Nissan 3.0 l owners

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:52
ThreadID: 42545 Views:3309 Replies:10 FollowUps:10

I am trying to compile a list of owners who have had problems with either the engine or gearbox on these vehicles, particularly number 4 piston and 5th gear. Our Patrol recently blew an engine and had the gearbox mainshaft replaced, trying for compensation.
Please email info to plapg@bigpond.com.

Thanks all
Ted

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:46

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:46
Email sent.
AnswerID: 223098

Follow Up By: Member -Ted - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:39

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:39
Thanks Craig
FollowupID: 483965

Reply By: tomjones83 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:54

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:54
there have been bleep loads on this site reporting their vehicle having a problem. I have several email addys but they are at home. contact me on tomjonesatpeople.net.au at=@. also ring the accc, if previous people have reported the problem to them there will be a database in their system. also contact me if you need senior nissan management contact details. i have had this fight before but with a pulsar.
Tom
AnswerID: 223100

Follow Up By: Member -Ted - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:39

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:39
Thanks for the info I will follow up with accc
FollowupID: 483966

Follow Up By: Member -Ted - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:05
tomjones

I have tried the ACCC but they cant divulge any information because of the privacy act, wonder what they can do??

Ted
FollowupID: 484012

Reply By: Camoco - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:13
I presume you mean 3.0l diesel. I have a 3.0l petrol but as they are as reliable as the earth itself, I guess you are not talking about these.

Cam

PS (reliable also means not enough power to destroy itself but that is another matter)
AnswerID: 223102

Follow Up By: Member -Ted - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:40

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:40
Hi Camoco

Yep it was a 3.0L turbo diesel
FollowupID: 483967

Reply By: Member - Kevin H (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:11

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:11
Ted

i did my 5th gear
AnswerID: 223117

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:16
I recall seeing a similar effort perhaps 12 months ago ... there may be such a list already. Search this forum and the others.
AnswerID: 223119

Reply By: Darren C - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:40

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:40
Try www.patrol4x4.com - there is a big post on there that people are updating as and when problems arise

AnswerID: 223125

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:02

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:02
Wheres andrew.. he has 20+
AnswerID: 223160

Follow Up By: Member -Ted - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:07

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:07
Hi truckster

Can you give me contact details for andrew? if so please send to my email.

Ted
FollowupID: 484013

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:41

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:41
dont stress, he will have great pleasure in being on board tonight usually round 10/11pm
FollowupID: 484033

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:23
Yep here's the ever growing list. 45 at present.
Your name is on the list Ted.

ZD 30 Engine Failures.

Explore Oz Forum.
Daggs.
Blown_zd30-------------------------- 244K
Roly.
AJB------------------------------------196K
Pud & Barb--------------------------165K
Bulla. (daughters car)
Yakodi--------------------------------130K
Plugger.
JR -------------------------------------130K
Mike.
B & M. -------------------------------126K
Emackj--------------------------------157K
Fourstall2000-------------------------118K
Donald A-------------------------------50K 2004 STL
Jorgejhandal-----------------------------------2004
Old Johno---------------------------------------2000
Ron 2006-------------------------------152K
BushMark-----------------------------109K---2001
Ted--------------------------------------170K---2000
Piggy------------------------------------106K---2001

Nissan Club members.
Graeme Wise. -----------------------72K
Ken Beard.
James Watson.

Outerlimits members
Manno74
Poo-trol-------------------------------66K
Wendle--------------------------------115K 2001
Rustys---------------------------------67K 2001
deanchristensen0001---------------31K 2005

Patrol 4x4.com forum
Mickyd-------------------------------- 2002
Waveriders--------------------------- 98K 2002
Bushy127------------------------------195K
Redeye---------------------------------190K
Link-------------------------------------82K 2000
Pat3L
LesleyPerry---------------------------83K 2001
Scratch---------------------------------89K 2002
Stephan--------------------------------150K
JimmyB--------------------------------
Phyrebug (brother’s car)----------210K
Dirty Wheels-------------------------246K-------2001
Phoenie--------------------------------145K-------2003
Ramas----------------------------------231K------2001
Bigal------------------------------------

MSN Caravanners Forum.
Ddarren11-----------------------------155K------2002

Yahoo Group. Patrol 4wd.
Jtbattau---------------------------------133K------2000
FollowupID: 484079

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:53

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:53
G'Day Andrew,

There is another one from the caravaners forum I know of, 2000 model, blew at 145K, October last year.

Rolande
FollowupID: 484120

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:30

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:30
Geez mate dont ask Truckster for help on this He's the guy that says anybody with prob's on thier 3Lt is thier own stupid fault for buying it !!!!!!!!!!!!
What a guy to have on your team.......................
AnswerID: 223181

Follow Up By: PhilZD30Patrol - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:54

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:54

Check out www.patrol4x4.com

Go to the GU Patrol forum section and look through until you find a thread called "Nissan Zd30 Survey Please Read".

You will find plenty of information about issues with the GU ZD30s.

Unfortunately too many 3litre GUs have let their owners down. No one seems able to provide any accurate information about the percentages of failed GUs.

Nissan has come to the party with rebuilds or replacements for many people even though their vehicle are out of warranty. However, they seem to be inconsistent and sometimes downright difficult but then they can be very cooperative with others. They also seem to deny that there is any real problem with the 5 speed gear box and the ZD30 engine.

Good luck and please keep this forum informed if you are able.
FollowupID: 484018

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:48

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:48
Hi Dave

I can understand people buying the 4 clyinder Part..Trolls Partng with there hard earnt money.

Sometime People just beleave what Salesmen tell them.

Iam aware of a thing comeing our way called the Internet it is like a computer thingy well any way there will be loads of imformation on there about lemons .........but do not worry regardless of what it will say People will still buy them.

Of course no one who owns one is going to bag it as they do ..........Hope One Day To Sell Them ..............i can imagine the trde in price.

Regards Shane
FollowupID: 484070

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:41
Hows it going Ted ,

Did 5th gear on the other side of the country from home , Perth .

Vehicle out of warranty , Made to pay all labour and all parts except mainshaft and 5th gear .

Had issues with the box they exchanged called in to another dealership , the guy tells me they have never charged a cent for this regardless of under warranty or not .

Back to Perth , get my old box back , guy tells me Im lucky to be getting anything for free due out of warranty.

Get home , write 2 page letter to Nissan Australia in Melbourne, forget about it .

A couple of weeks later get a phone call , Girl from Nissan appologises for 5 minutes then tells me cheque is in the mail for all costs except another part that was broken.

Dont often get money back , thats the hard part !

Glenn.
AnswerID: 223223

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:18

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:18
I hate to say this but in 6 years and not in order:

turbo
Rear door seal
turbo
rear door seal
vacuum valve for varying the turbo vane
5th gear (also got all the bearings replaced in the box while it was apart)

All done under warranty

And I still reckon its a great drive

AnswerID: 223247