Member - andrew G (VIC)
we are looking to stay about 30 minutes from
darwin. Not to metropolitian.
Reply By: handy - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:35
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:35
when i stayed up there i stayed at the coolalinga caravan
park right on the hwy,
15 minutes down the road from
darwin, pretty good set up and they allow pets.
easy walk to bottle
shop ,servo ,tackle
shop and woolies .
i am from the bush and didnt find it to metro.
ph 08 89831026 cheers
Reply By: kiasen - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:45
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:45
Hi Andrew,
We stayed at Howard Springs in 2003 , about 20 mins from
Darwin. There was plenty of information about local attractions, very friendly people, had someone show you to your site.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:48
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 17:48
I second that, Howard Springs is a good spot, bus trips to the markets and food etc locally...
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 19:50
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 19:50
Ditto we stayed there last year also. Entertainment 4 nights of the week. Tuesday night they had a $2 sausage sizzle and glass of plonk. Husband and wife team put on the entertainment and were excellent. Thursday night was $8 per head for the coach trip to the markets best $16 we spent on the whole trip.
Also the
park is very accessible to the Palmaston Shopping Centre, Howard Springs
park, and all the other major attractions of the area.
Possums and night birds will keep you entertained. Good facilities and clean.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 18:08
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 18:08
We stayed a Lee Point Caravan
Park last year. Out of town and no traffic noise at all. Quite a nice
park.
This
park has the most ensuite sites I have ever seen. Most of the powered sites are ensuite. If staying 7 days or more, ensuite sites are the same price as standard powered sites, but your power is metered and charged seperately. For a week our power bill came to around $2.00
Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 19:24
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 19:24
Ditto Norm's experience. Quite a good
park. Norm, we have a boat loader now, move over in the Qld rivers!!!
Enjoy, RayJen
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 20:12
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 20:12
Hey RayJen, you'll have to get up and try some of the lakes stocked with barra. You haven't lived until you have had a barra over a metre long trying to take your lure back into the snags. Get's the heart pumping. Kathryn got her first barra a couple of weeks ago (pic in my rig pics). Finally got her hooked. So she is now happy to come with me to the Gulf next month.
Reply By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:06
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 13:06
Thanks for the help now have 3 to choose from. will start ringing. Leaving in june so have to pull my finger out soon and book...
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:39
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 17:39
Have been to
Darwin only once - stayed at the Lee Point CP last July - about 15 mins drive from the CBD - Lee point is right out on the perimeter of
Darwin - there is actually a little bit of scrub between it and
Darwin proper. A quality
park - owners seem serious about quality service - quiet and a good standard of amenities. The very big Casuarina shopping centre is only about 10 minutes away.