by
And sometimes I'd hang my head and cry
'Cause I always wanted me one that was long and black.

One day I devised myself a plan
That should be the envy of most any man
I'd sneak it out of there in a lunchbox in my hand
Now gettin' caught meant gettin' fired
But I figured I'd have it all by the time I retired
I'd have me a car worth at least a hundred grand.

FollowupID: 481584

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:43

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 17:43
Built up some tools the same way.
Started with a basic sidchrome set and went from there.

These days I go to Cash Convertors.

They have small bins of 2nd hand single sockets, and spanners.

Or complete sets of good tools. Sets are a bit exy, but they will take an offer.

Sometimes I ask if they mind if I sort through the singles.
Sit on the floor, turn the tub upside down (I am an 'old fart' with grey hair and old work clothes, I am allowed to do this, its called being eccentric :o)), and put them all back one by one.
Hold back the good ones, and do a final sort on these for the ones you want.
Amazingly, there are some good brands amongst the rubbish.
Usually get them for a $1.00 ea, and a discount for a few.
AnswerID: 220852

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:02

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:02
He He He Ha good onya , go to Cash Convertors and buy the stuff pinched from us hard workers by drug addicts.

see the post 42153

FollowupID: 481512

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:26

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 18:26
While you are at it, check for any engraved codes and give the police a ring.

You have engraved your tools with a nationally registered code?
Used to be based on your initials and your birthday, plus a letter for the state.
FollowupID: 481530

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 04:30

Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 04:30
Exactly what I was gonna say Doug!
Had all my work tools knocked off about 12 years back, all engraved. Went to the nearest Cash Converters branches to leave a flyer and they didnt want to know. "Pigs come in and check up every now and then, thats good enough for us"
Since then I was told that they have a truck that goes back and forth across the Nullabor moving the "stock". Not sure if it is true but if I owned a chain of dodgy pawn shops its what I would do!
FollowupID: 481610

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:05

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 20:05
The tools are made by Sidchrome.....that once great Aussie tool company that got bought out by Stanley Tool.

All Sidchrome tools are made in Asia now.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 220874

Reply By: SD - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 21:22

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 21:22
My experience with supacheap is most the gear they sell including tools is rubbish.
only gear I would buy is things like oil that has a brand name like castrol, penzoil etc. As a diesel fitter of 20years, most my tools are Caterpillar, made mostly by Snapon and some by Proto. These tools are expensive and mostly used by people that use these tools everyday full on. A good middle of the range spanner/tool is Repco tools. More than enough quality for weekend mechanic and fairly cheap. Good value for money. I have a fair bit of Repco, performs well. I use Repco underground and on boats, doesn't matter if I have to cut it up with oxy or flog it with hammer, drop in blige etc as its cheap prepared to Snapon, about 1/2 the cost.
cheers steve
AnswerID: 220900

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:05

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:05
When I do an oil change I used to call all the stores to get prices for filters of all kinds, and oils. I found supercheap was anything but, I think its a marketing thing. I have found autobarn the cheapest which is strange because they have a much more polished appearance and the staff are way better in every area, actually do supercheap have staff?
FollowupID: 481580

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 23:35

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 23:35
Yeah I believe they are mostly 16 and no X about X.

We used to have Marlows hear in WA that was brought out buy supercheep, what a bad day that was, Marlows alwase had a good range of different quality level products, if you wanted the Cheep stuff they had it and if you wanted something that would last they had it also.

Supercheep mostly just stock junk from China.
FollowupID: 481598

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 09:16

Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 09:16
Anything branded HSV is of dubious quality.

AnswerID: 220927

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 17:05

Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 17:05
Guess what?.... I buy my tools now with my groceries, just slip em into the trolley (trundler if you're a Kiwi) at my favorite shop ALDI & Sybil dosen't even notice. Most of their stuff is GOOD quality and usually Rothenburger brand though it does say Made exclusivley for Aldi but when you read the instructions or search the packaging the place of manufacture seems to always be Germany. I bought a fantastic biscuit Joiner for $69, Pliers, mutli, grips, sockets, etc all very sensibly priced. Next buy will be the Cordless hammer drill for $69 looks a beauty and if it is not up to speed I can take it back... You do have to wait for items to come on special as they don't stock everything all the time...
AnswerID: 220961

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 17:37

Saturday, Feb 10, 2007 at 17:37
Mr Fawlty
What's the use of a fantastic biscuit Joiner for $69, I have some Biscuit separators in me mouth that work extra good .

Doug

FollowupID: 481658

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 09:00

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 09:00
Hey Doug, I have one of those too, called a grandson - every time I sit down for a cup of Earl Grey or Darjeeling ( dependant of course on the hour of the day) he breaks half his biscuit off in my cup !!!!!
FollowupID: 481758

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 02:56

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 02:56
Ggrrr.
AnswerID: 221048

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 03:01

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 03:01
GGGggRrrrr AAaagghhh WOOOOF

FollowupID: 481736