Rodeo 2.8lt Diesel LT Sport

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 22:46
ThreadID: 42215 Views:3382 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Has anyone owned or know someone who has owned a 2000 Holden Rodeo LT sport Dual Cab ute 2.8lt Turbo Diesel.
I am considering purchasing one that has about 80,000km and would appreciate any advise on these vehicles regarding reliability / performance and what would be a fair price.
Thank you to all who respond.
Peter.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:05

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:05
Hi there Peter, do a search on rodeo and you will come up with a few pages of the question you have asked. This is because I asked the same question only around a month ago and all the responses on this vehicle were good bar one who recomended getting the injectors serviced at 150k intervals as they apparantly do internal damage to the motor but this was from one person only who has obviously had the problem so would pay to take the advice. One service on injectors every 150k is nothing to worry about anyway. Your a lucky buggar, I have been searching for the past month or so and have either found the vehicles to be trashed, or and no service history or exceptionally high klms which is a good indication of there reliability but I am looking at some thing lasting me a few years so am looking at the sort of klms you have found. Good luck with it but do a search and have a read. They actually did have a report in the 4x4 monthly last month and was pretty well a bullet proof vehicle with only 2 monir issues one was high pressure line for the power steer which rots from inside out and blows, the other was cracked or bent chassis rails but this was on the single cabs. But very very good report.If you like send me your email adress and will scan and email to you if interested. Steve M
AnswerID: 221170

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:33

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:33
Yair G'day Stephen, I see that you're still looking. Patient bugger eh.
You may remember that our '94 model was traded at 280,000 km. Only fault was a failed hose to power steering.

May still have the Old Lady, had I known then what Mike W has offered.
You pays yer money and takes yer chances Peter; at least the blood line was good. Good hunting. Jeff.
FollowupID: 481874

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:48

Sunday, Feb 11, 2007 at 23:48
Yeah still being patient although I'm starting to get annoyed at the amount of people that say to me over the phone "yeah mate top vehicle well looked after etc" and you get there to find a bucket of sh#t but thats all part of finding a good one. Maybe I'm just being too fussy but I cant believe the amount of crap out there. Had a look at a couple of vehicles at a toyota dealership yesterday and for a dealership of there type was disgusted at the condition of some of there vehicles and wanted top price. Told the salesman that there was no chance of me buying from them and walked out even they didnt have service books and they had spray painted everything under the vehicle with black spray paint over every thing including the outer edges of the sill panels which were meant to be white and sprayed that shi##y armouroil over everything including steering wheel brainless di#kheads. Do they have no brains the steering wheel was like trying to hold on to a cube of frozen ice. Anyway will keep looking am goin to singapore in 2 weeks so will continue when I get back. Have a good one Steve M
FollowupID: 481875

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 02:14

Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 02:14
Stephen,Interesting to read of your experiences. Our second girl (the '94 model), was basically 'worn out' - Ha!, by the Boss in her job. Bitumen, good gravel, pot holes (In the bitchermine again, so guess where we lived then.), -- man, did we have some blues about killing the car for work!!!
Anyway, to the point, and I put this as a non-brand, innocent /naieve question: please let's not get territorial (branditorial ?) if anyone cares to respond:-

Elder Bro, (meticulous! PITA, (but still love 'im), ex RAAF, ) has a stuffed 2002 Toyota diesel dual cab 2wd. Superbly maintained, looks good, runs beautifully. But it's running gear is not looking too flash.(According to his mechanic)[100000k
Me, a bit sloppy, (apart from oil/filter changes), similar age vehicle (Rodeo, Thai built, as well may have been Brother's Hilux). And we seem pretty good at 130000k.
Both machines have spent a lot of time on demanding roads.(Sandover/Plenty/GRR),so why the apparent difference in chassis durability?
Thanks eh. Jeff.
FollowupID: 481884

Follow Up By: peter - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 17:45

Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 17:45
Hi Steve,
Thanks for the info,would appreciate you forwarding the 4x4 article.
peter.watson1@bigpond.com.au
FollowupID: 481991

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:06

Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:06
Hi there Peter, have emailed to you. Not sure wether email address was suppose to start with watson or peter first but sent to both anyway so you should get it in the next 5 minutes. If you have any trouble reading or recieving it let me know and will actually photo copy and send to you via post. Steve M
FollowupID: 482066

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:16

Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:16
The one I sent with watson up front just come back at me so presume your email address started with peter. Steve M
FollowupID: 482069

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 10:46

Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 10:46
mmmmmmmm, LT (currently drooling)

Much niceer than the standard spec LX, should have electric windows, two tone paint, alloy wheels etc. As was mentioned, do a search, and you shall find plenty of info regarding the 2.8lt.

as for 80k for a 2000, thata some good mileage! mines a 02, and already clicking over 160k! As far as price goes, thats a tricky one. LT, as you would expect, will go for a higher price than an LX. I would expect, from what I have observed of current prices over the past months and years, to pay some where between 21 and 26, depending on condition, km's, service history. Its funny, some areas/ places will charge a small fortune for one of these, whereas other places are commanding a much lower price.

AnswerID: 221200

Follow Up By: brian - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 01:34

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 01:34
Hi Peter, could not recomend 2000 rodeo highly enough Ive had 2 rodeos no trouble with either. The 2000 model dual cab with 1800mm tray did the Canning the Gibb ,in and out of Mitchell falls and Port Warrender, Kalumburu. on the weighbridge at 3400kg Got home had the wheels balanced and replaced the rear spring bushes and averaged 8.5klms p/lt for the trip. Regular servicing and clean air will last you a life time. Best of luck
FollowupID: 482107