Submitted: Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:03
RedGibber
OK forumites,
The missus and I are off to explore some of this great land commencing June towing an 18'6" Sunland
Longreach (1.8t).
I have 3 requirements for the Patrol..nah, call 'em wishlists... before we leave:
1. Add l/r tank.
2. Install Denco liquid to air i/c
3. Get fuel pump timing adjusted etc.
All this I reckon is gonna set me back around 3500 gold shekels!!
As this is to be a touring / towing trek (over 3 mths thru the guts of Aus.) are the above requirements sufficient/enough/too much?
Valued opinions most welcomed!!
Andy
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:43
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:43
Is it stock standard for the rest?
Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:56
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:56
Depends on what you are aiming for, more power or better fuel economy, with the I/Cooler and fuel pump timing ? The answer to that will allow a better answer to your query.
Reply By: Nick R - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:15
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:15
Personally I'd do the exhaust,
snorkel and timing stuff, I'd maybe do the tank if you have a wagon, the ute has heaps of capacity.
NickR
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:17
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:17
I think you have underestimated your costing by a fair wack.
You need to give more info on your rig to give an accurate opinion on whats 'enough'...
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:18
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 23:18
Gday Andy
As Trol81 said above, if the rest of the vehicle is std, I would consider suspention, cargo barrier, dual batteries and fridge/charging for caravan, drawers/storage in the back (Wagon?) before I'd look at the power upgrade and LR tanks......depends on what you plan to do I suppose, and if the van has all the storage and fridge etc built in, and your happy with the way the rig sits and travels the terrain you plan to tackle, then what you mentioned may be the best bet.
I have only std tanks, with a range of 800k or so, which rarely sees me watching the needle. The only times I wish I had bigger tanks really is when the kids are asleep in the back and all is peaceful, but I have to stop and get fuel which wakes them up!
Good luch with the trip, I am jealous
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: RedGibber - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:36
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:36
Sorry guys,
Should have mentioned that the wagon already has upgraded
suspension,
snorkel, dual batts, 3" exh. and dump pipe, etc. etc.
(Was a bit rushed when I posted.... :-( )
Andy
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:26
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:26
Maybe some solar panel would be better than doing item # 2 and 3 ,
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:08
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:08
Personally, I'd scrap the idea of the intercooler....almost a total waste of shekels I would think. The $2K that item alone would set you back (or damn close to it), would be better off spent as your portion towards the fitment of LPG injection; cost's about $4K, but Messrs Howard and Costello will front up for $2K of that and (as I understand it), if you live in WA, the Government of that state will also contribute $1K. The LPG injection is reportedly VERY beneficial on the Patrol's 4.2TD; moreso than most other vehicles to which it is fitted.
The benefits of such a fit-up are in both improved fuel economy AND improved power. The latter at least equivalent of the piddling (say 5%) improvement you MAY receive from installing an intercooler. BTW, the 5% is the figure quoted to me by an agent of Denco turbo systems, when I asked him whether he thought fitting a liquid to air intercooler would be worth the $$$ and effort. I thanked him for his candid response.
If you already have the 3" exhaust system, hopefully, they installed a skinny hotdog muffler, leaving enough room on the inside of the chassis rail to fit the gas tank.
Good luck and have a great trip.
Follow Up By: RedGibber - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:02
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:02
Thanks for the tips Roachie...that's the kind of response I was looking for!!
Andy
Follow Up By: Truckster. - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 15:38
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 15:38
> $2K that item alone would set you back (or damn close to it),
Depends on who you know :D :D