Camping with dogs

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:04
ThreadID: 42527 Views:9122 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Can anyone help with some camping destinations for Easter that allow dogs, Preferably along the coast.

We would like to get away with the kids as we have never camped with them before, though we have no one to look after our labrodor.

We have a soft roader so would like to go beach camping but dont know where.

Also, is it ok for dogs at Wedge island and would you think a soft roader would be ok on that kind of terrain.

Any help would be great

Thanx

Reply By: True Blue - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:32

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:32
Help us help you rest needed. Where do you live, where is Wedge island?

Cheers, Wayne.
AnswerID: 222942

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:46
What type of soft roader??
FollowupID: 483782

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:51

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:51
Sorry mate,

Western Australia/ Wedge island is near Cervantes-Lancelin

Car is AWD HYUNDAI TUCSON 2.7L

Cheers ;)
FollowupID: 483785

Follow Up By: Member - Rossco td105(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:20

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:20
Hi Rest needed,

Sorry for the late response been away from the machine for a bit, we haven't had troubles with our dog (ridgeback) up Wedge Island way, but would suggest taking a lead and a lot of patience if your heading there over the Easter long weekend. There is a LOT of activity with motor bikes, dune buggies and fourbys, you will need to keep on your toes at all times. Didn't want the pooch getting run over, and with some of the boys up there screaming around the main dunes till one in the morning last year had to keep our eyes open!

Ross.
FollowupID: 484075

Follow Up By: rest needed - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 09:38

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 09:38
Thanks Ross sounds like a great place, i spoke to the missus and she has committments at Easter so we are gunna go couple of weeks later.
Will keep a close eye out for traffic on the beach though.

Craig
FollowupID: 484192

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 20:05

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 20:05
Hi rest needed,
Last time I went to Wedge at Easter, a good few years back I'll admit, it would best be described as a full on P#ss Up and hoon centre. Bikes, Quads, buggies and 4by's thrashing round at all hours, lots of loud music and noise. I was glad to get out of the place.

Went again after all the school holidays were over and not on the weekends, Great place when a rest needed.

Just my opinion FWIW.

Disco
FollowupID: 484290

Reply By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:31

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:31
Rest needed

RAC do a book on camping with dogs. May even be available on this site.

Had a Rav 4 running thru the sand dunes near Moore River, that coped with it quite well. Your softie should go ok. Have a look at the Trek Notes under Wedge Island Beach Run,as these are pretty helpful.

With any soft roader, be aware of your limits, and especially the vehicles. RAV went many places I initially thought it wouldn't, but there were a few places not worth the risk. Also helps if you have a couple of "real 4wds" with you to get you out of any trouble.

Main thing to remember is you will usually have reduced clearance, and just because a Cruiser can get through the tracks on the sand, doesn't mean you can (learnt from experience once or twice !!!!)

Enjoy the break at Wedge - great place to get lost in the sand.

RD
AnswerID: 222963

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:45

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:45
Thanks for the info mate i will follow up on that.

I have given the Tucson a bit of a run down at Preston beach and was very suprised at how well it performed on the sand. Though i didnt want to travel all the way to Wedge and have a great deal of trouble getting in and around.

But it looks like my mate is going to tag along with his cruiser, so he will ablige if we get stuck :)

Have you been to Wedge and if so did you see any canines there.

Craig
FollowupID: 483796

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:01
The area through wedge and the likes should be ok in your vehicle, I mean, Ive seen 2 whel drive combi vans get through some of those places:) Just be careful of the beaches, as they can be mighty soft. I would suggest you go around the back end of the bombing range. Much firmer tracks.

Alternatively, head in from de grey end. There is plenty of good spots, and seems to be quieter than around wedge.

As for the pooch, I am unsure, but have taken mine through that area before. make sur eyou take the necessary precautions for 1080 baits.
AnswerID: 222974

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:12

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:12
Thanks for the info mate, ill give the de grey entrance a shot.

FollowupID: 483980

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:04

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:04
The Pinnacles caravan park in Cervantes allows dogs according to my "Holidaying with Dogs book"

We have a two year old Lab

AnswerID: 222975

Follow Up By: Gold Member (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:29

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:29
Beware 1080 baits are all around that area from lancelin to cervantes
FollowupID: 483884

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:15
Thanks for the info mate though we would like to rough it a bit in the bush and have been told you can camp in and around wedge itself.

Craig
FollowupID: 483982

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Jackie - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:20

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:20
We have a couple of books at the Adventure Shop which you may be interested in.
Holidaying with Dogs Site Link and Bush Camping with Dogs Site Link
They are both very popular and would be a worthwhile purchase if you will be doing a bit of travelling with both the kids and your dog. They do cover the whole of Australia too, which is handy.
Hope it may help.
Online Shop- Adele

AnswerID: 223062

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:16
thanks for that jackie will take a look

Craig
FollowupID: 483984

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:58

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:58
if youn are going into the 'bush' around wedge (and it is really good) then make sure you check for ticks each night and morning and during the day on your dogs....and on yourself as well..........they don't do much but are very very prevalent and get annoying..........and the little buggers can live for a while in your 4x4 and visit you even when back at home. rgds ps take the bait bit seriously - it is not nice watching your dog die after it has taken a bait.........for this alone have another think about going up htere with a dog.
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 223141

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:05

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:05
Thanks for the advice Mav will keep an eye out

FollowupID: 483997

Reply By: J.T. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:58

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:58
took our dog to wedge island at xmas for a week.Had no drama other than a tick buried into his skin.fare few vehicles racing along the beach but a great spot to take the mut.The ranger up there can offer advise as to where to camp and he,s a nice bloke.
AnswerID: 223158

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:36

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:36
J.T.

Is it a good spot for the kiddies and did you have any trouble with drunken hoons while you were there.

FollowupID: 484008

Reply By: J.T. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:21

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:21
G,day Rest Needed.
It,s a good spot for kids although it,s a big open coast exposed to swell and wind so keep an eye on rips.We surf there and have no worries in the water.As said it,s open to the south wester wind which can get up a bit in the arvo.Regarding hoons we see the odd plonker going crazy along the beach recklessly too fast but you can hear people coming from a fair distance and get the kids and dog out of the way.Happy travels.
AnswerID: 223233

Follow Up By: rest needed - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 09:32

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 09:32
Thanks for that J.T, good advice should have a ball i reckon

Craig
FollowupID: 484191