Water Blasters – Nearly off topic.

Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 11:47
ThreadID: 42473 Views:5451 Replies:12 FollowUps:4
I am thinking of buying a water pressure cleaner for several used around the house, including cleaning the caravan and 4WD.

I am looking at the multitude of brands/models on ebay, does anyone have any useful information to help me with my choice.

Size / electric V petrol / sellers etc.

Brian DJ

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:17

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:17
Hi, I have a Karcher and swear by it. It is not a toy one and is very versatile. We also use Karchers at work in our car dealership. We have tried others but always gone back to Karcher.
Be prepared for a variety of "great "ones!
AnswerID: 222648

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:56

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:56
I've had a small Karcher for years and it has saved a lot of sweat.

Onced used it to dig a 2.5 mtr tunnel under a path in the middle of Summer with it in one hand and a beer in the other. The tunnel was 100mm in dia through ridge gravel.

Regards Boo Boo
FollowupID: 483536

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:56

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:56
Hi Brian

Not off - topic if you have to clean a couple of 4wd's and trail bikes like us.

Brought a couple of those sub $100 cheapies and had the odd problem
usually leaking, but I sort of expect that and would buy a cheapie
again.

These things are prone to issues because of pressures involved
however it cost a friend of mine more for a replacement
hose than it did for my entire unit.

Bearing the above in mind I would not buy off Ebay or anywhere
where its difficult or an issue to take back.

The stratergy I prefer on the multitude of low cost stuff
is buy only something with reasonably long guarantee and to buy
from Big-W or similar 1/2 expecting to take it back, and
factoring in a take back as part of why you get it 1/3rd the
price.

On the units workings, we find we have to move ours around
a bit and prefer a lightweight unit even with a shorter hose
to a large unit which may come with a longer hose.

Also , option to have a short trigger gun end nozzle is important for us
so as to get it under mudguards etc

AnswerID: 222656

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:35

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:35
Have a Karcher, swear by it. Good value for money. BEWARE though when using it, stay away from bearing seals, CV joints, transmission seals, ANY electrical compnoent, window seals, plastic trim and fittings (on some vehicles the water pressure will actually peel the top layer of plastic off), tyres (don't apply directly at full pressure against face or bead of tyres - damage can result), stay away from pin-striping or decals -unless you want them removed etc. On the caravan, use reduced pressure on aluminium cladding, window and door seals etc etc.. Common sense at all times. Pressure cleaners can be disastrous in the wrong hands. Otherwise, sure beats using a brush or brrom to clean paths, driveways etc.
AnswerID: 222664

Reply By: Glenn WA - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:29

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:29
Gidday,
Not too sure how much better or worse one is from the other, but I decided a while ago to try and buy one which would last and so far Ive had no dramas after 2yrs of use.
Its a 4 stroke petrol Briggs and Stratton Clean Shot. 3.75hp 2050psi, does the dirt bike and 4by very well.
No need to find a power point to plug it in either.
AnswerID: 222684

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:46

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:46
Bit of a dry bugger Glenn.
Makes a change. JH.
FollowupID: 483629

Reply By: Johnnotoo - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:34

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:34
I posed the same question a few months ago. Lots of variables!

The long and the short of it is if you want a reliable longlasting machine, get a name brand WITH after service, beware of ebay stuff. Another point raised to me was a pressure pump is longer lasting if not made of plastic. Most of the home jobs are plastic. Also how much pressure do you want? I ended up going for a 240 volt 10 amp with the most pressure I could get with a brass pump. Google 'Aussie Pumps ' (no relationship to me) and look at their Eco Blasters. With the turbo nozzle it puts out 3000psi which will do most domestic cleaning jobs. Quieter than the petrol motor versions too.
AnswerID: 222687

Reply By: whyallacookie - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:55

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:55
Sure someone will know the details but aren't Lavorwash almost identical?
AnswerID: 222693

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:12

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:12
In Brisbane at least, you are not allowed to use a pressure washer hooked up to a hose because of the water restrictions. I have a Karcher that draws water from a bucket to get around this. Something else to think about.
AnswerID: 222703

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:55

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:55
Yes i was going to ask about the water restrictions, I had to get a permit to use it here in SA
Iv'e had a small spitwater unit for many years and has given no trouble and gets used regularly for decontaminating vehicles and machinery, Cost about $1000 many years ago, before all these cheapies hit the market.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 483561

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:04

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:04
I do the same, pressure washer from a bucket.
About 10 litres to wash the car with a cheap Karcher.
I wash by hand with soap from a bucket first, then hose off.
If really dirty, well you need to rinse the mud off with the karcher.
Hopefully my 2nd rain water tank will be in soon, so can use rainwater.
FollowupID: 483685

Reply By: Red One - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:38

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:38
Mate I have a karcher and its been great for 7 years of alot of work (Me, extended family & friends. You will be popular. lol ). Had to replace the hose through wear and neglect. Other than that its been a ripper. Buy the biggest one you can afford.

AnswerID: 222707

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:08

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:08
Was my previous business - so if you need some finer points ( on real ones - not the toys just ask ) there all pretty much the same in the cheap end of the market (under $300 )

Just some key things to look for --

1) pump pressure - NOT EWP pressure - 2 totally different animals - ewp pressure is very misleading to people who dont know - this is the estimated water pressure when using a turbo lance rather than standard jet - or it is the equivelent strike force / cleaning efficience turbo to water jet - so go off the ACTUAL pump pressure

2) some ebay machines claim to pump 3000 PSI - this is total garbage for a 240 v machine - you will only get 2000psi at about 7 LPM

IMO a 1500 PSI machine at 12 lpm is better than 2000 at 7 lpm

3) Brass pump heads are a must - plastic ones can break down at water hotter temperature above 40 deg c ( you water hose can reach this temp easy when sitting on path ) aluminium is ok - just remember not to let sit idol for to long as calcium depsits build up and destroy the heads.

4)***** MOST IMPORTANT - find out if the pump can suck from a water drum! i have been running my machines on grey water for years now -- and if you wash your car with it - you can not get in trouble with the water patrol - just get them to follow the hose to the drum and send them on there way !

need any more help -- let me know !

Boc
AnswerID: 222729

Reply By: kiwicol - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:20
i bought a scorpion petrol powered for $560 puts out 2200psi at 480 ltrs an hour with a 6.5 hp copy of a honda engine have had it for 2yrs no probs clean all the paths windows walls even clean the big rugs fom inside the house would not use it on the 4by as it would take all the rust proofing and pin stripes off best thing i ever bought Col
AnswerID: 222731

Reply By: Jimbo 2121 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:03
I got cheap GMC one from bunnings for $70. It does the job well enough. I think it has an aluminum pump and 2 years warranty. Can't go too far wrong.
AnswerID: 222785

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:06

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:06
What you guys blasting on the 4BY that you need such a device.

I use a Staun Massojet to get rid of mud, sand, etc., from underneath the vehicle (when water restrictions allow that is) and it seems to work OK for me.

AnswerID: 222830