Wandin

Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 07:53
ThreadID: 42466 Views:3903 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
So I hear it was a bit of a lemon this yr, with people gettin in early and leavin by 10 and plenty of "SHOW SPECIALS"... lmao

from OL

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I got there about 10-30 am and people were leaving then. No where near as many people as other years.

I left at about 1pm and the carpark was nearly empty on the left side.

As we were leaving I said to my mate that the prices this year were a lot dearer than in other years.

I was going to bring my lunch along due to the expected prices. I didnt end up doing that ( I was at the fires till the early hours ) so I had to buy food. I went to one ( pro ) stand and priced a Souvlaki -- $8-50 - Stuff that, so I went to the next stand to buy a snag in bread - $8-50 Bull Shyte ! I ended up at the Scouts tent where I payed $5-00 for a hamburger ( I would rather help out the scouts anyway )
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Love the food prices - sausage in a bit of bread $8.50! cost to make 40cents. LOL!

Keep going like that, and it will end up the way of the Dodo.

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 08:06

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 08:06
Tend to agree Truckster

We got there pre the 9.00am start and intended to leave noon due to expected heat and it was reasonably busy then , but with $15 entry fee and $3.50
for very suspect Coffex cappincino's we weren't impressed.

Was tempted to buy one of the new more powerful twin ended 150lt/min
compressors as were cheapset even seen at $179 dollars, but couldn't
really be bothered going back to stand.

Part of reason was that they continue to ignore the need for shade in the main food court.

We were expected to pay normal commercial type prices these days
for what began as a club event keeping costs down and it takes little effort to contract out the installation of a couple tarps in what was a serious sunburn day.

This with lack of chairs simply meant being uncomfortable and hence a shorter stay.

AnswerID: 222610

Reply By: Member - Gadgets (VIC) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 09:28

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 09:28
Agreed

I was there all day on the Toyota Landcruiser Club stand. definite mass exodus from about 12.30 so much so that they brought forward the pack up time from 4.30 to 3.30.

Food was definitely a ripoff

Maybe they could put the main foodies over on the high side where there at least some trees that give a little bit of shade.

I only go now for the chat as I have reached that crisis where nothing i NEED to add to the truck (as opposed to want and therefore need permission from SWMBO)

AnswerID: 222621

Follow Up By: murranji3 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:03
Last visit to Wandin..Travelled over 700 kms to attend..$15 to enter..Cheapest tucker a poor hamburger between 2 pieces of bread $5..No seats or tables..Nothing new on display..Best stand I found was a little site with some tent ,camping access.Lots of camping trailers. Disappointing for a lot of I guess , but why should people be expected to pay such a premium to enter when they can view much more in comfortable shops etc..
FollowupID: 483465

Reply By: ADM - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:30

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:30
I did not even bother going this year, it is all the same stuff year after year and is in need of a major revamp IMOA.

$15 is a rip off considering you have to walk around a paddock in 35 degree heat to see what has become pretty much the same as every other show around. If I had to choose shows (not that I go to any of them now) it would have to be the 4x4 show at Jeffs shed, at least there are decent amenities and it's air conditioned.

LROC need to listen to the public views on this or I can't see it lasting to much longer.

AnswerID: 222631

Follow Up By: Truckster. - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 11:23

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 11:23
I must admit I like Wandin a billionty times more than Jeffs. At least you can get parking within 1200klms and dont have to carry all ya shizzle round that much as you can take it to the car, which isnt in another suburb and come back in without issue.

Would you consider it a rip off if it wasnt a 35 degree day? EG 20 degrees and sunny? Your biggest issue appears to be air cond and the temp and dunnys.

If the weather was 22-27 degrees, nobody would have had an issue with that. But watch next yr, it will pi$$ with rain and everyone will be unhappy again. thats what happens without door events.

I agree, that all shows are the same as in what they show, very little is different now. I gave up on The Shed one as a poor joke.

Entry fee of $15 I have no problem with if the show is good. Maybe $10 would be better, I cant remember if its per person or per car,but could be something to look at going with mates if its per car..

Prices, that is something that they really need to fix, nobody will eat bleep if they keep charging $8 for a snag sanga!!! Imagine having 2-3 kids to feed! there goes $50 with drinks and yourself.

Food, drinks and dunnys are always an issue at ourdoor events, hopefully LROCV will listen to people on that, they are not stupid, this show is many yrs old, and very popular... A few shadesails or some large tarped off areas, tables and chairs and people would be happy. Maybe having all the junkfood places together would be a better idea.

Hopefully it wont die, but if somethign doesnt change, it wont be as popular.
FollowupID: 483490

Follow Up By: ADM - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:34

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:34
I think it is a rip of no matter what the weather is, that has no bearing on my opinion.

Entry fee is way too high. At jeffs shed you are entitled to a 50% discount if you are a 4wd club member which works out to be approx $7.50. Seeing Wandin is run by a 4wd Club you would expect them to look after all fellow enthusiast, maybe a reasonable price of $8.

And yes it is $15 P/P so by the time you pay for a ticket buy food are you really saving anything on the items you buy that are meant to be on special ?????

Don’t get me wrong I think it is a good show for there are a lot of smaller companies that are attracted for their entry cost are more realistic than the 4x4 show.

FollowupID: 483510

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:06

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:06
In the evolution of the Wandin Field days they have tried to make it bigger & better to cater to the wants of those attending heading the way of the 4x4 show at Jeffs shed. Unfortunately the organizers have possibly lost site of what we actually want in a field day. The features that made the day unique were that sites were cheap & affordable to the small displayer so we could find all those little assesories & nick nacks that don't advertise in the mags or can't afford the big shows & there were specials on almost everything. They also have/had all the hands on displays, winching, cooking, 4x4 test track etc that couldn't be run at other events. It would be a big mistake I think for the Landy club to continue with the high price, bright lights & over the top display they seem to be heading towards.
Unfortunately people's expectations are driving this, I want more seats, I want more shade, I want air conditioned toilets ;-) All this needs to be paid for so up goes the entry price, up goes the site costs then up goes the prices on the stands.
But the prices do need to be put in perspective a little. Under $40 a head including lunch for a day out looking around a 4x4 show isn't all that bad in fact most would put more than that in the fuel tank just to get there.
If the organizers want to hold people there longer they need to have more hands on displays, a GPS & mapping training course, 1st Aid training, basic Chainsaw safety along with camp cooking, winching, vehicle recovery, bush mechanics & desert trip preparation to name a few ideas. It wouldn't need to cost any more either as the advertisers would run the extra displays & get in for free for doing it.
The funny thing I find about the day is the Landy club only run it originally to make some money to pay for the shiny color cover on their newsletter :-)
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 222669

Reply By: c j - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:09

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:09
I was there on the Club's stand and for us it was still a success as we picked up some new members and touched base with some old ones who are now looking at rejoining. I think a lot of people remembered the heat from a couple of years back and either stayed away or came and left early. It was noticeably quieter after lunch. The food is pretty $$$ as it is with most events these days unfortunately and I took my own this year as it saved some dollars. If the LROCV can make it work financially for them, I think it would be great to have some better/cheaper food and drink options from some local community groups. Also as has been mentioned the entry fee may be the same as the show at Jeff's Shed but as club members we get a discount so it actually makes Wandin more expensive. It would be great to see some better seating and sheltered areas for those who want a bite and a drink. All in all though I would still rather have Wandin than the National show as it seems more grass roots to me and more relaxed plus it's a time to do a bit of socialising. Outdoor shows will always be subject to the vagaries of the weather. Good on the LROCV for putting on the show as it is a major undertaking for any Club and all in all they do a pretty good job and even they can't control the weather or the Vendors prices.
AnswerID: 222671

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:54

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:54
you want someone to travel with all his equipment sit in 38c and cook you a souvi and make S T U F F all lol . Good on them , hope they made heaps
AnswerID: 222680

Follow Up By: Truckster. - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:00

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:00
get back to work.. :)~

u aint called me back yet..
FollowupID: 483520

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:58

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:58
howdy folks
we didnt go because of the heat
1 thing of note is those same scouts sell there sausages in bread outside bunnings with or without onions and sauce for 2bucks maybe bunnings arent as dear with the rent
mates son was workingt on a stand and reckons it was pretty dead compared to other years
and yes you are right i wanted to see some autotune aerials for my truck and it is cheaper and cooler to walk into the store but it does not have the same atmosphere

AnswerID: 222718

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:44

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:44
I believe they ought consider running it bi-annually as the interest and "specials" has begun to evaporate. Only money spent was to get in @$15 and a Souvlaki at $8.50. Loved the 8 series Codan for sale at $1,500......in your dreams son.
The event at Jeff's shed has developed into a disappointment and it should also be put out to pasture for a year or two so that some real specials can be produced.
AnswerID: 222751

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:14

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:14
I dont think the issue is how often they have it causign lack of specials, but costs in general and greed by distributers, thinking people are dumb. people going to shows for "SPECIALS" are their target.

I see lack of new items as a BIG issue. Also, people went to wandin to see the things they couldnt get at ARB/TJM/ etc.. from smaller custom dealers. might be an idea.

I agree, maybe every 2 yrs would keep the interest up,
FollowupID: 483599

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:28
i was in melb for the w'end and thought about the show. Loks like i made the right decision not to go. i haven't been for a few years and I picked up a good deal on my 40l engel. So good the vendor didn't put the visa charge through on my account lol!

Leroy
AnswerID: 222770

Reply By: Bytemrk - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:48

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:48
It was damn hot.... probably why it got so quiet in the afternoon.

I reckon the idea of more shade in the food areas sounds good.

But those people saying the food and tickets prices are a rip off need to get into the 21 century... the generators for power, buses to the track, toilets all cost money - no doubt hiring that bloody great paddock isn't cheap either. A single 4x4 club funding all that from a show - has to recoup it's costs somehow..

And as for the cost of commercial catering... like rock crawler said.. do you really expect someone to tow a food caravan up there... work all day in the stinking heat and not make a profit?.... have a good thing about the food costs at EVERY public event you ever go to...

Overall I reckon they did a good job.... the weather made it ugly. And yes it would be nice to see lots of new 4x4 ideas... but you can't blame the Landy club for the suppliers not having new ideas!

AnswerID: 223054

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:10

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:10
>> do you really expect someone to tow a food caravan up there... work all day in the stinking heat and not make a profit?....

I dont begrudge anyone making a living.. but what do you think a dozen loaves of bread and a few KG of sausages cost? $100? probably not even.

even at $4.00 1/2 the price or $2.50, he would have made a killing and Probably would have sold a lot more at those prices.

I would be very interested to see an overall costing of the complete weekend - profit and costs. I think they would clean up with gate fees, and the prices that ARB/TJM would pay for their piece of turf.
FollowupID: 483942