Submitted: Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 10:33
Member - Franga (QLD)
Howdy All,
Looking for a few opinions and reasonings on the above topic.
I have an 80 series cruiser with after market turbo and intercooler running Castrol magnetec Diesel oil in it, I want to change over to Delo 400.
Have always heard keep the same type of oil in the motor!
Any thoughts?
Cheers with Beers
Franga
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:02
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:02
Really don't think a little bit of contamination on an oil change will be a never mind Franga. Just drain it for half an hour or so, and change the filter before putting in the Delo 400. That's all a dealer or mechanic would do.
If you want to be dead set sure and maybe clean out the oil system at the same time, you could get a small bottle of Flushing Oil Concentrate (see www.costeffective.com.au/ ) and use 10 litres of el cheapo oil as the flushing oil in between as per their instructions.
No - I have no business connection - it just keeps my 1HZ engine idle smoothly.
Max
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:14
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:14
I agree with this post. It is what I use and it really cleans the sludge out of the 1HZ.
Follow Up By: steve&anja - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:11
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:11
The first thing I do when I buy another Toyota is change the oil and filter my personal preference is Penrite HPR Diesel, never had a problem doing this and I have 3 healthy trucks ready for work. Just run it for 20-30 minutes before to get the oil hot it makes it easer to drain.
Follow Up By: Robnicko - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 10:15
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 10:15
I agree with the above reply except I have a 4.5petrol. Bought it with 30k on the clock and used Penrite HPR30 since then. Now has 260k on the clock and does not use a drop of oil. Pressure is always good and I change the oil every 10k wityh filter and even then I reckon the oil is still good.
Rob
Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:19
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:19
dont stress about it, just do as above. Wouldnt bother with the flushing and cheapo oil thoiugh, unless you have too much money?
Oil isnt like coolant, there arent additives that will eat the guts out of your motor when mixed.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:53
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:53
Franga
If you were to drop your pride and joy off at a service centre and instruct them to change the oil, filters etc etc.
You will get whatever oil it is that they use eg. Castrol, Valvoline, Shell,
Mobil etc and so
forth.
You will be none the wiser unless they tell you.
Next time you drop it off at a different servo in another State whilst on Holidays and the same thing will happen.
As long as it is the spec'd oil for that engine eg 15/40 CF or 5/30 Synthetic etc all will be sweet.
So if you do as the aforementioned gentleman suggested and that is - drain the oil for 30 mins or so, change the filter/s (what ever your set up is) put the sump plug back in, fill it up with Delo 4,000,000 you will be able to sleep easy at night.
Reply By: Bruce (ACT) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 23:41
Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 23:41
I did a fair amount of research into what oil to use when I first got my 80 and I found that it is best to use oil that is designed specifically for your version of the three types of diesels - European, American and Japanese. One of the few specifically designed for a Japanese diesel is
Caltex Delo CXJ 15W-40 Multigrade. Personally, I'd use CXJ rather than Delo 400. CXJ normally retails for about $118 per 20l drum but our group in the ACT recently made a bulk buy and were offered $88 per drum for 10 or more drums, quite a saving.
As for the change itself, I agree with other advice here that you should only need to drain the old oil
well, change the filter and fill up with CXJ. I wouldn't be bothered with any flushing oil. Whatever you use, the critical thing is to change it every 5000km.
Here's the link to a paper on the subject:
http://www.a1.nl/phomepag/markerink/THE-EFFECT-OF-ENGINE-DESIGN-ON-OIL.doc
Bruce
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 00:07
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 00:07
Franga,
Just get it hot, drain the oil and change the filter. just make sure a diesel is changed every 5000ks........
I personally will only use the oil that the dealer sells me....... Then there is no argument about the warranty and the oil I used when service the utes myself.
My toyota dealer has changed to delo 400.
The nissan is differant though.....
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:02
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 11:02
The cruiser diesel motors.. be it a 1 HZ or the 1HDT or the other variants are renowned for storing massive amounts of goop at the sump..
Regardless of the type of oil you end up putting in the thing I would suggest that it is a good idea to run an engine flush through it..
I used to put about 8.5 litre of oil in
mine per oil change until I did a flush and now I put 9.5 litre in per change...
Just personal choice though.. if you don't do it I am sure the new oil will be fine but I would recommend it every now and then anyway..