Kumho Tyres

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:02
ThreadID: 42285 Views:3360 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Gday all, as I am about to replace my current tyres ie; "Kumho Road Venture At" I am trying to gain a bit of knowledge on what the info on the side walls indicates.
In understand the size info, LT 235/85 R16 and what the Ply rating 10 indicates but am unsure of what 120/116Q is telling me.
I know these are relatively expensive tyres but so far I can not fault them.
Have just got home from 27000 k's around Australia including Cape York, Gibb River Road, Fraiser Island and a heck of a lot of all kinds of other road conditions and I had absolutety no tyre related problems not even a flat. They have done about 65000k overall.
Can anyone wise me up on what 120/116Q means or any comment on the pros or cons of this particular tyre. Thanks.

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:00

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:00
Cant give you any info on the sizes, but I too have Kumho's on my Hilux, Venture H/T's.
And they have been sensational I reckon. Used 90% road and 10% sand (theres no mud etc in midwest WA!), mine are at around 80,000km plus and 5 years old. They were the cheapest option for a 10R15 at the time, around $150 each, and today was the first puncture Ive had. A metal spike thru the shoulder, not worth repairing Tyrepower tell me as it didnt have much life left. End of an are for my ute as they tell me they arent made anymore.
Thumbs up from me!
AnswerID: 221571

Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:47

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:47
Hi KK1954 the 120/116Q is the tyre code for load and speed rating for a particular tyre hope this helps
AnswerID: 221580

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:06

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:06
120 means max load for each tyre is 1400kgs (single tyre)
116 means 1250kgs each if the tyres were double like the rears on trucks.
Q is 160kph max speed

Heres a chart that tells you all the load index and speed rating figures:
Load Index chart
AnswerID: 221592

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:10

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:10
Also add that if you are replacing them with the same size, then these numbers are good. You can get 235/85 with lower load indexes, down to 108, but generally speaking, the higher the index, the stronger the tyre.

You can ignore the "ply rating" which is the old way, and not used by all manufacturers. Load Index can be found on all tyres, and is the industry standard.
FollowupID: 482318

Reply By: KK1954 - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 14:03

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 14:03
Thanks for the info, just what I needed to know.
Am I correct in assuming that these particular Kumho tyres are above the average in load bearing, sidewall strength etc and thats why no problems on the trip around Aus. I ask because they are not cheep (260$) and is this a case of paying for what you get or are there other brands with comparable strength for less $. Thanks again for any info . I am learning as I go and this site is proving a wealth of good info.
AnswerID: 221651

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 14:12

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 14:12
For a tyre that size that IS cheap....;-)
FollowupID: 482391