The Gods are definitely crazy :))
Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:22
Footloose
My poor old 4wd will probably have a flat battery from lack of use. The last couple of days I've been battling the gateways to those who know all...the Govt.....
I won't say anything about the first mob cause they start with a forbidden letter :))))
Rang the Australian Passport Office....which is simply a phone answering service in Tasmania....about 20 times yesterday. Their machine refused to do it for me so I rang them again today. I listened to their message about 6 times, and I'm convinced that the voice is a Kiwi ! (You know, the "six" word).
Could they find out something for me ? Nope, they are an incoming centre only, they can't ring out !
Can I speak to ***** then ? '
Well , he's right down the other end of the office"
Can you give me the number for #### then ? Sorry, can't do that but I can give you their address !!!!!!!
Huh?
Our Passport Service uses a Kiwi voice on their answering machine and they can only receive calls.
So much for outsourcing. I suppose I should be grateful that they aren't in Bombay!
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:35
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:35
Of course F'loosie, it could be located on the
Gold Coast where so many of em reside, just makes you think it is in Tassie. Did you ask to see the map? The
water there should be cold by right, so you should ask that too.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:01
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:01
John, a gentleman does not ask about a
young lady's map. :)))
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:26
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:26
......and I thought you resourceful
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:36
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:36
John, I didn't actually claim to be a gentleman :)))))))
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 11:40
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 11:40
Especially a map of Tassie..........
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:38
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:38
You think there's a difference talking to a Kiwi compared to an Indian Call Centre worker? :)))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:02
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:02
Al, I don't know as the last time an Indian call centre worker rang, I put the phone down immediately.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:27
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:27
Jeepers Al, I can usually understand the Kiwi a little better ;-)
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:09
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:09
Footy,
They come up as "Private" or "Out of Area" on my Caller ID thingy so I don't bother picking up the phone. Only answer if a phone number shows. I know, anti-social bastard, I am :))))))))
JohnR,
Almost identical as far as I'm concerned :))))) That should stir up some comment from our friends across the ditch LOL
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:56
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 19:56
Or try phoning DVA and being put on to someone who you a) can't understand and b) who speaks only fluent hindu....
probably not fair I'm told they have had a purge of anyone who'se name is gupta or rani...
And they reckon city rail has a problem... "The traina comining ina ona plataforma 1, 2 & 3a is a coming ina sideawaysa"....
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:05
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:05
Has one EVER been able to understand a voice on the PA at a station ? I haven't. The guys who work there probably do it on purpose.
Hey new guy, you speak any English ?
*vacant stare*
Turns to mates and grins
"He'll do."
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:15
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:15
As for the DVA, they have always been an association of rasberries.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:00
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:00
Melbourne trams are good to try to practice translations of streets too. You need to have a good working knowledge of the street layout to know what is being said some times. Last one I was on at the start of the month was a rippa!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 08:41
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 08:41
Hey John R, what's a Tram ?
heheheheh
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:31
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:31
Did you know that you can renew your passport at any
Post Office?
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:44
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 20:44
To easy Willem
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:03
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:03
It wasn't
mine I was hassling about, it was someone else's first passport. Don't think I'll renew
mine, I never seem to get further than picking others up at the airport these days
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:39
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:39
Ah, not true Willem.
Can only be done at all Australia Post run Post Offices and selected Licenced Post Offices
Despite popular beleif, not all Post Offices are run by Australia Post.
In fact, the greater majority of Post Offices in Australia are franchised as LPO's
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:50
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:50
Oh dear....olright take ANY out of the sentence then.
Ye Gods, there are some nitpickers here on this
forum. So if you go to one that isnt that is how you find out. I had
mine renewed in
Bundaberg 8 years or so ago. Maybe before all this franchising thing.
Footy lives in the Big Smoke so he would have access to an Aust Post run
Post Office, methinks.
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:57
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 21:57
I wasnt tryin g to be nitpicky.
As a former LPO in a small town, it was a common misbeleif that I had to deal with on a regular basis.
I was mearly pointing this common misconception out so that other forumites (who just might live outside of the big smoke) would not go barging into their local PO with the belief that they can do everything including passports there.
I am sorry if you felt that it was nitpicking, it was not intentional.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:03
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:03
Cruiser I know you gan get them in the local small town LPO. Frequently the organisation is better in the LPOs than the bigger ones.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:04
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:04
LOL Cruiser. Don't worry about it. Willem's still working his way through his supply of grumpy pills hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:09
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:09
John R,
Thats because the people who own the LPO have invested their hard earned cash and reputation into the business. They rely on giving good service because they get paid commissions by AP on the volume of work they do.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:56
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:56
No, funnily enough, I am not on grumpy or any pills at the moment.
Here in this tin pot town where I live, with a
population of 2000, we have a franchised out Australia Post(or whatever, run and owned by locals). I can renew my passport here, so I am advised.
Everything must be so bloody politically correct these days.
OK Cruiser I will take the nitpicking back...lol
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:00
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:00
Willem
Hahaha must have been MY grumpy pills :))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:17
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:17
Oh no. I've generated more Kaos and grumpy pills! Was not my intention.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:27
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:27
Your safe Footy...lol
Come to think of it, I haven't seen Bob of Kaos around these days. He used to argue a lot as
well. Maybe he got sick of me...LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:35
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:35
Boys! Boys!
Grumpy Pills? Passports ? DVA? PMG ? Swearwords - again? (ATO : [not yet ?])
Listen, may I run a hijack [unfortunate term, that] on your thread Footyl?
My rig
pic is so outdated as to be positively fraudulent.
Tried to replace it with things that Really consume my time these days: Fluffy dyed dogs and Wannabes . When I click on either rig
pic, the new image pops up. But the signature shots remain fixed in the distant past.
Am happy to trade Daughter's PIN for a simple solution.
Thank you too much. 'Distraught'.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:41
Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 23:41
Jeff H,
Try removing your signature line "Seechange ?" and re-inserting it.
Don't be rude, any of you LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 00:45
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 00:45
Thanks Gramps, will try.
(Surprised the crabs haven't run off with your response).
Actually I felt relatively safe, chipping in so late on a topic. Bloody [apparently that word passes muster] embarrassing to be as pig-ignorant as I am.
In deepest reverence, 'Bewildered'.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 01:30
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 01:30
Hey Gramps
Just had a look at my "new" Rig
Pic (about a minute ago), and my gut is still resonating from the initial burst of mirth!
Mate, rest content that you've put a huge grin on an otherwise grumpy face.
Bed time here, and once again, thank you all for being good value. Jeff.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 14:47
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 14:47
Jeff H - try clicking Refresh while holding Control key down - that should up date your rig
pic to the one of your very colourful friend.