Tie that load down PROPERLY!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:40
ThreadID: 42535 Views:3328 Replies:16 FollowUps:20
Had to duck in and pick up a mattress and bed base from the in-laws, as usual I'm in a mad hurry, chucked them in the back of the ute one end up on the head board the other jammed in against the tail gate, a piece of rope across the middle, SHE"LL BE RIGHT MATE!!, it was till I'm 1km from home doing 90ks hr and heard a noise, looked out to see the matteress flying through the air like a 747 and happily landing in a tea tree swamp. the base went straight up in the air and crashed down behind me,( Lucky no one was following) it is now wood chip.

As i sit here and eat cold bake beans on bread,( Roast dinner consfiscated )

i can can only think why the bloody hell didn't i tie that down properly.

Regards Axle in strife.

Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:56

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:56
Yep, coming back from our Xmas break over the Bolte bridge here in Melbourne on the opposite side of the road 3 cars were pulled over where obviously someone was doing exactly the same thing as you but it was some type of wooden cabinet.
The end result was the cabinet going into the windscreen of the following car directly in front of the driver. We didn't see it happen but the end result looked particularly nasty.
We've all been guilty at some time I suppose but it pays to take a few extra minutes and secure your load at all times. I would hate to be responsible for injuring or killing someone simply for not taking the extra time to tie things down properly.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 223006

Reply By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:03

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:03
Axle I think I know what you mean.

I tied everything on like drum tight, I was having a clean up and was dumping the lot.Got to the dump OK.

Untieing all my junk. Parked next to a real tidy looken Ford Falcon.
I have a tip trailer started tipping the trailer and a piece of timber fell from my trailer and hit the car next to me . Dented his boot and back fender.(tiny dents)

Not a happy Chappy.( the man in the Ford) Don't blame him at all.

I got the quote the other day $770.00 chit couldn't believe a couple of small dents could cost so much. So I did the right thing.

Jeff M (SA)
AnswerID: 223008

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:10

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:10
Jeez that was unlucky mate, things might have been worse though if it had been a merc or something similiar.:))))).
FollowupID: 483843

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:32

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:32
Yeh your right , I was winging to my Builder mate about it and then he had a better story he was driving along after picking up some giprock sheets which he loaded on the roof rack.
He noticed them flapping a bit so he said to the apprentice when I pull over tie the sheets down to the bullbar.
While the young bloke did that he made a couple of phone calls. Young bloke jumps in he finishes his phone call off they go.

Well the young apprentice just used duct tape.
It started to flap again before he could pull over a big piece broke off and hit the bonnet , roof and boot of the car behind.I recon his bill will top mine.LOL

Cheers Jeff M (SA)
FollowupID: 483854

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:54

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:54
Was your builder mate my neighbour?
Could be worth a stir or two. :))
FollowupID: 483956

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:44

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:44
Hi Des ,
You guessed it.
FollowupID: 484110

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:12

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:12
Axle,,,,where do we start mate?
You are a silly,silly,silly boy.
SWMBO will now consider complete ownership of your soul for at least the next 6 months to be entirely her's.
Just when you think the dust has settled, she will bring it up at the most opportune moment's throughout your life to remind you over and over that you are a silly,silly,silly boy.
!). You should have thought about dinner before you tied down the bed.
2).Why the hell didn't you tie it down better?
3). Most importantly,,,,why the hell didn't you rush to the nearest bedding store for another bed, so that you could hide this most silly of error's on your part.
4).Do you like baked beans???????/. I reckon you could be eating them for a few more days to come.
5). How's the dog's house,,,,,nice and cozy is it????.Will you be carpeting it now????
lololol ROFLMOL :):):):):):):)

sorry mate but you did a big booboo...........:)

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 223011

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:21
Just keep kicking, i am now lower than a snakes belly. :)).
FollowupID: 483846

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:23

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:23
sorry mate ,,,,just couldn't help meself.....:):):)

meow.

rick.
p.s. you didnt say how the dog house is........
FollowupID: 483848

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:16

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:16
wait till a ladder comes off at 120k/hr...scary !

yep go to members pages and down load truckies knot....have others if you want
AnswerID: 223014

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:30
Nah!, i learn' t to tie knots when i was in the Navy at Dubbo. :))

Its that useless nylon rope you have to watch!
FollowupID: 483853

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:00
I have a theory, if you can't tie knots - tie lots! ;-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 484001

Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:21
I was in "the car behind" a while back on a country road. Didn't get hit because I could see the "load unravelling" so to speak on the trailer in front and backed off. Tried the horn and tried to raise the driver in front on the regularly used CB channels but no luck (not even sure they had a radio). Not long after furniture started bit by bit flying off the trailer and literally smashing to small bits on the road behind. I had dropped back far enough so it wasn't a danger to me but felt really helpless because the driver didn't realise what was happenning and just kept going losing more stuff all the time. I couldn't dare get closer to signal in fear of being caught up in flying debris.

In the end they turned off the road I wanted to go on so never did find out the end result. There was nothing I could do anyway.

Generally I tie my load down to what I think is enough and then add 1 more rope just for good measure.

Trev
AnswerID: 223015

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:26
Truckies Hitch link courtesy of the Mitsubishi 4WD club of Qld, I believe.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 223018

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:50
Axle
In the truck industry we call that Insecure loading , big fine for that and so it should be, Might be some members who remember the Motorcycle Police officer who was struck in the face with a lump of sawn firewood when it fell off the truck on the Newcastle Expressway back in the early 90s, It bounced and he road into it , killed him instantly

AnswerID: 223026

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:05

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:05
Hi Doug

Remember that incident well, Live close by to that freeway, Now you have made me feel guilty as! and so i should be, most of my prob was using that coloured nylon rope, greasy as! Tell ya what though if nothing had let go i reckon the wind pressure against the front of that mattress would have lifted the front wheels off the ground!.

FollowupID: 483869

Follow Up By: Matt.D (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:18
Axle,

A word of warning from experience. Always use 2 ropes on a mattress because only 1 in the middle might be tight enough, but the wind pressure on the front of the mattress can cause it to flip over from under the rope. If only one rope tie it on closer to the front of the mattress to help prevent wind getting underneath. I'm sure it has happened to us all at some stage.

Cheers Matt.
FollowupID: 483879

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:07

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:07
Axle

Rest assured you are not alone. I had a similar mishap on a Freeway and with some undamaged stuff lying on the road surface. 'Blind Freddy' drivers just plowed through making the saving operation useless.

But me mate in Darwin had a classic. He was doing a job and an old door had to be taken to the tip. He threw the said door on the roof rack of the Troopy. But things happened and he forgot about it. Drove around for weeks like that. Then one day a slight updraft caused the door to become airborne. It hit a very well mounted roofrack of a Suzuki 4x4 travelling behind. The young lady was in shock when the whole caboodle stopped to evaluate the damage......as she sat there in her now Convertible Suzuki. Yep, it tore the roof and rack right off!! Cost me mate plenty!!!

AnswerID: 223030

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:12
Willem! i shouldn't say this!

HA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.!
FollowupID: 483875

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:14
Willem
Howdy to you tonight..... nah I'm an Aussie G'day mate, Ow ya going ,
I reackon Axle is really cringing now, The nylon rope is no worries if tied properly , Use to a full load of Chaff with it before the straps were invented

FollowupID: 483877

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:28

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:28
G'day Doug

Yep this bloody 'Howdy' stuff is nonsense, eh?

Lessons start from day one and will keep on till the last hurrah! Yer never too old to learn.

I relate very much to Axle's "Yer, she'll be right". Seem to do it too many times...lol
FollowupID: 483883

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:44

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:44
Doug ! Clothes line rope??. EH! old fart what about the loads that used to come into the produce markets?,, No straps, nylon ropes, gates, just get the angle right at the edge (inward) & up you went.

FollowupID: 483889

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:49

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:49
Yes Axle,
that explains why even these days one still see's a carton of Tomatoes spread all over the road at a roundabout or a a bag of Carrots, a dozen Lettuce lying in the gutter not far from the markets,

FollowupID: 483891

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:49

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:49
Willem
I think your the right person for the answers to PostID: 42539

FollowupID: 483924

Reply By: hoyks - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:07

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:07
Some poor bugger was almost killed when a fence post fell off a truck out the back of Cessnock on Tuesday. It went through the windscreen and hit him in the head.

I followed a truck out to work that had 2 scissor lifts on board. In the base of those things is a large battery tray that as a guess would hold 7 or 8 truck batteries. This thing swings out like a gate and was swinging all the way. T full stretch it almost took the head off a guy on a pushie that he overtook.
I’m flashing lights and honking the horn and getting no response at all. This goes on for 10km, untill ½ a km from the front gate he turns left off the roundabout and the tray swings shut and latches.

Probably wondered whet the clown in the vehicle behind him was on about.

Another good reason for allowing a bit of a gap between vehicles.
AnswerID: 223031

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:25
An unsecured fence post is asking for trouble, Its amazing how some drivers never seem to look in their mirrors and if they do can't recognize trouble!

Now i feel like a hipocript
FollowupID: 483881

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:37

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:37
Ten years or so ago, company I was with had a load of steel pipes on the back of a B-double tootling down the Pacific Highway. Our engineer-designed tie downs managed to fail just as a BMW was passing on the way through Coffs Harbour. One pipe dropped right on top of the beemer.

Real potential for disaster, but somehow, the two people in the car were not injured. The car was a write off though!

Huge fright that one! Got the engineers to rework their sums too.

It can be a worry - baked beans taste nasty!

Max

AnswerID: 223040

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:54

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:54
Someone didn't tie their load down when leaving the Windscreens O'Brien depot in Garling St O'Connor this afternoon too. A yellow truck and one biiigggg pile of glass to clean up. Doh.

I think there might have to be a few cartons put on this Friday.
AnswerID: 223043

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:35
Reminds me of my uni days ... I had a early mornings job selling fruit, so had access to a small truck. We had lots of drinks to organise for Boxing Day event. They had to be picked up on Xmas eve.

I let the retailer tie down the three pallets of drinks in glass bottles then, of course, and tootled off back to the city.

Turned off South Road into Anzac Highway (busiest intersection in SA) on Xmas Eve at 4PM and strewed the lot across four lanes of the intersection. That was a big sticky pile of glass.

Fine for unsecure load from plod, but the fireys and council workers were obviously all too busy on XMas eve to send me the bills they promised - or just Xmas cheer, I don't know.
FollowupID: 483903

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:40

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:40
So Andrew,

When they said that you should "Spread the Chistmas Cheer" did you feel the need to take them so literally???? Bet you were popular!

Have seen the results of a B-Double overturned full of beer cartons and BOY that makes a mess!

Seeya
Muddy
FollowupID: 483905

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:06

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:06
The year is 1972. The scene is the M6 motorway just north of Keele Service Area. I get called out by the police to attend a "breakdown" of one of our semis. I used to do most if not all of the breakdowns and call outs.

It was carrying 3 reinforced concrete beams, each 20 feet long - max weight load - so just one was about 7 tonnes.

As I arrived on the scene the cops said, "You're not gonna like this one, Les, hold on to yer breakfast".

The truck had braked really hard. One beam had come loose and slid forward- straight through the trailers backboard, cut the top clean off the cab, cut the driver clean in two - and there was his head and guts at my feet!! Legs were still in the cab!

I was having a pint with him in Liverpool the day before. Now dead as doornail.

We reckon he'd felt a heart attack coming on and hit the "deadmans handle". This 3rd line emergency air brake system stops trucks pretty damn hard. Too hard in this case.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223068

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:13
I always make sure everything is tied down very securely.
Back in the mid 70's, we were travelling around the outside fence up in Cairns at the time. We had an old Effie100 with a packrack on the back canopy. I used to keep the spare tyre up there and had only travelled about 5000k's with it there not tied down. One day we were heading down to Bellenden Ker and I heard this bit of a noise so I look in the rear vision mirror to see this spare wheel bounce on to the road and back up into the air just as a following car passed beneath it. I know I cacked myself and I'm sure that the other driver did too. Consequences could have been horrific. When I pulled over the other vehicle just kept going.
AnswerID: 223101

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:31

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:31
I can add a slightly different one, that also punished me the most!

My son had a minor bingle in his old magna, and I'd given him hell for it.

front bumper slightly mis-shaped, one bumper indicator broken that I'd replaced a week before, and the centre part of the front pushed back a bit so the bonnet wouldn't shut properly, and the radiator top tank split.

So I told him I could fix the radiator and bumper, and pull everything into line for him, give it a quick spray with paint left over from doing a job before and he can pay me the costs.

Well, I decided to pop down to the wreckers for another indicator lamp, and took the car because I wanted to check out what other parts would be needed for the front.

No problems. But at the yard I couldn't get the bonnet down even on the first latch.

Bugger I thought that'll do. I'll take it slow.

50 metres from home as I turned the corner there was a bl**dy gust of wind and the bonnet whanged up, smack over the screen and bent over the roof line.

I was up for a new bonnet, spraying, replacing the windscreen and spreading a little dirt across the dents in the roof line to hide them.
The rest of the job was easy after that!

I kept pretty quiet about it !!

Ken
AnswerID: 223105

Reply By: J.T. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:55
towing a trailer to the tip and came up to a busy intersection,looked in the rear view mirror to see the wheel/tyre assembly I,d put on the trailer roll off and heading straight towards the highway in front of me.I quickly opened my car door and the wheel rolled into the door and stopped.No damage but if the wheel had hit the highway might have caused a crash.Gave me a bloody good laugh too.
Cheers John.
AnswerID: 223156

Reply By: steve&anja - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 00:05

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 00:05
First day of our big trip 1/2 way around Oz just leaving Katherine and saw a 1 tonner with a large fridge on the back, It was tied down with a piece of telecom rope just 1 from the side up over the top and tied to the other side that was it.
As we got closer I saw it tilt back and said to the wife look at this I then backed of just in time to see this fridge do a onto the highway and watched it skid for 50 + mtrs down the road needless to say it was buggered and yes they had just picked it up from being repaired .
AnswerID: 223294

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 07:31

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 07:31
Good old telstra rope. It was only ever designed to pull wires through, but now holds down half the stuff travelling on the roads in this country!
FollowupID: 484177