Submitted: Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 18:58
With apologies to Shakespeare :)
My previous "good" chair broke and I'm just not happy with the pair I bought from Bunnings a few months ago to replace it.
I often go bush to gold prospect for periods up to three weeks - normally I'll
camp in the one spot (middle of nowhere) for that time. I can't get a caravan into the
places I visit so am forced to tent (swag) it. A good chair is essential - especially in winter when the days are short - and I can't find one! Price is not an issue here. I've looked at the Coleman and that's not bad but still not quite right, a bit too narrow.
What I'm looking for is a recliner, with
well padded
seat and back (get's cold in the High Country in winter) that is high quality, comfortable and folds to a small size (I'll make a comprise on the size aspect). I don't expect to pay much less than $100 (double if I can get a really good one!). Does _anyone_ make a great
camping chair? Anything with single canvas is out – not warm enough at –5C.
mike_harding@fastmail.fm
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 19:26
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 19:26
Hi Mike, which Coleman did you look at? We have 2 of the $100 Colemans, the one with the padded pillow rest and thick padding on the back and the
seat.It also reclines so I can sit back and look at the stars after a nice port, then pass out and wake up when everyone else has gone to bed, and the fire has died. I can honestly say this is the best chair we've come across, and we have tried a few over the years. We do the same as you, and have been in the minuses and not once had a cold butt!! Can post pics if you need? Cheers Unc
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:01
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:01
Mike,
We also have two of the '$100' Colemans. That's probably as good a way to describe them as any. Very comfortable and great to lay back and look at the stars (or the inside of your eye lids).
After about 18 months and lots of use though, we started to have trouble, with one, then the other. An arm broke clean through on one of them. Took it back and it was replaced with a new one. The other one has started to slip a bit. On at least one of the recline settings, the cam (or whatever the mechanism) seems to have worn a bit and when you lean back it sometimes slips back to the next recline spot. Bugger when you have a glass of red in your hand!!
We were at our
camping store the other day and mentioned it. He said bring it in and I should be able to give you a new one.
So, we reckon they are great chairs for comfort, but both have failed on us. On the plus side, Coleman has an excellent warrantee, so after 18 months, we got one replaced, and after about 20 months, we look like getting the other replaced.
When we were at the
camping store, we saw another chair that looked the goods. The brand is Onland. The model we liked is the Dundee. Lookes quite strong. Is very comfortable and at least as wide as the top Coleman. The arms and I think the internal reclining mechanism are metal. We ordered one which should be in within a few days. We plan on taking our next trip (3 or 4 months) with one of each. Guess you can't wait that long, but by about July I'll know which one we reckon is best.
The Onland Dundee is about $30 cheaper than the Coleman, but also won't have as good a warrantee. Not sure what it is, probably 12 months.
I can't believe that Colemen give a 3 year (or is it 5?) warrantee on a
camp chair. I guess they don't expect them to gat a lot of use. We use ours at least 150 days a year.
Problem with both of these chairs is they don't fold real small. But that's the cross you bear for a comfortable reclining chair.
You go
camping at -5C???? Are you nuts???
Reply By: cackles - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:38
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:38
I have an oztrail sunlounger and it's awesome, definately the most popular chair in
camp, ( I often have to assert my authority over it with family and friends ).
The sling is attatched to the chair with shock cord and eyelets so it's quite comfy, best of all if in a reclining position it takes the pressure off my lower back and shoulders .
As for warmth it would be easy to use existing eyelets for a thick canvas insulation cover.
Site Link
I highly reccomend a test drive.
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 22:27
Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 22:27
Why not get a good, strong (albeit old fashioned) canvas directors chair. Then bung a full size sheepskin on it - toasty warm, & you can use the sheepskin in your swag later that evening. Or even as a
seat cover.
These chairs (Sou-wester brand I recall) are tough compared to the alloy crap that sells for more money. Two slim reinforcing diagonal braces - one on each side -takes the flex out & makes them stable enough to rock on.....if your'e an adult , 'coz kids are not allowed to rock on their chairs!
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 01:21
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 01:21
hi Mike, i recently did a big
shop around for some new chairs and eventually settled on the coleman "king" fold up chairs, they are actually rated at 130kg and have large diameter tubing and good heavy material, AND the stubby holder in the armrest will actually hold an aussie sized stubbie holder and drink !!
Oh and it comes in a heavy duty grouse bag with shoulder strap etc.
was about $80 from Anaconda.
they arent a recliner but theyre not bad.