Scouts - the "always prepared" type

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 09:17
ThreadID: 42405 Views:2958 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
Just read the following:
Site Link

and it jogged my memory that I've been meaning to find out more about helping with Scouts for about the past five years. My children are grown up and I reckon it would be a lot of fun spending time helping the 10 to 18 age group and passing on some of the, bush type, skills and knowledge which many of this generation haven't been exposed to.

I guess someone on here must be involved with Scouts? Would you care to comment and provide some pointers?

Reply By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 09:37

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 09:37
Gda Mike When my oldest son reached about 10 i Volunterd to help our local Seascout group, Well i said i didnt want to be to involved at the time and Knowing very little about how the Scout association worked agreed to be the Group Leader. Saw me coming LOL.. anyway was a great 6 yrs.Hell of alot of work but aHell of alot of fun.. GroupLeader turned out to be the "Mananging director" of the group ie look after the financials, the scout leaders,Cubleader,Joey leaders,Venturer leaders.And trying to get Parents to help out with stuff..
As G.L. i was able to introduce a few new things to group and for the kids. With some help from a few Friends I was able to Take our Scouts Scuba Diving, Unheard of back then Got away with it. Only problem i kept running into were the Dam rules the Association kept coming up with.
Your Bush skills would be very appreciated i think, Scouts allways looking for help. Go down to a local group and offer your services,they are a great Organization, If you want get involved with There Rover Group 18yr old that have progressed from cubs to scouts to venturers and end up as Rovers.They are right into extream stuff 4X4s Mud Bash etc etc.
AnswerID: 222256

Reply By: clog wog - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 10:05

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 10:05
Hi Mike,
I have two boys 8 and 11 years and they just love Scout. we belong to 1st Bungendore. we have a great program and wonderful outdoor activities. My eldest who is now int he Scout Troop just loves the outdoors and camping and has learnt so much about camping, safely outdoors, climbing, caving, abseiling, things that sometimes as parents we don't have the time to do or the knowledge. Leaders are always wanted no matter where the group is, they would welcome you, there is nothing like a new leader with heaps of enthusiasm. You would certainly get a lot out of it. There is training to do of course, but often this involves on the job type stuff which is fun as well with other Leaders. You will love it, our Leaders do. Go for it, your local group needs you and you will be doing so much to help the kids who as one of the other people has said, who never get to climb a tree, make rope ladders and bush walk etc. Good-luck, look forward to hearing how you went.
Clog Wogs Wife
Publicity Officer
1st Bungendore Scouts
AnswerID: 222257

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 11:05

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 11:05
I went through scouts and ventures till 18. I still use a bow line virtually every day and no one else knows what it is. We went white water rafting in NZ along with underground cave rafting, the jamboree in ballarat was the only one I went too but it was all excellent stuff. I would recommend scouts to leaders and kids its probably the best organisation around. I used to think the organisation was thinning out as more xboxes were sold but i was told the other day by a scout guy at clifford park (scout owned land) that it is only getting smaller due to the smaller populaiton of youth not per capita, so thats good news that it is going to last. I would say get into it and you will really enjoy the extra work load.
AnswerID: 222268

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 11:30

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 11:30
Gday Mike
Go for it , great times are had if you get involved..I was the quarter master of the Suva sea scouts for 3+ yrs and had a ball. All my kids were in the group and learnt heaps.
Murray

AnswerID: 222272

Reply By: Member - Tim - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 12:38

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 12:38
Hi Mike,

Do you want to move to Brisbane? Our group is always in need of good leaders :).

I've been the treasurer for four years now and my wife was a cub leader for quite a few years. We have two daughters who started as Joeys and are now Rover and Venturer level and it has been fantastic for them. It's always hard to find people with the time and the willingness to commit to become a leader. We have certainly had a drop in numbers over the last few years, we have gone from close to 100 kids across the group down to about 50. I think the x-box has a lot to answer for but it also seems that all the kids are trying to cram so much into their lives with sport and other activities and unless the parents commit the kids don't either.

So go for it, please.

Tim.
AnswerID: 222279

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 12:57

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 12:57
Mate - key thing here is giving these young fellas the opportunities to grow. I am a Scout Leader with Lake Tuggeranong Sea Scouts (after going through cubs -> rovers as a young fella..

Our guys plan the program, for camps, write the menu, buy the food, pack the trailer, setup and pull down camp, and in between do activities like nav, abseiling, caving, construction etc etc.

Cubs, they get exposed to camping - but the leaders put it all on - Scouts, organise and do it all themselves - there is a stack of learning that occurs, but by the time you are finished, you have a 14yo who is very capable, can work in a team, and has been exposed to many situations - most of them fun - all of them with the appropriate safety net so that they don't fall too far.

I'm in there because my two 11yo are there - but you'd be amazed at the number of leaders who are still there long after their kids are gone - they reckon its even better.

To see these young blokes (including girls) grow in capability and attitude, and to have had a lot to do with influencing that is one of the biggest things you can do for the community.

I'm what they call a line leader (have my own troop) - over and above that, they have adventurous activities leaders who are trained and qualified in various things - abseiling, caving, canoeing, bushwalking, sailing etc etc - and these guys are often on the Branch books (ie not belonging to any particular group) - this might be another option for you.

See Site Link

If I can help, let me know (where are you located out of interest??

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 222288

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 17:08

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 17:08
Thanks everyone for your informative replies. I'll find out where my local group is and have a chat to them, sound like fun... but then youngsters usually are and they keep us young too :)

AnswerID: 222483