Member - Brenton H (SA)
Heading to the
Birdsville races in sept 07 as my first visit to the town. Can members help with some recommendations for
camp sites that are perhaps a little more private than the caravan park without being too far away from the action?
Also any personal recommendations on how early one should arrive ...at this stage figured we'd get there on the friday afternoon...is this too late for the best spots and the action?
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:44
I would still consider the caravan park in your options.
It covers a large area of quite a few acres.
Give them a ring to
check out what might be available at that time.
If you are willing to
camp a distance from the amenities block, it may not be too busy.
Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:56
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:56
Brenton your best bet is to use the caravan park. It has all the needed facilities and given the number of people who will be there, believe me if you don't like crowds then don't bother. But it is an experience not to be missed.
Getting there. Some folk we know get there a week in advance to get the best camping sites. The place will be crowded by Friday for sure. So my suggestion is to ty and get there around Wednesday get setup and watch it all happen around you.
Enjoy the experience it will be a memorable one
RobA
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:57
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 21:57
You certainly will not find any campsites close to the action which are private during the
Birdsville Races. 6000 visitors converge on this tiny township during the time of the races. The Caravan Park has been filled to capacity at times with 2500 campers. The main alternative camping site is near the old stables on the other side(east) of the Diamantina River. You will need to be totally self sufficient if camped there.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:00
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:00
Willem
Don't know about you mate but my choice would be on top of Big Red
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:10
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:10
I think you would struggle to
camp up there unless you were prepared for sand in everything.
Yeah commute to
Birdsville every day 36km....lol
BTW Big Red is on private station property and I think there is an unwritten rule not to
camp out there. Still, some do as I cleaned up rubbish left behind in 2005 by unthinking tourists.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:17
Monday, Feb 12, 2007 at 22:17
Willem
Commute is something I do all the time like last week we done 1042klm in one day and got to Kumarinna Roadhouse just before the sun set, 36 klm would not be a problem , The owners of the Station will be at the Races, and I like you take my rubbish with me , Sand .... better than bloody Mud ,
Doug
Reply By: arofs1 - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 16:37
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 16:37
Like most of the others I recommend the caravan park. There are plenty of
camp sites down on the river flats on
the entrance to town from the East, but the ground is covered with prickles and if it rains it would turn to mud and become undriveable and probably unwalkable.
We arrived on the Thursday before the races to beat the majority of the crowd which mainly comes on the Friday, which I would strongly recommend. It would also be best to leave on the Monday as the Sunday is very busy.
The roads are very stony so drive to the conditions unless you want to blow tyres and cause other damage. If you are towing anything make sure you have the front of the trailer/caravan completely covered to prevent damage. You also need to look underneath the trailer and anything that is breakable will break unless you shield it eg.
water tank, plastic hoses, connections etc.
I might sound a little negative, but it is certainly worth the trip, but you MUST be prepared.
Brian DJ
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 18:08
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 18:08
Well I dont know for sure, but I reckon the place would be booked out, so I would go self sufficient.
The area across the water from the Caravan park, is usually packed too, but im sure if you get there early enough, you will find a spot.
I dont think anywhere will be quiet and private.
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 05:09
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 05:09
Brenton I was there last yeah and a couple of times before that. You will get nothing if you arrive Friday arvo. Most of the good spots are taken by Wed Arvo/Thurs Morning. As has been said unless you stay at the caravan park you'll need to be self sufficient or prepare to walk a km or so to town.
The caravan park is a great place to stay (any other time of the year) but they are packed in like sardines during the races.
They have gold coin donation buses running from town to the race track all day from fri - sun. Have fun......
Reply By: 75Troopy - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 17:47
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 17:47
I'll go along with what's been said... We went a couple of years ago and the closest we could get to town meant a fair walk and frankly even then
the spot wasn't great and still crowded...!
Having said all that dont miss it..! It's without doubt an incredible experience..!
Doing it again i'd go for the park failing that i'd get there a day or so early.
Matt
Reply By: Dieseldude - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 17:56
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 17:56
You can't pre book
camp sites in the caravan park so it's a case of first come - first serve.
We rocked up on Wednesday midday last year and had plenty of room around us. I'll certainly be doing this again.
Anthony
Reply By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 19:59
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 19:59
Thanks to all for your helpful input.
It seems that the c/van park may be the best choice and to certainly get there on Wednesday.
To all that are going...See Ya there!
Brenton