158kw at the wheels patrol

Submitted: Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 21:25
ThreadID: 42393 Views:2940 Replies:9 FollowUps:33
me mate got his 2005 4.2 patrol ute re- powerded by this bloke in melbourne. he put a ball bearing turbo in the original 'nissan ' turbo housing (to keep his warranty) and did up the fuel pump and injectors. he gets 158kw at the rear wheels and 650nm of torque, and 100km to a tank more than before and best of all he can spin the wheels on the dry bitumen in second gear. cost him a bit though.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 21:41

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 21:41
Yup, theres quite a few going around now, Sparkys is now pushing 240kw at wheels! Roller bearing turbo, IC the works.

hate to blow ya mates bubble, but warranty is gone if he has bleep ed with the turbo!
AnswerID: 222197

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 01:00

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 01:00
sorry not sparky, GQPete.
FollowupID: 483239

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 22:47

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 22:47
Where did he get this done?

AnswerID: 222209

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:23

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:23
So is a Power increase on the cards for the Bonz-Mobile?
FollowupID: 483030

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:24

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:24
nope the 3.0l has 136kw and 420nm and thats heaps but my mate with a slug of a 4.2 would be on the doorstep tomorrow

FollowupID: 483031

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:47

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:47
Now I just wonder who that could be hehehe Maybe Moses will get an injection....
FollowupID: 483040

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:37

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:37
Bonz, you got your chip back in again? Moses would love an injection. I think the Moggsmachine is getting a boost today so am looking forward to hearing about that. I really don't know what Bonz is talking about with a 4.2 slug though ;-) Think he could only compare with his blue Fickford Fix.:-D
FollowupID: 483059

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:39

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:39
Yeppers I am chipped again, have been since OBC last year. The 4.2 slug is in Geelong, and it is in neeed of a boost

FollowupID: 483061

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:21

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:21
Moses taking Kim along needs more whoosh on hills. Moggs got his done yesterday but a sleepy head today to get his story.
FollowupID: 483073

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:37

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:37
What was he getting done? Exhaust only of the whole hog?

FollowupID: 483078

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 09:02

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 09:02
Zaust done, fuel and tuneup. Not sure of boost. I wouldn't mind a lift to 12-13psi from just over 10. Better airflow too That should be available without scrificing reliability apparently. Interested in the air through I/C improvement too.
FollowupID: 483083

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:18

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:18
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

It would appear that someone been tampering with the Western District Water Supply or the 'magic mushrooms' are in plentiful supply after the recent rains.

Never read such diatribe from 'would be-s, if they could be-s'.

Are you two going to Wandin
FollowupID: 483131

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:53

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:53
Ms Lucy, there are closer and more comfortable saunas despite being happy to share it with you. I am assuming you would keep your towel on as i would.

Still got your wood supply here too in the paddock. Hope it will grow some mushrooms on the logs.....
FollowupID: 483140

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:24

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 17:24
39 degree sauna outside Lucy! Be at Wandin tomorrow like that :-O
FollowupID: 483161

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 20:05

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 20:05
See you there Moses. Well maybe as I am going to be there at opening before it gets to hot.
FollowupID: 483178

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 21:35

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 21:35
Ms Lucy, as I like to be like the Irish sometimes particularly with a Bushmills in hand " If I was goin to ther, I wouldn't be startin from here". Sorry if you miss-understood I won't be there as there are closer saunas.
FollowupID: 483195

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:35

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:35
Bonz,
what chip do you have in the 3L Patrol? and any comments good or bad.
Geordie
FollowupID: 483217

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:14

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:14
Moses

One too many 'treadmills' here - I fear.

Geordie

Bonz has a 'smiths' chip for all the good it does that piece of chit that he drives.
FollowupID: 483234

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:26

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:26
Now Lucy Bonz would at least use Salt and Vinegar Chips LOL
FollowupID: 483405

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:43

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:43
Aw! will you guys stop it. You are taking advantage of someone less fortunate that yourselves now. LOL x 2
FollowupID: 483411

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 07:17

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 07:17
Ms Lucy, I thought you like to soak Bonz' chips in salt and vinigar. In know you. LOL
FollowupID: 483426

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:42

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:42
Gidday Geordie, as one of the FEW sane replies to this post I have a D-Tronic and I am very happy with it

FollowupID: 484048

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:29

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:29
Thanks Bonz,
sanity eventually pervades even the craziest conversation (or thread).
I am seriously thinking of getting a GU 3L auto series 3 or 4 and am interested in what others have had success with.

Geordie
FollowupID: 484631

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:30

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:30
Oh God of 4WD-ing

Please forgive Geordie for he knows not what he has said.

Firstly he has indicated that Bonz is a sane perverted crazie of some sort., and we all know that the word sane is not in Bonz's vocabulary.

The in the next breath he states that he is 'seriously' thinking of getting a GU 3L which has now thrown his (Geordies) mental stability and acumen in to seriou doubt.

Could you please find it in you inner strenght to forgive these two blasphemers and just give them the following penalty.

Bathe in Holy 15/40 oil once a week

Daube their bitz in Lithium (black) grease once a month

Say 10 hail JEEPS daily

and as final goodwill gesture to yourself - make them ride a round in a Toyota for a year.

FollowupID: 484645

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:51

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:51
Overheats by any chance?
AnswerID: 222232

Reply By: Moggs - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:56

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:56
Just had ATOC in Melbourne do mine today - exhaust and boost / fuel adjustments. Drives like a completely different vehicle. Am very happy. Bonz, can recommend Aaron if your mate is looking for someone to do a power upgrade.
AnswerID: 222233

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:39

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:39
You better tell me the 0-100 improvement...... lol
FollowupID: 483060

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:30

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 07:30
That's impressive for the old 4.2, but reliability??? As "V8" sez - overheats?

I didn't think the old 4.2, would ever breathe well enough to get that sort of power 'n torque no matter how hard you blew air at it.

Still impressive, even though I reckon he's "messing with nature,,,,,,"

Hmmmmmm,,,,,,,,,,I wonder if my mate wants to sell mine back to me ;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 222243

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:08

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 08:08
Mate, mate just get the V8 shoehorned out again Site Link Not that I like to post up links to other 4by sites but this one is performance related... Bruce's other hidey place OL
FollowupID: 483070

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:52

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 15:52
quote "he gets 158kw at the rear wheels and 650nm of torque, and 100km to a tank more than before "unquote"

I can believe the 158kw, as this is not a lot more than the 1HDT-FTE.
But I must admit to being sceptical about the torque at the back wheels?
Can you post a copy of the dyno report?
AnswerID: 222302

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 20:06

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 20:06
Hell! man,

The pissy old 2.8L JEEP puts out 400nm at 1800rpm so 'anything' is possible.
FollowupID: 483180

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:30

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:30
AW thanks Lucy, now I am really getting "Torque Envy". My Terrano TD2.7 puts out a massive 87kw and 296Nm at the wheels and I thought that was good.

Think I will have to get a bigger one now. ( I need a good excuse for a new Patrol).
FollowupID: 483215

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:08

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:08
Heres one dyno from a TD42 thread on OL at the moment this one was on a 37 degree day too!
from the dyno - 5700 x 0.1085 = 618.45Nm

another

thats 193kw... he was playing with methanol injection, something went pearshaped, and melted the pistons.

few from Andy at Diesel tek in Lilydale Vic

First is standard td42t with 3" exhaust and dump pipe, boost adjustment and fuel to suit

2nd is a vehicle that came to us already highflowed but lacking a little, had a dts i/c, exhaust, we set boost and fuel to suit.

that is their high performace setup, modified pump, owner supplied roller bearing turbo, i/c and manifold to suit.

FollowupID: 483228

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:18

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:18
Its like bleep envy Geordie - everyone wants a bigger one.

Except Truckster who has two
FollowupID: 483235

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:59

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 00:59
I only had the op after seeing the much success you had with yours.. now that WAS envy..
FollowupID: 483238

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 04:09

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 04:09
Very impressive.
what units is the torque measured in there?
FollowupID: 483248

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:32
You sure that dyno isn’t measuring in Tractive toque, there is big difference between the 2.

If so the 600N would be closer to 450Nm

FollowupID: 483324

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:21

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:21
Exploder

I think you have hit the nail on the head so to speak.

Only, I think you meant Trucktive Talk - not Tractive Torque.
FollowupID: 483343

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:53

Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:53
307kw and 1088nm for the disbelievers

FollowupID: 486191

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:24

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:24
Hmmmmm,,,,,,,"performance tuning", all good stuff if ya like that sorta thing. But, like a F1 racing car, how long wil it last?

It's whatever blows yer frock up I suppose.

I, on the other hand need something that'll give me power 'n towing torque for pulling a van through bush, do long road distances with ease and will do it all day ever day for the next 10 years.

Nice work on the TD42 tuning, but I'll stick with the lazy, understressed V8, thank you.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 222429

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:37

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:37
OK
so that is what can be done to an old 'low teck' 4.2 L where there is plenty of room for improvement.

What can you do to a 3 L Patrol (within reason) and what sort of gain can you get from exhaust, intercooler, turbo and computer chip (not Smiths salt and vinegar chips Lucy).

Bonz have you don anything other than the chip.

G
AnswerID: 222801

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:03

Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:03
>> he put a ball bearing turbo in the original 'nissan ' turbo housing (to keep his warranty)

LMAO keep his warranty!
AnswerID: 225295